Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stories collection for 3-6 year olds
I got this book as a gift for my 4 year old, and it is a big hit. The stories are very well told in a simple and beautiful prose, the font size is just right, and even the lines are widely spaced out. In fact, I think the book would also do well for young readers, and would give them a good idea of the beauty of simple prose. Each story is well illustrated, and these...
Published on 30 May 2007 by K. Mukherjee

versus
32 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is this????
Who are these reviewers?

The stories have not just been just updated, they have been mutated and transformed into meaningless, drivel that renders the end "fables" almost pointless. The new versions remove all the subtle wit and charm of the originals and replace with the arrogance and spite that exists in the adult world. Its subtle, but this book is not...
Published on 17 Aug 2010 by Virtual Ron


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stories collection for 3-6 year olds, 30 May 2007
By 
K. Mukherjee "just a mama" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Orchard Book Of Aesop's Fables (Hardcover)
I got this book as a gift for my 4 year old, and it is a big hit. The stories are very well told in a simple and beautiful prose, the font size is just right, and even the lines are widely spaced out. In fact, I think the book would also do well for young readers, and would give them a good idea of the beauty of simple prose. Each story is well illustrated, and these illustrations are also very amusing and interesting - in total, a very good buy for the price !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Gift Book, 14 Sep 2007
By 
smiley (Charlton, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Orchard Book Of Aesop's Fables (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book, that provides moral guidance along with beautifully illustrated stories. I have purchased several different publications of Aesops Fables and this is definitely the best. It offers a rare combination of popular stories, good illustrations and over 20 fables, where most publications focus on far fewer. I searched for an edition that would be a suitable christening present and this book was extremely well received. It would only be improved if some of the stories were shorter and there were more of them. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read aloud book, 21 Aug 2008
This review is from: The Orchard Book Of Aesop's Fables (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book which can be read to young children and for older children they can read themselves. The stories are just the right length to keep a young child interested and so you can read "just one more story" at bedtime. The pictures are bright and engaging and drawn with the simplicity that adds so much to the fables. I have read this book to boys and girls from 3 to 8 and they have loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book for boys or girls, 2 Feb 2007
This review is from: The Orchard Book Of Aesop's Fables (Hardcover)
I don't really know Michael Morpurgo's work, and I'm not a big fan of Emma Chicester Clark, but we all loved this book.

These are neat, easy-to-read retellings of Aesop's fables, with bright and attractive illustrations. The length and complexity of the text is just right, making them accessible to pre-schoolers, but still valid for children many years older. Each ends, of course, with a little moral.

I would only have two, very minor, criticisms of this book: (1) It would be nice to have a bit of info about Aesop himself, even just some blurb on the dustjacket; and (2)It would be nice if it was longer!

This book would be particularly suitable has a gift book that could actually be read (or read aloud) and enjoyed. It would make a lovely present from Christening onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Holly E. Dyer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Orchard Book Of Aesop's Fables (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a birthday present for my four year old boy. We have been reading it now for 6 months and he still really enjoys the stories. My two year old daughter also likes the tales, especially the illustrations which are beautiful. The tales are well told, lively and enjoyable. A great way to make learning about morals interesting and memorable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN easy read., 7 Feb 2009
By 
K. Archer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Orchard Book Of Aesop's Fables (Hardcover)
My 2 year old son loves having these stories read to him, and this is the type of book he can keep so that he can read it himself in a few years. The stories are not over complicated or too long, nice pictures,and text is easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one to keep, 18 Jan 2010
By 
J. Holmes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orchard Book Of Aesop's Fables (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book to read to young children. These famous stories are retold by the author in a simple, easy and amusing way. Not too long for bedtime story reading and lovely illustrations for them to look at,talk about and discuss. A good introduction to Aesop's Fables which are stories with a moral. This is a classic book to buy as a gift for young children. I've bought 4 copies of this one and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grandparents enjoy with little ones, 25 Feb 2011
By 
Mrs. L. J. Mitchell "LJM" (Gosport,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Orchard Book Of Aesop's Fables (Hardcover)
Stories well told though some words a bit difficult for younger readers.Big print and excellent illustrations.Loads to talk about after each story . My 4yr old Grandson loves this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aesop's Fable review, 24 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Orchard Book Of Aesop's Fables (Hardcover)
I was genuinely impressed with this hardback book, lovely illustrations, my four year old is really enjoying these classic stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Orchard Book of Aesop's Fables, 5 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: The Orchard Book Of Aesop's Fables (Hardcover)
A lovely book. Lovely pictures.

Bought this trying to instill a little sense into my son when he was 2 or 3. He wasn't overly overjoyed at the lectures but some of the morals did seem to sink in. Maybe I should try again now he's a little older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Orchard Book Of Aesop's Fables
The Orchard Book Of Aesop's Fables by Michael Morpurgo (Hardcover - 27 Sep 2012)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews