Customer Reviews


7,348 Reviews
5 star:
 (4,663)
4 star:
 (1,564)
3 star:
 (578)
2 star:
 (307)
1 star:
 (236)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful romp of a novel
Allan is a hundred years old today, but he doesn't want to stay around for his party in the home in which he is resident, so he climbs out of the window and escapes.

This is the start of Allan's journey (into perhaps a fourth age?), and he becomes involved with a variety of characters - some criminal, and some merely suspect - and is also involved in a...
Published 22 months ago by F. M. M. Stott

versus
80 of 91 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable for a while then faded
There is a lot of hype about this book and the reviews on here are totally enthusiastic which kind of convinced me to give it a go. I certainly enjoyed parts of the book - more particularly the earlier sections. There are some amusing and clever twists to the tale - but they become increasingly far-fetched and somewhat repetitive. It reminded me somewhat of William...
Published 22 months ago by Self-help junkie


‹ Previous | 1628 629 630735 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Implausible but unable to put it down!, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Funny, heartwarming and a really good read, a bit like Forest Gump - really enjoyed reading it and would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 6 Jan 2013
By 
G Moore "Neferankh" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Convoluted in the best possible way. A tale with twists, turns hilarity and romance. Plus an elephant called Sonya. Highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was attracted by the title and the price and I wasn't disappointed. It's so good that for the first time I decided to rate a book with 5 stars. Cleverly written and made me laugh out loud. Particularly enjoyable if you are old enough to know about or remember the world events in which the main character finds himself involved. A light-hearted and very enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this amusing tale, a light hearted enjoyable read. The book maintained momentum throughout and it was fascinating to read which unpredictable turn Allan's life wouldn't take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, funny and simply superb, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was intrigued by the title of this book and for 20p couldn't resist it. It was as good as I hoped. Jonasson has crafted an intelligent yarn which revolves around the misadventures of the elderly antihero not only around his centenary but throughout his eventful life. Tying his tale into major events involving personalities from the world stage in the last century is no mean feat but the author does so in a convincing and clever way. I warmed to the amoral old fella in the story, laughed out loud at the unfolding events and could never have predicted the plotline here. Try this. Enjoy. Thoroughly entertaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enteraining read, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Allan Karlsson avoids his 100th birthday party by jumping out his window and going on an adventure. And this is by no means the first adventure Allan has been on as we quickly find out.

Perhaps a little too long and not necessarily historically accurate, but this book is a humorous diversion worth taking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, funny funny, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An extremely comical read. The author brilliantly interlinks his fictional character with the worlds historical events. Very much along the lines of forest gump, only darker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great story!, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared (Paperback)
Allan Karlsson is a wonderful creation! His story follows, or sometimes causes events of the 100 years of his life. It is a delightful tale with several laugh-out-loud moments. Even the not-so-pleasant episodes are described with a very light, deft touch. Immerse yourselves in a hundred years of fantastic mayhem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this unusual story. It is cleverly written with a ridiculous, but almost believable, crazy tale of Allen,the hundred year old man and his lifetime of adventure. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An entertaining tale of nonsense told in a humorous and well constructed manner weaving the life of the most extraordinary central character created for many a year with some of the most important events of the 20th century!

Simply a joy to read, with genuine laugh out loud moments which leave you with a genuine sense of warmth.

I can only think of a phrase which is much too overused these days, but this book is a must read

Fabulous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1628 629 630735 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews