Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read
War Game
War Game, by Michael Foreman, is an adventure story about four boys called Billy, Freddie, Lacey and Will. It explains how the boys joined the army and went to fight in World War One. The book describes the boy's different emotions. When they went to enlist, they felt proud because people were cheering them on and they thought they were going on an...
Published on 12 Mar. 2002

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out book ,very enjoyable.
This is a book about four boys who play football. It is the year 1914 and there is going to be a war. The four boys decide they are going to sign up for the war, soon they go into training at the camp, they suffer long tiring days of hard work. The war starts; the four boys are sent, they sleep in trenches and have poor food. Eventually they fight although after a few...
Published on 12 Mar. 2002


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read, 12 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
War Game
War Game, by Michael Foreman, is an adventure story about four boys called Billy, Freddie, Lacey and Will. It explains how the boys joined the army and went to fight in World War One. The book describes the boy's different emotions. When they went to enlist, they felt proud because people were cheering them on and they thought they were going on an adventure. The writer tells of the boys through the war and describes how bad the conditions were in the war. The ending ends in a tragedy...
I thought the book was interesting because it tells you about the characters emotions and it's also got some factual next to the illustrations.
I think the actual storyline is very good because it tells you what the war would have been like. The writer has a clever way of describing the war and it shows that people lost their lives, many of them were young... I think it is good that the book is in memory of the writer's uncles who died in the war. It's always thoughtful that so many people died in the war for our country and us.
By Ella.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War Game is a fabulos, exciting, incredible and adventurous., 19 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
War Game is about four boys who went to join up for the First World War.Their names are Billy, Freddie,Lacey and Will.
One day they went to sign up for the World War to Honour their Country. They were disappointed when the went to training camp because they did not get training clothes they had to do it in what the were wearing. When they moved from England to France they walked through the town and got lots and lots of cheers! They were very proud! As they went through a town in France (in a windowless bus with little holes you could peep through) That was already blown to bits, Freddie thought it looked just like fireworks! When they got to the discusting, muddy trenches Will and Freddie were first to be posted as sentries. By the time it was dinner they all felt like not having any dinner because they had to eat rats, slugs (YUK) beatles and rock, hard biscuits. They all thought war would be over by Christmas but it wasn't. On Christmas Eve the Germans and English kept singing songs to each other. On Christmas day they had a nice cooked breakfast and after that a sudden but very exciting game of football happened. Then straight after that blackness fell and the was over.
I think this is a great book and I definitely would read it again.I would give it FIVE out of FIVE. The plot is just great. I would recommend this to eight years and over. My best part was when the Germans and the English had a game of football. I thought there is no negative parts in this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING BOOK!!, 20 Oct. 2010
We found the book War Game absolutely amazing. Michael Foreman is a genius writer.
The book is about four teenage boys who after a game of football on the village green decide to join the army to fight in World War 1.
The boys believe that it will be a short adventure, where they will have lots of fun.
Unfortunately, the adventure lasts several years and the highlight for the four friends is a memorable game of football played against the enemy on no-mans land.
We whole heartedly recommend this book to you to read. Not only was it a quality story, but it helped us with our learning about the world wars.
We think that you need to be over 8 years of age to understand the story.
It's a book that we will never give away and that we talk about a lot.
We found parts of the book quite emotional and our teacher nearly cried when she read it to us.
Definitely a 5 star book, but we would like to give it 10!

Mrs B's Literacy Group. Richmond Hill Primary School Doncaster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War Game: Village Green to No-Man's-Land, 21 Feb. 2013
By 
A. Lucas "bookworm" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Game: Village Green to No-Man's-Land - the story of the First World War Christmas Day truce of 1914 (Paperback)
What a beautiful book. I bought this as a gift for my son's friend, who loves anything to do with WW1. I did warn his mum that there isn't a happy ending, though - as the little boy is only 7, and I didn't want to upset him. The book is just gorgeous - such lovely illustrations and something that I think all children should know about - 'our' history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Poetry is in the Pity, 2 Sept. 2009
If anything ever displays war as the tragedy it is,this true story of the First World War shows it above all others.It is movingly told and all the more potently and memorably because so many of the author's relatives were killed during it in the flowering of their manhood while the dew of youth was still on their brow.
Now in the ranks of death and now only names inscribed in marble in some sad shires it breaks the heart to know these same young men sang songs together and played a game of football across no-mans land before the rifles,cannons,and machine guns rattled out death to hundreds of thousands of them on both sides.My grandfather was killed at Ypres,my father was badly scarred and lost the right side of his face,his nose and right eye in the Second World War at Cassino and I was slightly wounded myself when I saw service with the Argylls in Berlin during the so called Cold War.The tears sprang to my eyes while reading this book,I could not stop either sobbing or reading,at its end there was both.Dulce et decorum este pro patria Mori.What gross untruths that sent innocent men to their deaths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 18 April 2002
By A Customer
War game is a book about four young country lads going to war. They set off with the idea that going to war would be a bit of a game. In basic training they began to find out what it was really like when they didn’t even have a uniform. They set of in high spirits for the front. The fun continued as they rode in London buses across France, being cheered all the way by French people.
They arrived at the front, and were sent into the trenches, to spend the next three months in several feet of water, and only several yards away from the enemy. On Christmas Day they played football with the Germans and some became friends. In the days that follo0wed, men in the front trenches would take turns to fire, while the other side kept their heads down...
I enjoyed this book because it helped me to see and understand what it was like in the First World War. It was an interesting read, I would read it again and recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is so Moving, 6 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Game: Village Green to No-Man's-Land - the story of the First World War Christmas Day truce of 1914 (Paperback)
As a teacher I wanted this book to do some work with our KS2 children on Remembrance Day. I knew this story vaguely and someone recommended the book. Reading it is very emotional and the way it is written and the pictures are a work of art. Can't help but have a little cry. It is one of those books everyone should read and sums up the absolute stupidity and futility of war. Beautiful book to treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The war game is a superbly written book., 19 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
The war Game is a brilliant book written by Michael Foreman. It explains in simple terms what the war was like for the soldiers from first joined the army to fighting the Germans in the trenches.
It starts with four friends Will, Lacey, Fredy and Billy joining up for the war. They thought it would be an adventure, however when they arrived at the trenches they were dismayed to see the dead and wounded. Then on Christmas Eve the soldiers (British and German) had a friendly game of football, after that none of them wanted too fight any more because they had all made friends. Then new German troops came,and started shooting again...
I would recommend this book to ages eight to twelve years, because Micheal uses simple language and great illustations.
My favourite part of this book is when the boys joined the army and arrived at the trenches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'An emotional tale', 12 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
War Game
'War Game' is an exciting tragedy set in the First World War. A group of footballers decide to join the army; there they meet the friendly Germans from Saxony. The 'Tommys' become friends with the enemy by giving each other shooting practice; their fun is cut short as fresh soldiers from Prussia ready to fight replace the friendly enemy! In my opinion, War game is a 'must read' book. Even though it's quite short I think it could challenge J.R.R. Tolkein's novel: The Hobbit. The author shows a lot of skill in his writing and pictures, which create an inviting picture in your mind.
This book would probably be more exciting for the age range of 7 to 12 year olds.
Review by
Alexander from West Hallam in Derbyshire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story about World War 1, 12 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
War Game
War Game by Michael Foreman is a very exiting book and is slightly moving near the end .It tells a story of 4 lads who go to war. They get there thinking everything will be over by Christmas but things go horribly wrong.
The story is mainly set in France in the 1st World War. The illustrations show just what it was like so long ago.
It's only a short book and I read it in about 2 hours but it was still very exciting and I couldn't put it down. I reckon it would be for children about age 8 and over. Its also quite serious book so be prepared for some sad parts as well as happy parts.
In my opinion the rating would be 9 and a half out of 10.
Review by
George
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews