Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Focused on CIPD examinations
Hardly a book to pick up for light reading, this text written by the Chief Examiner for the subject in CIPD is dense, scholarly and fundamental to a core understanding of the Human Resource landscape. If you persevere with this text you master the basic concepts and gain the insights needed for both the assignments and examinations.Other texts are more visually appealing...
Published on 15 Oct. 2012 by alain verlaine

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Authorative, but such a difficult read...
Having read this and Kew and Steadwick's HR Management in Context text for the namesake exam, I can say that Farnham's text was a difficult read.

A key difference between the two is that where Kew and Stredwick will make a point and then illustrate with a topical example or case study, which works wonders for helping the reader to assimilate the idea, Farnham...
Published on 8 Aug. 2012 by fozzieb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Focused on CIPD examinations, 15 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Resource Management in Context: Strategy, Insights and Solutions (Paperback)
Hardly a book to pick up for light reading, this text written by the Chief Examiner for the subject in CIPD is dense, scholarly and fundamental to a core understanding of the Human Resource landscape. If you persevere with this text you master the basic concepts and gain the insights needed for both the assignments and examinations.Other texts are more visually appealing but this serves its purpose well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Theory Base, 22 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Resource Management in Context: Strategy, Insights and Solutions (Paperback)
If you are studying for a very academic based qualification this book is great. It has lots of theory, history on management styles and I have not only used it for the HRM in Context module but others as well. I have also used some of the theory for my dissertation! If you are studying a more practical CIPD qualification, as some other reviews have stated, you may be able to get something better.
One thing I have become aware of however, is there are lots of repetitions between the texts and if I put all the books I purchased together, this one I may not have needed simply because many other books will offer the same things, just not all in one place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good modern text on the subject, 6 Jun. 2014
By 
RJP the Book Boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Resource Management in Context: Strategy, Insights and Solutions (Paperback)
The book.
-------------
This is a good text book that covers HR in detail.

Structure.
------------
The book is well structured and takes the reader from the basics through to multi company HR management. It covers all the theories and models so this would make a great reference for those doing an HR module on a degree or as part of an HR qualification.
It has a comprehensive index and can be used as a dip in reference book.

Overall.
----------
A well written and comprehensive text book on HR. A great study aid for business and HR students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book., 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Resource Management in Context: Strategy, Insights and Solutions (Paperback)
Bought as on essential reading list for 5BIC module of CIPD Level 5 HRM foundation degree course - will need throughout the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CIPD, 10 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Resource Management in Context: Strategy, Insights and Solutions (Paperback)
Although I have only started reading the book it appears to be very informative and well written. I am looking forward to gaining a lot of knowledge and information from the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HRM, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Resource Management in Context: Strategy, Insights and Solutions (Paperback)
Key text for Diploma in HR Management, arrived really quickly with the option of being bought back when course is finished. Really useful, well written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Resource Management in Context: Strategy, Insights and Solutions (Paperback)
Wow. I received this book the next day, I had some reading to do so I was well pleased with my package and the use of amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Authorative, but such a difficult read..., 8 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Human Resource Management in Context: Strategy, Insights and Solutions (Paperback)
Having read this and Kew and Steadwick's HR Management in Context text for the namesake exam, I can say that Farnham's text was a difficult read.

A key difference between the two is that where Kew and Stredwick will make a point and then illustrate with a topical example or case study, which works wonders for helping the reader to assimilate the idea, Farnham seems also pathologically opposed to placing any ideas in a real world context and rarely provides examples. I don't know whether this is through laziness or a decision that this text must be "tough" to be considered worthwhile but the reader of Farnham is presented with double page spreads of unbroken text (hardly a treat on the eye). The content is undoubtedly well-researched and authoritative, and shows the author's experience, but ideas are almost impossible to learn without constant rote repetition and even harder to apply. The "in context" claim seems almost disingenuous, when some maddeningly abstract ideas are presented without and full discussion or application (I still don't understand an early chapter's discussion of symbolic and post-modernistic organisations that are discovered through their "texts" - or some such academic babble)

All in all, I'd recommend the much more accessible Kew and Stredwick text, as Farnham is also the chief examiner for the final exam I'd recommend a student needs to have read some of this - particularly the theories of corporate strategy (basically the first half of the book) as past papers have included questions that referred to theories not contained in the Kew and Stredwick text. HOWEVER, this does seem to have been remedied in the June 2012 recent paper, which was friendly to readers of both.

(incidentally, I passed with a distinction. phew)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Resource Management in Context: Strategy, Insights and Solutions (Paperback)
Very good book for those who study CIPD level 5 HR management.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Resource Management in Context: Strategy, Insights and Solutions (Paperback)
Great book! As expected! Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Human Resource Management in Context: Strategy, Insights and Solutions
£44.15
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews