Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bogey Man Unmasked
The life and times of a Cockney/Belgian/Welsh football player: the long-awaited Pat Van Den Hauwe autobiography...and my God this fella's done some stuff..

From armed drug deals in black South African townships, to almost being killed in nightclubs; from marrying self-absorbed, stick-insect socialites (and, it appears, their loony mothers !), to outraging...
Published on 10 Feb. 2011 by Paul Ess.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Psycho pat
Good read not just a fact book about football achievements. Warts and all. Not quite as brutal as Tony Adams book but still wort reading.
Published 11 months ago by Lewie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bogey Man Unmasked, 10 Feb. 2011
By 
The life and times of a Cockney/Belgian/Welsh football player: the long-awaited Pat Van Den Hauwe autobiography...and my God this fella's done some stuff..

From armed drug deals in black South African townships, to almost being killed in nightclubs; from marrying self-absorbed, stick-insect socialites (and, it appears, their loony mothers !), to outraging aeroplane staff by getting his diggler out - Van Den Hauwe's 'colourful' life-story reads like motley, salacious pulp fiction.
And there's football as well !

Touching tributes from Howard Kendall and Terry Venables pay warm testament to Van Den Hauwe the excellent player, but also reveal plenty about his loyalty and standing as a pro; and Pat's constant incredulity at the reaction he gets from adoring fans when making personal appearances, tells much of his gratitude and humility as a man.
In 'PP - LoM' he is trying to play down his kick-em-in-the-nuts hard man persona...a bit. He prefers to reminisce, with considerable relish, his brazen bed-hopping antics.
Some will give him the benefit of the doubt - but not me. The image of Pat Van Den Hauwe I'll take to oblivion, is of him, eyes blazing with contempt, putting his foot through a terrified opposition winger - ball in the vicinty or not !
I've met the guy a couple of times and he's cool, polite and quietly amusing - but there's something in his eyes....something dark and sinister. He's the Event Horizon of ex-pros. He's been places and done things the rest of us would be in a cold sweat just thinking about.
And now he's written them in a book.

'Legend or Madman' ? It may be a cliche, but the answer's obvious ~ he's both. In the 1980's he was in the thick of Everton F.C's best ever domestic side, but was denied the opportunity to kick some of the elitest foreigners up into the air on the greatest European stages because of the wretched antics of the forlorn and ignominious herd accross the park.
Two Championship's and a Cup Winners Cup ensure his legend status; and in these mad days when the likes of the ludicrous Vinnie Jones are becoming actors - Pat would have a job for life in shady horror movies !
His book is like the man himself: lean, straight-forward..and with plenty of bite.
Get it before it gets you !

#Note : I wisely purchased my copy from 2rivers Promotions, who have a limited number of ravishing and highly collectible signed editions. Pat won't be inscribing any more and South Africa's a long way away !
~ Un-Ban the Everton 1 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just Any Old Scorer!, 26 Oct. 2013
By 
Ms. Nancy Buckland "foxymissb" (Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was brought up and Evertonian, it is in my blood, and to say it is part of my family is an understatement. Back in the 1980's Everton were on the up and up, I was a teenager, and after the city had struggled so much economically to see the team do so well was a dream come true, having lived in the shadow of the Reds that long! I enjoyed all of Pat's book, but especially his tales of his times in Liverpool. It was a different era then, and these lads were legendary in the city. Pat was infamous as being the handsome boy! he doesn't pull any punches in this book, and he admits that he didn't always treat people well (God bless his first wife!) but by the end of the book you can't help but like and respect him. He also brings to the fore the issue of mental health problems suffered by sports people. For me, as a bit of a celebrity-watcher, I was also interested in the chapter about his marriage to Mandy Smith. I think the saddest thing about the book, and for any Blue reading it, is that Everton never got to build on their European success in the 80s's through no fault of their own. There will always be that what if question, what could have happened to the club had they gone on to further European glories. From his humble beginnings, to his antics on and off the pitch, to his wild boy days and now finally his future in South Africa, there is one thing you can say about Pat, he has never been boring! In today's footballing world you just don't get characters like this any more, everything is so tightly controlled, and I think the English game misses managers like Kendall and Venables. They had the human touch. A great read for anyone who loves football. And Pat, you are welcome back any time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed Talent, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good honest account from an icon in the eighties.
Saddened by the murky underbelly which seems to affect many stars in the limelight, relationships with so called 'friends' who are only seeking to take advantage and when their starlight fades the troubles it can often lead to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant, frank, honest read., 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant read, hard to put down. An honest account of rags to riches and back again. An honest man with only hands-on who were not there to support him when he needed it most - a lower profile Gazza. Great to read as a football fan and an Evertonian. What a life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psycho, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you support Everton you need to read this book, if you support Everton and your over 30 you defo need to read this book, Pat seriously lived some life and its worth reading about, E f C Legend!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BOOK REVIEW, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psycho Pat (Hardcover)
A MUST BUY FOR EVERTON COLLECTERS of MERCHANDISE.
PERFECTLY PRINTED, (READABLE WRITING). FANTASTIC PICTURES.
A GREAT-INSIGHT TO EVERTON`S HISTORY.
SUITABLE BOOK FOR EVERYONE-YOUNG & OLDER FANS. XXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put this down, 1 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Psycho Pat (Hardcover)
Firstly being an Everton fan that grew up in the 80's I was always going to be interested in this book. Often football autobiographies tend to be the same old thing but this book had me captivated right from the very start. Pat always had a reputation as being one of the real hard men of his day but it is his off the field antics that make this book a great read. From the sounds of it Pat has has had a real rough time of it in the last 10-15 years battling drink, drugs and depression and I hope this book sees him seeing some light at the end of the tunnel.

One of the best football autobiographies I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Defo a legend, 8 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psycho Pat (Hardcover)
I approached this book with a fair amount of foreboding. Would it be a kiss and tell and rubbishing of clubs, Everton?

No this is a warts and all tale of a footballing life. Well worth a read for any fan. But if you are an Evertonian you will love the book.

Pat tells it like it was, with no holds barred.

Gratifying to know the fans got it right about why he missed so many matches, in that season!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Psycho! Psycho! Psycho!, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Psycho was playing when I first started going to Goodison and was part of a golden era of Everton. He is unbelievably frank and blunt about what went on in terms of booze, women, (STD's!) drugs and money. If you saw him play then this is worth read - not too in depth regarding the football but a great entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Legend. Everton fc, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Honest book from a legend. Just shows u when Everton touches u it stay with u forever coyb by keven hill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psycho Pat
Psycho Pat by Pat Van den Hauwe (Hardcover - 6 Feb. 2012)
£16.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews