Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality food
This book sets out a lot of well known dishes but the recipes are spot on. There's still a large portion of the world that spits on British food but that is just nonsense. I've tried at least 20 recipes from here and they've all come up trumps. They are pretty easy to follow too.
Published on 3 Feb. 2008 by Damo

versus
0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
The title attracted me to this cook book, but it did not contain the type of recipes I was looking for. Not the fault of the seller.
Published on 12 Sept. 2010 by mei


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality food, 3 Feb. 2008
This review is from: British Food (Paperback)
This book sets out a lot of well known dishes but the recipes are spot on. There's still a large portion of the world that spits on British food but that is just nonsense. I've tried at least 20 recipes from here and they've all come up trumps. They are pretty easy to follow too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding British Food, 5 Dec. 2012
This review is from: British Food (Paperback)
What a tough time of it british food gets.
However in the hands of a master craftsman with everything brought up to date and looking contemporary this book is truly excellent value for money,
As mentioned the recipes really work and as a point of reference for British food its a very good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British food cookbook, 21 April 2012
By 
R. Edwards (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Food (Paperback)
Good priced recipe book for all our favourite British recipes. Easy to follow and great value. It also remind us of food that is not eaten too often these days and these recipes should be tried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice bite, 4 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: British Food (Paperback)
Brilliant book with nice references and all the recepies i have looking for sometime.
If you love british food just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of British Food, 17 Mar. 2008
By 
S. Kendon "Samuel Whiskers" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Food (Paperback)
My friend Mike Walter reckons this is the only cook book he will have in his kitchen (even if he claims Mr Hix is not quite spot on with his Yorkshire pud; well I wouldn't know).
Still, if it's good enough for him, it's good enough for me.
And even if there's a bit too much salad and gooseberries for my taste , there's more than enough to remind you that there is decent food outside Bangladesh.

Mmmm. wash it down with a nice warm flat beer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 12 Sept. 2010
This review is from: British Food (Paperback)
The title attracted me to this cook book, but it did not contain the type of recipes I was looking for. Not the fault of the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

British Food
British Food by Mark Hix (Paperback - 2 Sept. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews