Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is so Moving, 6 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Game: Village Green to No-Man's-Land - the story of the First World War Christmas Day truce of 1914 (Paperback)
As a teacher I wanted this book to do some work with our KS2 children on Remembrance Day. I knew this story vaguely and someone recommended the book. Reading it is very emotional and the way it is written and the pictures are a work of art. Can't help but have a little cry. It is one of those books everyone should read and sums up the absolute stupidity and futility of war. Beautiful book to treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War Game: Village Green to No-Man's-Land, 21 Feb. 2013
By 
A. Lucas "bookworm" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Game: Village Green to No-Man's-Land - the story of the First World War Christmas Day truce of 1914 (Paperback)
What a beautiful book. I bought this as a gift for my son's friend, who loves anything to do with WW1. I did warn his mum that there isn't a happy ending, though - as the little boy is only 7, and I didn't want to upset him. The book is just gorgeous - such lovely illustrations and something that I think all children should know about - 'our' history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a well written story., 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Game: Village Green to No-Man's-Land - the story of the First World War Christmas Day truce of 1914 (Paperback)
This is a really good story to help children visualise what it might have been like in the 1st World War in the trenches. It is a sad ending, but my class really enjoyed it and did some great writing afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful illustrations, moving tale., 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Game: Village Green to No-Man's-Land - the story of the First World War Christmas Day truce of 1914 (Paperback)
Poignant children's novel set during the first months of WW1. Beautifully illustrated in colour. My class enjoyed reading this story especially as it referred to the Christmas Day Truce in the trenches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A FOOTBALL MATCH WITHOUT ANY FIGHTING!, 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Game: Village Green to No-Man's-Land - the story of the First World War Christmas Day truce of 1914 (Paperback)
Lovely illustrations have been put to this classic real life story set at Christmas time in the awesome trenches of World War 1. Amid the sound of gunfire, suddenly there's a silence and carols start to be sung by the opposing enemies -- the same tune, but one with English words, the other in German. Miraculously a soldier from the German side emerges putting his arms in the air as if to surrender. An English soldier does the same to the cries of 'Don't do it, its a trick!', but both meet, hands are shaken, and then a hug. Then as a real gesture of goodwill and friendship, 'luxury' goods like chocolate and cigarettes are exchanged ... suddenly, war has ceased and they all play a friendly game of football in muddy no man's land, and yet the very next day, it was back to bullets, bayonets and yet more bloodshed. Miraculous that Christmas Day may seem, but such is war. It all seems so pointless, and its 'a game' that nobody ever seems to win after literally millions have been massacred. However, my 10 year old grandson has been to see the story enacted on stage as part of the school curriculum. He loved it, and hence this purchase, which proves that a good read is better than a computer screen any day, but doubtless he'll want the DVD as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully written story, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Game: Village Green to No-Man's-Land - the story of the First World War Christmas Day truce of 1914 (Paperback)
I recently discovered this book when teaching WWI to a lower ability Year 6 group. They were transfixed by the story and it helped foster their enthusiasm for this era. I used the book to explore the events surrounding Christmas during WW1, both at home and abroad. This led to a variety of writing tasks, the best being a letter home. I would highly recommend this book if teaching children about WW1, especially boys, as this is the first time I have seen children truly become enthralled by and understand the events surrounding this period in time. The BBC animation of the same name supports this text beautifully and is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good, informative read., 10 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Game: Village Green to No-Man's-Land - the story of the First World War Christmas Day truce of 1914 (Paperback)
Once again Michael Foreman brings history to life with his brilliant illustrations alongside easy to read detail. Children can enjoy learning at the same time as relaxing with a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Memories!, 19 Oct. 2012
This review is from: War Game: Village Green to No-Man's-Land - the story of the First World War Christmas Day truce of 1914 (Paperback)
I was nine when this book came out nearly 20 years ago. We had it read to us in class and I got a copy for Christmas. I still have it on my bookshelf, one of the very few books I have kept from my childhood. It is simply told, well illustrated with watercolours and touches on themes that children will pick up on and have opinions about: war, friendship, family, history, etc. The last few pages together make up one of the most emotional and memorable endings to a book I can think of, and there are barely any words. They are not needed by that point. Great for teachers of 8 - 11 year olds and great for parents looking for a story with more depth than ones with kittens and bunnies running around smiling at each other. And just a nice a book to read and own for any reader. Buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good book, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well illustrated book. A story that needs to be told and in the right way for children aged 8/9/10yrs. A book to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Topical book, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived within timeframe specified. Well wrapped and as per identified description.well liked book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews