Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What non-fiction for young readers should be like, 5 Dec 2007
This review is from: War Boy: A Wartime Childhood (Paperback)
I bought this book for my six year old son, as well as After The War Was Over. Both are perfect for dipping into and inspire endless discussions about what life was like in 'olden times' This book combines a personal story with factual information and wonderful illustrations. Perfect for children who are ready to progress from picture books to chapter books in terms of content but who like the reassurance of plenty to look at in a book as well as words. A great introduction to history and supports the national curriculum, my older son found it very useful during Year 5 as a reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, moving and very funny!, 17 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Boy: A Wartime Childhood (Paperback)
I bought this book for my son who is studying WW2 at school this term. It really appealed to him because it is the story of a boy his age. The illustrations are beautiful and the little information panels are fascinating. I bought another copy and gave it to my grandfather who was a boy in the war and he loved it too. Worth every penny - a book to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars war boy, 19 Oct 2010
This review is from: War Boy: A Wartime Childhood (Paperback)
I bought because I'd heard good coments about it and it's about the town where I was born, it's writen for children I enjoyed it very much and have since bought the second book AFTER THE WAR WAS OVER .The war had been over three years when I was born so alot of what is described had n't changed a great deal .Think all children should read it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars captivating, 19 Mar 2012
By 
Jessica "tommasor" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: War Boy: A Wartime Childhood (Paperback)
This book has been an enormous success. My 9 year old son is fascinated by the war, an interest far and away superseded by that of his Grandad who was the age of the boy in the book, and the age of my son, during the war, so they have shared some really magical times looking at the pictures, and reading the apparently very informative and accurate text, on which my father was able to elaborate with captivating personal stories. All round a great hit, and would recommend to anyone interested in the Second World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars informative, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Boy: A Wartime Childhood (Paperback)
Bought for grandson aged 9 for school project. Excellent illustrations delicately coloured. The story beautifully written and very moving at the same time full of facts,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WAR BOY, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Boy: A Wartime Childhood (Paperback)
REALLY WELL WRITTEN BOOK AND MY 8 YEAR OLD FINDS IT EASY READING TOO. LOTS OF INFORMATION ABOUT THE WAR DAYS AND VERY CHILD FRIENDLY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent nostalgia!, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Boy: A Wartime Childhood (Paperback)
Charming memories of wartime from a child's view. Rings true, easily read, brings a smile to your face. Very enjoyable - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for everyone, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Boy: A Wartime Childhood (Paperback)
I bought this book as a teacher as I wanted to use it as a starting point for my topic work about World War 2 evacuees. Unfortunately it came too late, but I loved all the information it gave and the beautiful illustrations (drawings and water colours) which i did use as the basis of some art work with the children. Will definitely use it more next time. A lovely book as a present too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, 27 Dec 2012
By 
R. Tuck "pc" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Boy: A Wartime Childhood (Paperback)
A sad worthy thoughtful and carefully written book. gently illustrated by a skilled hand. a must have for thought and conversation for young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 19 Feb 2012
This review is from: War Boy: A Wartime Childhood (Paperback)
Used for year 3/4 to enhance WW2 work. Good pics and accessible to them unlike most WW2 stories. We have used extracts for reading comprehension etc. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War Boy: A Wartime Childhood
War Boy: A Wartime Childhood by Michael Foreman (Paperback - 23 Oct 2006)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews