Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend
It was the original biography of Amy that got me into her music and I began following her life and then of course it was terrible to see how it all went wrong and those last performances, hard times and tragic end. I got the updated version (the one with a dark cover and 1983 - 2001 on it) and cried over the new chapters as I was already emotional. It is the same book as...
Published on 8 Aug 2011 by ScotchEgg

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amy
My daughter had known Amy since schooldays and I bought this little book shortly after her tragically early death. I found it a bit trite - I also felt the research could have been taken from newspaper articles published over the past few years. Nothing new, a dissection of her albums with a bit of journalism thrown in for good? measure. This book didn't even come...
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by Christine D. Swann


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amy, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Christine D. Swann "Micki205" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
My daughter had known Amy since schooldays and I bought this little book shortly after her tragically early death. I found it a bit trite - I also felt the research could have been taken from newspaper articles published over the past few years. Nothing new, a dissection of her albums with a bit of journalism thrown in for good? measure. This book didn't even come near to talking about the sweet, friendly, loveable and hugely talented girl who was Amy Winehouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
I am a huge fan of Amy Winehouse and love reading biographies. I thought that Amys biography would be an interesting read. Unfortunately although Amy had a colourful life this biography does not reflect it in any way at all. I was hoping the author would go into depth about her life , how did she meet blake? past loves, who was this ex who inspired Frank. What made Amy tick. Instead the author is more interested in giving the reader a long and unneccessary deconstruction of Amys songs, regurgitates countless reviews of her albums from the press. What I found frustrating was the author would write about tv appearances and start going into detail about the host of these shows and at one point gives media reviews of the shows and their hosts pointless! There is nothing new I learned from this biogrphy. Save your money and just google Amy Winehouse you would find the same info online for free. In fact I think thats how the author has written this book himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 8 Aug 2011
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
It was the original biography of Amy that got me into her music and I began following her life and then of course it was terrible to see how it all went wrong and those last performances, hard times and tragic end. I got the updated version (the one with a dark cover and 1983 - 2001 on it) and cried over the new chapters as I was already emotional. It is the same book as the original but with new chapters and photos. Odd even reading it reminded me of when I read the first book and getting into her music. What a beautiful soul, RIP Amy xxxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is not a biography, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
This is more about critics reviews than Amy herself, in my view the Title of the book is very misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too many newspaper/media quotes, 27 Jan 2012
Thought this was goona be a good read.....wrong...ok for first couple of chapters, but way to many quotes from newspapers/mags/media etc. I just ended up skipping these parts, which by the way was about half the book, the author did,nt have much to write!!!..find another biography bout Amy...this one wasn,t worth the 1.99
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars goood, 21 Oct 2013
By 
Susan Bewick "susan bewick" (roquefort sur garonne france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
not the greatest of reads the writer has got the story right but I do not think enough of the real truth was there it seemed to make Amy somehow responsible for her Down fall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reactive read that disappointed, 21 Aug 2011
By 
JoolyWooly69 (Leyland, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
I purchased this book just after Amy had sadly passed away and just before I went on holiday, planning to read it while I was away. I did read the book but it was a slightly frustrating read in that it seemed to be mainly a concoction of what a lot of other sources thought and said about the singer rather than a true biograpy. It did touch on some of the sad and uncomfortably intriguing facts about Amy's life, as an young artist and as she progressed through her relationship with her boyfriend to taking drugs and the downward spiral. What I was really looking for was something that gave me the inside story and provided an explanation to some of the bizarre behaviour and events of Amy's sad and troubled life whilst focusing on some of the achievements and details about what she was as a person. Unfortunately, although I did get throught the book, I was not greatly impressed. If you want a book to provide you with a scant overview of the life and music of Amy Winehouse, then this is it. Perhaps the most helpful part was when the author gave information about each of the songs on the two albums that Amy has released to date, giving the reader some insight into what Amy was thinking about when she wrote them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Biography of Amy Winehouse, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
After her untimely death, I wanted to find out about her
life, so I ordered her book from amazon. In the shops
they were selling it at full price, I could not believe how much
they were selling it at amazon, When it came, I thought it would be an old second
hand copy. It was immaculate.
It was well worth the read. I loved it, I would recomend it
to anyone. Well done to Amazon.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars waste of money, 12 Aug 2011
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
not a good read at all its just passages lifted from tat magazines and newspapers ive read it all before not well researched or information about amy just a few pages about her death added on so it could be rushed out to make money about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great tribute, 15 Oct 2011
This review is from: Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 (Paperback)
I loved this book. It's insightful, easy to read and has some lovely photos (which of course are the first thing anyone looks at when purchasing a book, or is that just me?)

When I read the original version I was left with a feeling of positivity, and that's what makes this edition so much sadder. I was a big fan of Amy and her music and I'd say this is a must read if you feel the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011
Amy Winehouse - The Biography 1983 - 2011 by Chas Newkey-Burden (Paperback - 4 Aug 2011)
6.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews