Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read
War Game
War Game, by Michael Foreman, is an adventure story about four boys called Billy, Freddie, Lacey and Will. It explains how the boys joined the army and went to fight in World War One. The book describes the boy's different emotions. When they went to enlist, they felt proud because people were cheering them on and they thought they were going on an...
Published on 12 Mar 2002

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out book ,very enjoyable.
This is a book about four boys who play football. It is the year 1914 and there is going to be a war. The four boys decide they are going to sign up for the war, soon they go into training at the camp, they suffer long tiring days of hard work. The war starts; the four boys are sent, they sleep in trenches and have poor food. Eventually they fight although after a few...
Published on 12 Mar 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking interesting book., 12 Mar 2002
By A Customer
War Game
Will is happy to be with his friends of who are dear to him. When there's a big decision to be made Will, will be cautious. He must be brave especially to join the army.
Billy is brave and courageous and adventurous. He is in good company with Freddy, Will and Lacey. He is more adventurous and daring than the rest of his friends.
Lacey is a very proud boy because he is the eldest and because he has to look after Billy. He looks down to his friends although he is friendly to Will, Billy and Freddie. I think he is unsure about going to war because he knows the consequences but still he would go to war because he has to look after Billy.
Freddie is unsure about going to war or any hardship as such. He would go to war though because he wouldn't let his friends go off to war without him. He is quite brave and courageous, well enough to go to war.
Settings
The settings go from the sweet smelling, quiet, beautiful countryside to the horrific, dirty, smelly, chaotic trenches.
Events and happenings
Firstly Will, Billy, Freddie and Lacey were motivated by applause up the stage to show that they were going to war. They were excited about war when they travelled on the boat to France and when they travelled through the fields of France, but as they progressed towards the battlefield they constantly grew cautious. When they finally got to the trenches they were soon taken to the front line. They were shooting for long periods of time. They then became friends with the front line of Germans and played football with the friendly Germans. Then new more fierce Germans were put on the frontline in exchange for the old ones. Freddie kicked the ball into no-mans land and then all of them ran in there usual formations at the Germans but were gunned down.
It was a fairly good book because I like books about war and it held my interest all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War Game is superbly written book., 19 Mar 2002
By A Customer
War Game is a superb book written by Michael Foreman. Set in 1914 (during the First World War) Will, Freddie, Billy and Lacey all decide to sign up to the army. Together they experience the horror of war. The pictures give us a good idea of what life was like in war and I especially like the information next to the pictures although only in a few places. Then on Christmas day 1914 both armies had a historical game of football in 'No man's land'!
My favourite character was Will because he had second thoughts about going to war instead of just signing up without thinking about what will happen to him.
I would recommend this book for children aged 7 to 12 (if you are interested in history). This book in my opinion is worth 5 stars.
My reasons are the following
1.The book gets straight to the point.
2.It gives you information on World War One.
3.The pictures help you imagine what life was like.
4.It is short and simple.
5.The auther uses authentic language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Topical book, 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived within timeframe specified. Well wrapped and as per identified description.well liked book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out book ,very enjoyable., 12 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This is a book about four boys who play football. It is the year 1914 and there is going to be a war. The four boys decide they are going to sign up for the war, soon they go into training at the camp, they suffer long tiring days of hard work. The war starts; the four boys are sent, they sleep in trenches and have poor food. Eventually they fight although after a few days there is peace and both sides exchange gifts with this being Christmas . There is peace for a few more days when a full-scale attack is launched on the English. Only three of the boys survive.
I thought it was a good detailed book. I would recommend it to people who like dramatic and historic books. 5/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I think it was brilliant., 19 Mar 2002
By A Customer
War Game starts in Suffolk with Freddie ,Will , Billy and Lacey having a game of football. Then it explains about Kaiser Bill and the trouble in Germany. The boys then decided to sign up for the war.It then tells you about the trenches.Then they were killed in the war.
I think this book should be for age group 9+ because it has some hard words in it and the writing is small.It also has quite a few people dying in it.
The part I liked most about the book was when the English and the Germans had a game of football.I enjoyed this because even though they were in the middle of war they made peace....
I rate this book three-five as I would not read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars poetic and beautiful - and simple enough for children to really engage, 11 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Moving, poetic and beautiful - and simple enough for children to really engage with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was very intresting and understanding., 19 Mar 2002
By A Customer
Do you want to know about the first world war?
If so Michael Foreman's War Game is the book for you. It gives a clear understanding about World War One.
Michael Foreman wrote this book in rememberence of his great uncles who died
in the First World War.
It is about four lads Freddie, Will, Lacey and Billy who sign up for the War because they thing it will be over by Christmas. But things don't go quite according to plan.
I would not recommend this book for under eight because of the difficult language and lack of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and moving adventure set during World War 1, 19 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This excellently written book by Micheal Foreman is a superb novel about the first World War.The main characters featured in this book are: Billy, Freddie, Will and Lacey.
I like this book because the illustrations are spectacular and it shows what life was like in the trenches and during the war.
I would recommend this book to people aged nine and up because it has some quite hard words but on the other hand it was easy to follow.This book is the winner of the smarties Grand prix award.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Nov 2014
By 
R. A. Mckeown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful book. Used to lead up to Remembrance assembly at school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Game: Village Green to No-Man's-Land - the story of the First World War Christmas Day truce of 1914 (Paperback)
Great book for 8-12 year olds studying WW1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews