Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual feast
Having read a number of works on medieval wall paintings I was looking forward to another detailed exploration of this overlooked artform. When I first opened this stunning book I realised that everything that had gone before paled into true insignificance. The images, over 250 of them, are all reproduced in full colour and are, quite simply, superb. In particular, the...
Published on 23 Mar 2008 by R. S. T. Champion

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Medieval wall paintings made even more obscure
This is a well written series of essays that group the author's wide knowledge of these works into thematic chapters. As such this would make a good radio script. Astonishly poor colour illustrations of the relevant works are given the conventional numbers in brackets within the text to illustrate these essays. It is as if he and his photographer/publisher avoided flash...
Published 21 months ago by David Chandler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual feast, 23 Mar 2008
By 
Having read a number of works on medieval wall paintings I was looking forward to another detailed exploration of this overlooked artform. When I first opened this stunning book I realised that everything that had gone before paled into true insignificance. The images, over 250 of them, are all reproduced in full colour and are, quite simply, superb. In particular, the images of Ewelme and those from Eton College Chapel, neither of which have truly been seen before, are breathtaking. The author has also done something that no other author dealing with the subject has previously managed. Not only is the text well constructed and scholarly - it is also highly entertaining and evocative. Chapter six, in particular, brings alive the troubled sixteenth century reformation of the English parish church in a way that makes it both moving and saddening. One of the other great glories of this work, and it has many, is the fact that the whole work is accompanied by a gazetteer and subject guide. Invaluable for anyone wishing to actually see these medieval masterpieces in their original setting. This book will, without doubt, become THE reference work on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on the subject, 29 April 2009
By 
Carole Blake "caroleblake" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Inspired by the art, and the history, rather than the religious context, I was intrigued by the first amazon review of this book. When the book arrived the praise was confirmed. The quality and quantity of colour illustrations - some of subjects not photographed properly before - is astonishing in a book of this price. After practically inhaling the illustrations, I then took time to start reading. What might have been a dry academic survey, is instead a lively and informative text that sets the paintings in the context of their times, covering their history, subject matter, the patrons and painters, how the paintings were made, the symbols employed and their meanings,through to the terrible effects of the Reformation, and finally the rescue of those that we can see today. The book is inspiring: it makes me want to jump into my car and drive about the country visiting these churches that hold such a wealth of vernacular art. One small cavil: maps showing their locations would have made this a one-volume companion on such trips, but I own an atlas so that lack is easily remedied. And even my other constant companion for such drives, the great 'England's 1000 Greatest Churches' by Simon Jenkins is deficient in that area. This book is a marvel: a perfect marriage between text and illustration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fills a Gap, 3 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval Wall Paintings in English and Welsh Churches (Paperback)
I feel that this has been a neglected subject;there was destruction of images in English Churches during the Reformation and it is tempting to believe that the destruction was complete, though specialists in the fields of ecclesistical history or art history would have had a different view. For the interested person who does not have the opportunity to range across the country this book provides a comprehensive survey. There does appear to be a renewal of interest in religious art, Icons of the Eastern Church in particular, and this volume sets the subject in a local context and reveals aspects of pre-reformation England which may have been ignored for too long. One would hope that it would have a wide appeal, attracting the attention of those interested in art, Christianity and history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wall Paintings in Churches around England.., 17 Mar 2013
By 
Dawn "Love Books of any sort! Audible offers ... (Southampton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval Wall Paintings in English and Welsh Churches (Paperback)
This is a superb book with a lot of information a delightful photography..i was like a child in a sweet shop looking through this book well worth the purchase..I hope to go on some visits to these churches and will take my book with me..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medieval Wall Paintings, 13 Feb 2013
By 
Lorraine (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval Wall Paintings in English and Welsh Churches (Paperback)
Comprehensive book regarding the making, history, subject, meaning, rescue and painters/patrons of English/Welsh church wall paintings in laymans English. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Medieval wall paintings made even more obscure, 2 Feb 2013
By 
David Chandler "Poligonale" (Stockport UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval Wall Paintings in English and Welsh Churches (Paperback)
This is a well written series of essays that group the author's wide knowledge of these works into thematic chapters. As such this would make a good radio script. Astonishly poor colour illustrations of the relevant works are given the conventional numbers in brackets within the text to illustrate these essays. It is as if he and his photographer/publisher avoided flash photography or even the potential of basic Photoshop or any other picture editor. Most appear to be "raw" picture files which is perversely amateur. See figure 92, page 75 for instance amongst very many such examples. Most readers will be keen to find out the locations of these paintings as other reviewers have suggested. For instance,the church of "St. Mary" in a place called "Brook" cannot be found in the "Gazetteer" because the photographic captions do not actually contain reference to the relevant county. Unfortunately the gazetteer (index) lists churches by county only. In the same list there are some incredibly unhelpful descriptions eg "nave, east wall, above chancel screen: Doom" but even these lack a thumbnail illustration, condition, size or even a star rating to help to understand their importance. This failure is critical because it wastes an opportunity to track a grouping of regional styles, such as the West Sussex paintings which are world class. This field of British art deserves so much more. Where also are the itineraries to group the related works, the archival and web links or the metre scales to judge the sizes? How can anyone produce a publication with the subheading "in English and Welsh Churches" and not even produce a map in any of the 380 pages?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for all old churches, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval Wall Paintings in English and Welsh Churches (Paperback)
An excellent book with so much information included. Our church paintings are included so I bought another copy for the church..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval Wall Paintings in English and Welsh Churches (Paperback)
I could look at the pictures in this book all day! Easy to understand too. Will be very useful later this year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Viewing Medieval Wall Paintings, 20 July 2011
By 
V. Parker (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval Wall Paintings in English and Welsh Churches (Paperback)
A useful guide to where you can find medieval wall paintings with a little bit of history of this art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Been more than happy with service - books selected have lived up to expectations, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
have rearched the books before purchase and have met all my expectations both in content and quality. Will continue to order
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medieval Wall Paintings in English and Welsh Churches
Medieval Wall Paintings in English and Welsh Churches by Roger Rosewell (Paperback - 17 May 2011)
£16.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews