Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live Forever!
After a number of years of reading and listening to other individuals' opinions of the early phases Oasis, the original drummer has provided his version of events, which seem (in my opinion) more believable, as well as realistic, due to the explanations provided within the given passages of text.

In addition, this book has provided quotes from a number of...
Published on 16 Oct 2010 by Acquiesce Ocean

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for Oasis fans, but very anti-Noel
This book is an interesting read and gives a detailed account of Oasis in the early days, including their formation and creation of 'Definitely Maybe'. The downside is that McCarroll clearly has bitter feelings towards Noel and exaggerates his flaws throughout... Some of the dialogue is surely made-up given they seemed to always be up to their eyeballs in drink and...
Published 13 months ago by GR


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live Forever!, 16 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oasis - The Truth (Hardcover)
After a number of years of reading and listening to other individuals' opinions of the early phases Oasis, the original drummer has provided his version of events, which seem (in my opinion) more believable, as well as realistic, due to the explanations provided within the given passages of text.

In addition, this book has provided quotes from a number of sources, which either supports, or enhances the author's views. Some might say (no pun intended!) that this can be a source of bias-ness. However, this is the first and potentially only opportunity the author has had to provide his version of events during the infancy of the 'Brit-pop phase', especially regarding the recording of the band's album `Definitely Maybe', as well as the 'hidden' political and social conflicts between the ringleader and the band members.

Moreover, the official news coverage that highlighted the bands 'ups and downs' can finally be exposed with greater clarity, emphasising the reasons for the intended reactions (e.g. absences and departures) of particular band members, along with other segments of information which may less known to readers!

In my opinion, this is an excellent read! The author has, from a personal viewpoint, provided a warm and personal introduction into a world of once an important rock band, which actually had very little connections, if none, with `The Beatles'! Confused? Then read this book. Overall, this was worth waiting for, as well as enhancing my personal respect towards Tony McCarroll. Live Forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tony McCarroll book review, 23 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oasis - The Truth (Hardcover)
I found this to be an interesting and insightful account of McCarroll's life and time in Oasis. As one of the original band members, this is about as authorised at it comes, and McCaroll pulls no punches in describing what went on. His bitterness towards Noel Gallagher dominates a lot of the book, although this seems understandable given that their turbluent relationship was what eventually ended McCarroll's time in the group. The elder Gallagher is portrayed as a cold, calculated and egotistical man, although McCarroll also acknowledges Gallagher's undoubted talent and drive. Without Noel, it seems, Oasis would never have gotten further than the Boardwalk club they used to play in the early Manchester days. McCarroll also gives insight into just how contrived and calculated the Gallagher's "bad boy" antics were, and I found this particularly interesting. In the book he reveals how Noel had a "masterplan", and aimed to use the media to help the group top the charts. While Noel Gallagher quite obviously felt he was the sole talent of the group, McCarroll points out other factors, such as outside songwriting inspiration, and the "wall of sound" that was already in place before Noel joined. McCarroll's relationship with Liam, and rhythm guitarist Bonehead, seemed to be a lot more congenial, and he rubbishes the claims that it was a fight with Liam in Paris that eventually ended his time in the group. His relationship with Paul Mcguigan seems to have been even worse that his relationship with Noel, and although McCarroll and Mcguigan started off as friends, and knew each other the longest, the atmosphere between them grew toxic. Mcguigan is portrayed as a sycophantic follower of Noel, while Tony seems to have stuck up for himself and fought his corner. If he is to believed, his treatment at the hands of the Noel was pretty harsh, and it seems to have been his standing up for himself that eventually got him fired, although Noel claimed it was Tony's lack of musical skill that saw him booted. Tales of McCarroll's early days in Manchester and Ireland are well written, as are the accounts of the early stages of the band. The mayhem on the road is also covered, and most of it seems pretty believable. The story tapers off somewhat after Tony's exit from the band, and given that he left in 1995 and the book came out in 2010, that is quite a large chunk of his life. Still, it is primarily about his time in the band, and on that score it holds up well. I thoroughly enjoyed the book, and I'm sure any oasis fan, or anyone interested in the early days of the band would enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tony mccarroll's book, 31 Oct 2010
This review is from: Oasis - The Truth (Hardcover)
this book is really interesting cause it shows how the band was born and which kind of relantionship had the members of the band...it shows also how Noel took the control of the band and contains a diary of their first tour in uk,USA and japan till their first big gig at the sheffield arena in 1995...i think that a real "mad for it" should have this book, cause is written by a member of the band, and there are also funny episodes in it...i hope my review can help, sorry my bad english but it's not my language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars View From The Drummers Stool, 7 Oct 2010
By 
kevin grant (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oasis - The Truth (Hardcover)
I recieved this book and I didnt know what to expect, would it be the sour grapes of a spurned drummer or a real groundfloor insight into how Oasis formed and evolved as a band and a group of friends. The book gives a great overview of what it was like to grow up in a mainly Irish imigrant background in Manchester in the late 70's and 80's. The book is funny in parts and gives some fanstastic anecdotal stories on events from their childhood.
The evolution of the band is an interesting part of the book as he gives you a song by song history as the band progresses and the variuos influences that they had at the time.

As you can expect Noel comes in for a fair bit of stick and it the book becomes a psuedo "lord of the flies" affair as Noel gains control of the operation. Tony's side of the story is somewhat differnt from the picture that Noel has painted, however this is to be expected.

The meeting with Alan McGee is halirious and the whole signing of the contract at Sony "under the influence" and then realising afterwards that the terms are heavily weighted in the Gallagher brothers favour is somewhat sour grapes. Also the meeting with Ian Brown, their hero, comes across as a strange experience.

Anyway the long and short is that the book is a great read for any Oasis fan and is a must, I will let you decide on wether you think it is fact or fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Drummer's tale, 13 April 2014
By 
J. Syed "akmal hussein" (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oasis the Truth: My Life as Oasis's Drummer (Paperback)
I've just finished reading this very enjoyable and illuminating book. It does show how Noel was a nasty piece of work, and Guigsy comes out of it badly (he didn't even play on Definitely Maybe, his parts were deleted).

My take on this whole Oasis controversy is that Oasis had two world class things in their favour, Liam's voice and Noel's songwriting. In terms of instrumental competence none of them were professional standard (even Noel's guitar). None of them would have ever made it as a session musician. Guigsy and Bonehead kept schtumm and hung on for the ride. Tony didn't, and his disagreements with Noel led to him getting fired. That and his clear lack of any business nous at all are what shyiiine through in the book.

Having said that, did Oasis really sound better when they had professional standard instrumentalists playing for them (2000 onwards)? I would say not - the best songs they had were simple, direct and didn't need fancy twiddles. Anyway, Tony was with them right up to mid-1995, so in a way he experienced most of the best part of it.
The book was really well written and a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BOOK I'VE READ IN AGES, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oasis the Truth: My Life as Oasis's Drummer (Paperback)
great read. pure truths from tony mccarroll. gives the real insight into what noel and liam and bonehead and guigsy are really like and the episodes about them as kids and in the band from someone who knew them before they were famous. SUPERB - BEST BOOK I'VE READ IN AGES.LOADS OF FUNNY EPISODES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oasis: The Truth (Kindle Edition)
was expecting a one sided book but it was very very VERY Frank, hats off to the drummer who played on the best debut album since the roses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good service and a very good book., 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oasis the Truth: My Life as Oasis's Drummer (Paperback)
A very good service fast and effecient, the book was brand new and was in perfect condition.

The actual book was a a very good insight in to the early life and days of Tony Mcarroll and Oasis,
I would highly reccomend it to any Oasis fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 30 May 2011
This review is from: Oasis - The Truth (Hardcover)
I will recommend this book to all fans of oasis. It is a bit bitter, but apart from that it has lots of moments that are real quality. Some very funny episodes, and it shows that the youth years of the Gallaghers are as rough as you might think it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue and a damm good read., 11 Oct 2010
This review is from: Oasis - The Truth (Hardcover)
I really didn't know what to expect with this book but wanted to learn more about the person who apparently is the "Stupidest Man in Rock n Roll" Fully expecting to find page to page whining from a jilted member of a once great band I was pleasantly surprised to find this a truly exceptional read.

It provides a frank and honest account into the formation of Oasis, life in Manchester and the ups and down of life on the road.

Rather than a personal attack, this book focuses more on the great times Tony shared in the band. Given the amount of stick this guy has taken over the years it was fascinating to get his take on events and learn more about the true reasons behind his sudden departure and subsequent legal battles.

I read the book cover to cover in two days and it is currently sold out in the Trafford Centre Waterstones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oasis the Truth: My Life as Oasis's Drummer
Oasis the Truth: My Life as Oasis's Drummer by Tony McCarroll (Paperback - 1 Aug 2011)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews