Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend
It was the original biography of Amy that got me into her music and I began following her life and then of course it was terrible to see how it all went wrong and those last performances, hard times and tragic end. I got the updated version (the one with a dark cover and 1983 - 2001 on it) and cried over the new chapters as I was already emotional. It is the same book as...
Published on 8 Aug 2011 by ScotchEgg

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is cheap, cash-in rubbish!!!!!!
Starting at the beginning - this is one of those maddening biographies that start with the end of the story. The first chapter covers Amy's death but not the medical reasons behind it. I wanted to get to that chapter in the end, after I'd read the rest of her story, but this is a messy, jumbled book with little real fact or continuity involeved.

This was...
Published 4 months ago by JB


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is cheap, cash-in rubbish!!!!!!, 15 Aug 2014
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
Starting at the beginning - this is one of those maddening biographies that start with the end of the story. The first chapter covers Amy's death but not the medical reasons behind it. I wanted to get to that chapter in the end, after I'd read the rest of her story, but this is a messy, jumbled book with little real fact or continuity involeved.

This was released soon after Amy's death, evidently to cash in, the way Freddie Mercury biographies spilled out after his death. It's obvious that the author is a fan of Amy's, but he writes like a childish, teenage fan, where Amy can do no wrong, where her binges and fights with Blake are simply evidence of a good night out, where other artistes who criticise her descent are just jealous.

This book was obviously not researched further than watching her on Never Mind The Buzzcocks. I saw that episode and it was a car-crash - even host Simon Amstell stopped making jokes and urged Amy to get help as she slurred her way through the show. Yet this author says it was just Amy showing her 'obvious wit' and that other artistes just wanted to be as funny as she was. Sorry, mate, but she WASN'T funny. She was Sid Vicious reincarnated, only female, and she made horrifying viewing But this author constantly bigs up Amy's drunken, drug-addicted behaviour as if it was all just a laff and everyone else was just jealous of her - so there!

Covering Amy and Blake's story, it's obvious that this author only saw the stories in the Daily Mirror and rehashed them. Blake's quote about introducing Amy to hard drugs is much further into the book, when surely it should have been nearer the start of their story? We're told that Amy turned to drink and drugs after her first album, but not WHY. We're constantly told how in love Blake and Amy were, then all of a sudden told that Amy (supposedly) just dropped Blake when he came out of prison and no longer contacted him - again, WHY? Why build up such an inter-dependent relationship, reporting how desolate Amy felt when her husband went to prison, only to then dismiss it with a few words about how Amy didn't bother to contact him on his release and went on holiday instead? There's also no mention made of the omnipresent Mitch Winehouse's failed singing career, how he was constantly grabbing publicity for his own 'career' (of sorts) and releasing albums on the back of Amy's name? Mitch Winehouse told the world about Amy's personal struggles, her addictions, her romances - oh, and then he added how he'd introduced her to Frank Sinatra's music and he had a singing voice himself and did you know he's releasing an album?

Amy Winehouse caused her own destruction. She had a massive talent and a sparky personality, but she loved to play up to the tortured torch song image, telling everyone what a self-destructive individual she was. In reality, she got herself hooked on drugs and drink - she picked up that first drink, she made the decision to try some of Blake's drugs. She smoked and drank and drugged away her own talent and, ultimately, her own life. Even Blake got help in the end, but not Amy. That would have ruined her torch-singer image, you see. This book tells us how Amy was in a sober period of her life when she died - if that is so, how come she died of alcohol poisoning? This book doesn't tackle this - it's obviously too contradictory for this author/fan to tackle.

This book is a pile of rubbish - it's just well-known press quotes about Amy repeated ad nauseum. It's like the author has just copied out all the quotes from the newspaper - there's nothing new here, no obvious research, no investigation into Amy's obviously troubled psyche. It's just an immature author saying "I don't care what she did or what she wasted or what a bad role-model she is to young women - she's dead good, right, and she was just having a good time, so there!"

The definitive biography of Amy Winehouse is still to be written. This is certainly NOT it - it's just a cheap, immature, useless attempt to cash in on the cuircus surrounding her death. Avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amy, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Christine D. Swann "Micki205" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
My daughter had known Amy since schooldays and I bought this little book shortly after her tragically early death. I found it a bit trite - I also felt the research could have been taken from newspaper articles published over the past few years. Nothing new, a dissection of her albums with a bit of journalism thrown in for good? measure. This book didn't even come near to talking about the sweet, friendly, loveable and hugely talented girl who was Amy Winehouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
I am a huge fan of Amy Winehouse and love reading biographies. I thought that Amys biography would be an interesting read. Unfortunately although Amy had a colourful life this biography does not reflect it in any way at all. I was hoping the author would go into depth about her life , how did she meet blake? past loves, who was this ex who inspired Frank. What made Amy tick. Instead the author is more interested in giving the reader a long and unneccessary deconstruction of Amys songs, regurgitates countless reviews of her albums from the press. What I found frustrating was the author would write about tv appearances and start going into detail about the host of these shows and at one point gives media reviews of the shows and their hosts pointless! There is nothing new I learned from this biogrphy. Save your money and just google Amy Winehouse you would find the same info online for free. In fact I think thats how the author has written this book himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too many newspaper/media quotes, 27 Jan 2012
Thought this was goona be a good read.....wrong...ok for first couple of chapters, but way to many quotes from newspapers/mags/media etc. I just ended up skipping these parts, which by the way was about half the book, the author did,nt have much to write!!!..find another biography bout Amy...this one wasn,t worth the £1.99
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is not a biography, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
This is more about critics reviews than Amy herself, in my view the Title of the book is very misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 8 Aug 2011
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
It was the original biography of Amy that got me into her music and I began following her life and then of course it was terrible to see how it all went wrong and those last performances, hard times and tragic end. I got the updated version (the one with a dark cover and 1983 - 2001 on it) and cried over the new chapters as I was already emotional. It is the same book as the original but with new chapters and photos. Odd even reading it reminded me of when I read the first book and getting into her music. What a beautiful soul, RIP Amy xxxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money - DO NOT BUY, 20 July 2012
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
This is by far the worst book I have ever read, the author is extremely lazy and barely writes any of it himself it is just stolen from reviews and the title "the biography" is an utter lie, he doesn't write anything himself (maybe just his name) and it is just a cash in on Amy's death. If you are a fan of Amy's I urge you not to buy this utter rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reactive read that disappointed, 21 Aug 2011
By 
JoolyWooly69 (Leyland, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
I purchased this book just after Amy had sadly passed away and just before I went on holiday, planning to read it while I was away. I did read the book but it was a slightly frustrating read in that it seemed to be mainly a concoction of what a lot of other sources thought and said about the singer rather than a true biograpy. It did touch on some of the sad and uncomfortably intriguing facts about Amy's life, as an young artist and as she progressed through her relationship with her boyfriend to taking drugs and the downward spiral. What I was really looking for was something that gave me the inside story and provided an explanation to some of the bizarre behaviour and events of Amy's sad and troubled life whilst focusing on some of the achievements and details about what she was as a person. Unfortunately, although I did get throught the book, I was not greatly impressed. If you want a book to provide you with a scant overview of the life and music of Amy Winehouse, then this is it. Perhaps the most helpful part was when the author gave information about each of the songs on the two albums that Amy has released to date, giving the reader some insight into what Amy was thinking about when she wrote them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars waste of money, 12 Aug 2011
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
not a good read at all its just passages lifted from tat magazines and newspapers ive read it all before not well researched or information about amy just a few pages about her death added on so it could be rushed out to make money about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great tribute, 15 Oct 2011
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
I loved this book. It's insightful, easy to read and has some lovely photos (which of course are the first thing anyone looks at when purchasing a book, or is that just me?)

When I read the original version I was left with a feeling of positivity, and that's what makes this edition so much sadder. I was a big fan of Amy and her music and I'd say this is a must read if you feel the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011
Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 by Chas Newkey-Burden (Paperback - 4 Aug 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews