Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Tales
This is a wonderful fairy tale book for children and refers further back than normal stories. Wonderful illustrations - real reason for buying it but stories excellent.

Have no hesitation in recommending this book to all. Good for reading to children and putting book mark in for next story - children love the anticipation of the next one!!
Published on 23 Feb 2011 by Mrs. A. M. C. Smith

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good for older children
this looked good, but was not suitable for me as i think it was intended for quite old children. the stories look very interesting, and the illustrations are great. there is a lot of text per picture however, so i think best for a child of about 10+?
Published 12 months ago by samuelsmum


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Tales, 23 Feb 2011
By 
Mrs. A. M. C. Smith (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quentin Blake's Magical Tales (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful fairy tale book for children and refers further back than normal stories. Wonderful illustrations - real reason for buying it but stories excellent.

Have no hesitation in recommending this book to all. Good for reading to children and putting book mark in for next story - children love the anticipation of the next one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total delight, 9 Feb 2011
This review is from: Quentin Blake's Magical Tales (Hardcover)
Quentin Blake's inimitable pictures bring an added dimension to these quirkily amusing tales, beautifully told by John Yeoman who has a natural gift for knowing what will make children laugh (never better displayed, incidentally, than in his wonderfully funny, touching story 'The Hermit and the Bear', another book also illustrated by Quentin Blake).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best book, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quentin Blake's Magical Tales (Hardcover)
My granddaughter simply loves the stories which are just the right length & has bought it as a birthday present to her best friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quentin Blake's Magical Tales (Hardcover)
My sons (5 and 8) love this collection. John Yeoman's writing is excellent, and of course the illustrations are superb. I do think it's a pity the writer doesn't get acknowledged, because not only are the stories outstanding, the telling is witty and extremely polished. For older children who like fantasy. I think this is essential reading, right up there with the BFG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quentin Blake's Magic Tales, 11 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quentin Blake's Magical Tales (Hardcover)
This book is written by John Yeoman and illustrated by Quentin Blake. There are 14 little known folktales, all with an element of magic in them - a marvellous mixture of familiar and unfamiliar themes, illustrated in true Quentin Blake style, with light quirky drawings which show at a glance what the author wants us to see. This book is for my 9-year-old grandson, who loves magic and stories and drawings, so we shall be all right with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quentin Blake's Magical Tales, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quentin Blake's Magical Tales (Hardcover)
My daughter and I have had a magical bedtime for weeks with this book. The story lines are clever and unusual and leave you with a warm glow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good children's book, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quentin Blake's Magical Tales (Hardcover)
Bought for my daughter, a year 1 teacher, to read out loud to the class. Nice to have new fairy tales to tell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good for older children, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quentin Blake's Magical Tales (Hardcover)
this looked good, but was not suitable for me as i think it was intended for quite old children. the stories look very interesting, and the illustrations are great. there is a lot of text per picture however, so i think best for a child of about 10+?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab13c624)

This product

Quentin Blake's Magical Tales
Quentin Blake's Magical Tales by John Yeoman (Hardcover - 18 Oct 2010)
8.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews