Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2010
This compact and easy to follow book provides clear and comprehensive guidance for all aspiring 'Higher English' pupils.

Every aspect of the exam's requirements is covered, from the basics of punctuation and sentence structure, to how best to cope with challenging essay and close reading questions. Were that not enough, the book also provides an illuminating glossary of those grammatical terms which constitute the essence of good writing. There is a wealth of information and help here, brought together by a writer whose knowledge and breadth of experience is evident on every page. An enjoyable problem-solver while preparing for the exam, it also adds much to our appreciation of everything we read.

In its variety and scope the 'Grade Booster' is an aid which truly lives up to its title.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2010
This book has most of the essential material you will need for higher english. It has healped to explain things better and had good examples, especially with termanology.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
Really easy to use and understand, covers everything you need to know. Would recommend this book to anyone sitting higher english.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2007
Takes you through all the tricky bits of language study - close reading, etc, step and step and in plain English. Also great at explaining the other aspects of Higher English. A great help to those preparing for Higher English
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 June 2010
If you are doing Higher English, this is a must have. This bullet points all of the main points. It mainly includes advice on the Close Reading section of the Higher English Paper, but it is done excellently.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
This book was bought for my daughters college course and she said it was exactly what she was looking for and it arrived with 2 days, so she has no complaints about this book and she said she would recommend it to anyone who needs it for a college or university course.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
This immensely helped me this year for my English. I was sitting at a near fair prediction because I had never dedicated my full attention to English in Academy. This helped me learn what I needed quickly and efficiently. This may, however, not be any use for SQA next year since it will be converting to a new teaching structure with more Scottish in the programme.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
Book is reasonably good. However, there is just so much information and a lot of the time I found the book repeating itself. Not sure if this was just to build up information. It has a good number of tips on how to answer close reading, just not as much information as I would have liked.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Not ideal for English
It does however go over basic points but does not advance on them so you are left only learning C-Level stuff.
If you were expected to get an A in the exam it could be beneficial for going over minor things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
A simpler explanation to English language and grammar (in comparison to Studying Fiction: A Guide and Study Programme) however having two different explanations helps to really get a handle on things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse