Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to his work, 20 Feb 2007
By 
William Burn "gingerburn" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The review which appears on this page seems to be rather out-of-place, inasmuch as, despite her many qualities, Vanessa Redgrave has little to do with John Donne's poetry, at least in any direct sense. As such, it seems a new review is necessary.

The majority of people who buy this book will be in the business of studying it, and for that purpose it is well equipped. The text has been modernised, but those who need an original spelling edition will not be looking at a "selected" edition, so we need not let that worry us. Indeed, there is much to be said for setting the idiosyncrasies of 16th century orthography to one side, although the modern rendering sometimes loses the charm of the original, and flexibility of the old spelling system did allow for a reflection of stresses that are no longer so clear.

If you are not studying Donne, then this volume will give you all the poems you need, and many more. All the favourites are here, from the bawdy through to the divine, and there are dozens more gems to be found.

My only caveat with this edition lies with the introduction by John Carey. In many ways it is excellent, but it would have been useful to have had more grounding in contemporary context. However, there exists the excellent Cambridge Companion to John Donne which offers a far more detailed range of essays.

So the decision has to be reached as to whether this deserves four or five stars. The poetry, of course, is belittled by even the highest star rating, but the edition is not yet perfect. However, for most people's needs it is far more than sufficient, and besides, it's John Donne, who remains the finest poet ever to have written in the English language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teenage enthusiasm revisited and rewarded, 9 Jun 2012
By 
A. Toop (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I studied (loosely speaking) John Donne for A-level back in the sixties. There was always something wonderful about the love poems particularly, that flowed directly into the very being of the reader and yet demanded some effort to get the full flavour. On revisiting them via this Kindle edition I find things have only got better. They are made to be read aloud - so hang the neighbours and do it! The print is excellent and the editing good. Admittedly this edition only scratches the surface, but I hope that others, particularly new readers, will find within these pages the encouragement to go deeper and learn more of this fascinating man, his life and his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value access, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While Donne would never be my favourite poet, I realised to my shame that it was a very long time since I had read him. Using the Kindle download was a simple and inexpensive way to put that right. The problem, of course, with kindle poetry books is that poetry is a genre where you may wish to read and re-read the poems in a different order. Getting to a specific poem is a slow process. (Hence four stars, not five) I would suggest to the people who create Kindle versions of books that poetry books are always made with an active contents page so that you are taken to the page you want. That aside, I am very happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Selection of Donne, 30 April 2009
By 
I. M. Knight (Huddersfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a good selection of poetry from the most well known and best metaphysical poet. There is everything you would expect from a collection of John Donne's work including his songs, sonnets, elegies and even his letters in verse.

I can't say that Donne is one of my favourite poets to read but he is without doubt a master of the language and I particularly like `The Flea'. This particular edition has a chronology of Donne's life and times, a decent intro and some thorough notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia trip, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved reading John Donne in school back in the Sixties, especially his love poetry, and thought I would revisit his poems in later life to see if they had kept their magic. They have indeed. Although still not an easy read, the sheer energy and beauty of the language makes up for the effort required to understand the more difficult passages.

Quite recently I also read 'John Donne: The Reformed Soul' by John Stubbs, and this helped set the poems in context. I would recommend both books to new and old Donne enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reads, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and more than a detective story with characters well drawn the book of poems by John Donne is just exceptional
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cross-gender vocal conceits by the Redgraves' rich voices, 15 Aug 2000
By A Customer
If you follow the Redgraves in and out of theatre ( Shakespeare, Noel Coward and political campaigning ), then this interplay of their voices stirs your flesh and mind together. Corin is intensely erotic and witty. Vanessa juggles gender with her deep rich voice, often addressing another woman through the male poet's persona. This precision forecasts her role as Prospero in ' The Tempest ' at the Shakespeare Globe in summer 2000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Poets - John Donne
The Great Poets - John Donne by John Donne (Audio CD - 1 Jun 2010)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews