Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quentin Blake's A Christmas Carol, 22 Dec 2009
This review is from: Quentin Blake's A Christmas Carol (Hardcover)
A beautiful version of the old story. Illustrations are superb. The feel of the book is lovely. The language is still appropriately that of Dickens - makes for a talking point. The story and language haven't been too simplified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful story, beautiful edition!, 10 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quentin Blake's A Christmas Carol (Hardcover)
'A Christmas Carol' is a short work compared with most of Dickens' literature, but that it not a problem: the story is just so good and the language is just so exquisite.

This edition of the book is fantastic and one to treasure. It is beautifully illustrated and amazing value for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 12 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quentin Blake's A Christmas Carol (Hardcover)
A really beautiful book to gift so that it can be treasured for years on end. Some lovely illustrations and a great size to give younger ones a first taste of the world of Charles Dickens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Edition, 25 Nov 2008
This review is from: Quentin Blake's A Christmas Carol (Hardcover)
If you are a fan of Quentin Blake (and who isn't) this is the Christmas Carol for you. A bright and lively book with a substantial and well-produced feel about it, this is a great present for anyone who lives Christmas (young or old).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What I expected and yet somehow disappointing, 2 Dec 2008
This review is from: Quentin Blake's A Christmas Carol (Hardcover)
I was looking forward to receiving this and expected to be giving a five star review, I hate to say it but this combination of Dickens and Blake is rather disappointing.

Firstly though the positives, for the price this is a good value substantial book, the cover is designed to give it an antiquated feel, the text is unabridged, the art work lively and familiar, the paper is good quality and the book has some childfriendly extas including a short biography of Charles Dickens and Quentin Blake and an interesting foreword from the illustrator.

The negatives, well for me there is not enough contrast between the scenes of warmth and jollification and the cold nights of despair, despite the former being in full colour and the latter in black and white, somehow it's just not enough. The ghosts quite simply are not scary enough, there are not enough full page illustrations, too little contrast between the Scrooge we see at the beginning and the one we see at the end, The Cratchits look remarkably healthy and well-fed.

Clearly the story is timeless and as Quentin Blake's work and style is so familiar to most children it makes Dickens more approachable to the younger reader, there is nothing wrong with this edition, I am content with my purchase yet all the same this book lacks the magic and wonder that Christmas is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful addition to my library, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I first received the book through the post I thought I'd made a schoolboy error. Why? Because it appeared to be an edited version of Dickens' classic tale aimed at young children. I was horrified at my msitake but thankfully it is not abridged or re-written and is the full Dickens text. I read it in one sitting on the day of arrival. Excellent and with good illustrations. I'm definitely pleased I bought it.Quentin Blake's A Christmas Carol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book on a classic Christmas story, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely book with Quentin Blake's fantastic drawings. A book to keep. Bought for my 10 year old and reading together - some parts of Dickens story need explaining as the story unfolds but a good introduction to the classic and a delight to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Magical Illustrations., 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quentin Blake's A Christmas Carol (Hardcover)
Bought as a present, I loved this edition. The recipient had a little trouble with Dickens' over-long sentences - but that's Victorian Literature for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Dec 2012
This review is from: Quentin Blake's A Christmas Carol (Hardcover)
Well the story is just an absolute classic and the addition of superb drawings by Quentin Blake make it even more special. A great book at a really good price. Well worth it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quentin Blake's A Christmas Carol
Quentin Blake's A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens (Hardcover - 15 Sep 2008)
Used & New from: 5.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews