Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect gift for children who have everything!
What a refreshing way to teach children about instruments, plus so much more! As a music teacher I am usually somewhat sceptical about such books, but this one blows the rest away. It is clearly presented and keeps the attention of children of all ages due to the attractive pictures and brilliant CD Rom. A must-buy for Junior schools all over the country and an inspired...
Published on 11 April 2007 by Sophie Kirk

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CD-ROM not Audio-CD, music quality could be better but helpful overview
This is an informative and accessible book when used in conjunction with the CD-ROM for all ages particularly as an introduction to a young literate audience. Only three stars because of the misrepresentation "Audio CD" when in fact is really a CD-ROM which is a little clunky to access. Plus the quality of music excerpts should be better if it is to give the listener a...
Published on 12 Oct 2009 by Annon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect gift for children who have everything!, 11 April 2007
This review is from: Meet the Instruments of the Orchestra (Book and CD-ROM) (Hardcover)
What a refreshing way to teach children about instruments, plus so much more! As a music teacher I am usually somewhat sceptical about such books, but this one blows the rest away. It is clearly presented and keeps the attention of children of all ages due to the attractive pictures and brilliant CD Rom. A must-buy for Junior schools all over the country and an inspired gift for awkward nieces/nephews/grandchildren etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 24 Mar 2007
By 
E. Pountney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meet the Instruments of the Orchestra (Book and CD-ROM) (Hardcover)
Excellently written and presented, this is a book bound to be loved by children.

Divided into the different sections of an orchestra, it depicts every instrument with informative and colourful pictures, diagrams, quotations, pitch ranges, fact-bubbles including Did You Know? and How To Play inserts. Inside the front cover is a CD-ROM which again, is well thought out and clearly presented. For each instrument, you can hear a solo demonstration, and several short orchestral excerpts. I had a great time clicking on different instuments and hearing some of their best orchestral moments. Children will love it.

I recommend it to music enthusiasts, especially young musicians, who want to find out more about their instrument and where it belongs in the musical world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great teaching resource!, 31 Mar 2007
By 
Maddy (East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Meet the Instruments of the Orchestra (Book and CD-ROM) (Hardcover)
A well presented and imaginative book. The pictures of the different musical instruments are extremely good quality and beautifully laid out. The information relating to each instrument is concise and easily accessible for all ages and levels of musical understanding. I have already used this book in my teaching and found the CD rom invaluable, as all the musical examples of the instruments are just a click away! As a teacher I was glad to hear that the instrument demonstrations were performed by students! Another great educational resource from Naxos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but be aware..., 10 Mar 2009
By 
Ms. K. Thomson "Kate" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meet the Instruments of the Orchestra (Book and CD-ROM) (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book as stated above, and will be invaluable in my music classroom. However be aware that the CD is not an audio CD but a CD ROM, it will not play the sounds of insturments in a CD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CD-ROM not Audio-CD, music quality could be better but helpful overview, 12 Oct 2009
This review is from: Meet the Instruments of the Orchestra (Book and CD-ROM) (Hardcover)
This is an informative and accessible book when used in conjunction with the CD-ROM for all ages particularly as an introduction to a young literate audience. Only three stars because of the misrepresentation "Audio CD" when in fact is really a CD-ROM which is a little clunky to access. Plus the quality of music excerpts should be better if it is to give the listener a good impression. So not the best introduction but will suffice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding book, 20 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. I. Harris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meet the Instruments of the Orchestra (Book and CD-ROM) (Hardcover)
A brilliant book! Well laid out, written in a precise yet readable style by a clearly enthused and knowledgeable author, with plenty of useful resources. This is by far the best book of its type-highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic guide to the orchestra, 25 Feb 2010
By 
J. Compton "Jooz" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meet the Instruments of the Orchestra (Book and CD-ROM) (Hardcover)
I bought this for my two children aged 7 and 4 to try and give them a little idea of musical instruments. I was not prepared for how enthralled they would be by it!! They absolutely love it and are now asking to learn an instrument!

The book itself is very well presented with lovely photographs of each instrument in their families. The cd is a fab addition - my children loved listening to the highest and lowest notes and then selecting the music to play.

I have to say this has been a really worthwhile purchase and I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MEET THE INSTRUMENTS OF THE ORCHESTRA (book & cd), 28 Dec 2009
This review is from: Meet the Instruments of the Orchestra (Book and CD-ROM) (Hardcover)
This is a good way to start children off by introducing them to the instruments of the orchestra in a simplified version. If you are trying to interest your child in classical music, this book, with its accompanying c.d., may help pave the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orchestra, 17 April 2009
By 
B. Fields (Leics, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meet the Instruments of the Orchestra (Book and CD-ROM) (Hardcover)
My grandaugher loved this book and found it very educational. It's great to be able to send to her directly, saves postage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 17 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet the Instruments of the Orchestra (Book and CD-ROM) (Hardcover)
This not only gives excellent colour pictures of all the instruments, but gives additional information on their history, their construction and the technique for playing them. Their place in a typical orchestra is clearly indicated. The CD gives a short burst, up and down an octave , for each instrument and then examples of it in use in the orchestra. Cannot recommend too highly to anyone who enjoys the music but knows very little about the individual instruments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meet the Instruments of the Orchestra (Book and CD-ROM)
Meet the Instruments of the Orchestra (Book and CD-ROM) by Evelyn Glennie (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2007)
11.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews