Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story: London sights for children
Katie is the hugely engaging child whose grandma takes her to a variety of interesting places in London, [other books visit the National Gallery; the dinosaurs in the Natural History Museum] and then urgently needs a short rest before the sightseeing begins... which allows Katie time to have an adventure.
In this book, Katie and her small brother look at all the...
Published on 24 Jan. 2006

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Kindle Friendly
Great book, that my 7yr old enjoyed. However, this is nothing more than a scan of the book and therefore extremely awkward to read on the Kindle. Should have purchased a hard copy
Published 1 month ago by candice edwards


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story: London sights for children, 24 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Katie In London (Paperback)
Katie is the hugely engaging child whose grandma takes her to a variety of interesting places in London, [other books visit the National Gallery; the dinosaurs in the Natural History Museum] and then urgently needs a short rest before the sightseeing begins... which allows Katie time to have an adventure.
In this book, Katie and her small brother look at all the London landmarks with the help of a Lion - Trafalgar Square, the Tower and Crown Jewels, the London Eye, and the Changing of the Guard... each is drawn, and shown in its context so that for instance, the London Eye appears as do the Houses of Parliament, as the children sail up the Thames on a ship; they are then inside the Eye, with a birds' eye view of Westminster Bridge, and then they are down there running across the Bridge... so a child can see how it all 'fits together'.
A wonderful introduction to London sights, which would make a great preview before taking any young child to see the same sights.
These books are huge favourites with our children: possible at age 2, the detail appreciated more and more up to say, age 8
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to London for children, 31 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katie In London (Paperback)
There is not much more to add to the reviews already posted save to say that it is an excellent book.

You can visit all of the sites mentioned in the book by doing the following round robin tour you can start from any point.

Start at Trafalgar Square and walk through St James' park to Buckingham Palace (changing the guard gets very busy and children may not be able to see everything plus it is not on every day all year round) and then on to the Houses of Parliament via Horseguards and Downing Street. Get on to the Thames Clipper at the London Eye (you get reduced fairs with a valid travelcard and it is faster than the tourist boats) just over the river from the Houses of Parliament and take it down to Tower Pier, on the way you'll go past Shakespeare's Globe Theatre. From Tower Pier walk past the Tower of London to Tower Bridge then walk around the perimeter of the Tower of London to Tower Hill. Near to the statue of a builder on the same side of the road is the bus stop for the number 15 bus. Wait for the Routemaster London Bus which accepts normal Travel Cards to come as there are modern buses on route 15 as well. The bus will take you past St Paul's Cathedral and on to Trafalgar Square.

You won't see the sites in the same order as Katie but you will get to see them all. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Children's Book about the Sights of London, 13 Feb. 2010
By 
Jae (Munich, Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Katie In London (Paperback)
As an English teacher in Germany, I get to travel quite frequently to London. On one such trip I found this book and brought it home for my children as a souvenir (then 5 and 7). After re-reading this book numerous times, they began begging me to take them to London. This year the opportunity has finally arrived and when I asked my children (now 7 and 9) if they want to go, not only did they jump for joy, but they already knew everything they wanted to see when we get there! And it won't surprise you to hear they want to start our adventures at Trafalgar Square! I recently bought this book as a gift for a friend's 3-year-old who lives in London. He loves the book just as much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb book, 29 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Katie In London (Paperback)
My eldest son (now aged 7) loves this book. The story is good and the illustrations superb. It is a fascinating tour around London and at an appropriate level for children. If you are going up to London with your child, then read this book first - its shows them all the sights and will make them enjoy it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great London Visit, 26 Feb. 2009
By 
M. Wood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Katie In London (Paperback)
My 6 year old grandaughter already knew, and enjoyed, the Katie stories. She was going to London to visit various places, including The National Gallery - to see some of the pictures with which she was familiar.
This book was the ideal intruction to some familiar London sites and happened to faeture many of the places she was to visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for preparing 4 year old for going to London & first trip abroad, 24 May 2012
This review is from: Katie In London (Paperback)
This book was just perfect. I read it to our son before going to London, on the plane, in the hotel and now we read it to remember our wouderful trip. Our son was able to recognize many of the sights by himself as we passed Big Ben, Houses of Parlaments, London Tower, Tower Brigdge etc by boat or bus. Most of all he enjoyed playing on the Lions at Trafalgar Square! The book made our entire vacation so much more enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super book, 7 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Katie In London (Paperback)
Great book all my children loved it, ages 1 to 5. Super pictures and a lovely story showing londons main sights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, 16 July 2012
This review is from: Katie In London (Paperback)
This is a fabulous book that really captures children's imagination, my daughter has been reading this since she was 4 and still loves it a couple of years on. Wonderful illustrations really bring the book to life, I would definitely recommend it for both boys and girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely romp through London's tourist hotspots, 23 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katie In London (Paperback)
This is a terrific book for any child who lives in, or is about to visit, London. A quick romp (sometimes just a fleeting glance, sometimes more exploration) around some of London's best-known tourist attractions, including Trafalgar Square, St Paul's Cathedral, the Tower of London, Tower Bridge, the London Eye and Buckingham Palace. It's aimed at slightly older children, but my 2 year old loves it. We were in Trafalgar Square recently and he was thrilled to see the lions on their plinths, just like the lion in the book, and he started talking about all the places the lion visits, so the book clearly caught his imagination. Lovely illustrations of London as well, particularly of the views from the London Eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katie In London (Paperback)
thanks to this book my daughter and I can't wait to visit London and follow in Katie's footsteps, or should I say paw prints - really good fun. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Katie In London
Katie In London by James Mayhew (Paperback - 4 Mar. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews