Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BILL NICHOLSON FOOTBALL`PERFECTIONEST
A Wonderful and must have book for all spurs loyal fans really enjoyable,make a great present,a book i will read again and again,many thanks.
Published on 6 Nov 2011 by brutas

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately, it's a matter of fact...
As a supporter who was 'there' when Bill Nicholson's `Super Spurs' were carrying all before them in the early 1960s, I am obviously very interested in that era and have many of the books written to mark the achievements of, arguably, Britain's greatest club side.
As it is now nearly 50 years since the double was won I am aware that this provides a great publishing...
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by Michael J Margetts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, a lovely description of the life of a truly wonderful man and his work with a great team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, errors notwithstanding!, 11 April 2012
By 
J. HOLMES (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Nicholson - Football's Perfectionist (Paperback)
An enjoyable read, with some interesting information not available in other books about Bill Nicholson, but there are (as mentioned by other readers) some fairly bizarre errors, such as the team talk for the 1961 cup final being interrupted by news of Neil Armstrong walking on the moon!

Nevertheless, these lapses did not spoil the book for me; Scovell's style of writing being informative without resorting to lots of facts and figures. Many of the pictures I had not seen before (although the one apparently of the dressing room at half-time in the 1967 cup final was incorrectly captioned - Morris Keston, no. 1 Spurs fan, you should have spotted that in your proof read!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A muddled story, 7 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Nicholson - Football's Perfectionist (Paperback)
I found this book to be rather muddled, it was almost as if I had a copy that had not been edited I found it hard to read although some of the facts were interesting. It seemed to me that the author would start to write about one topic and then change to something else half way through it was very frustrating Several times I found myself reading about one thing only for the subject to change to something else and leave a theme half finished never to return. Not my favourite book of this type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Bill, 13 Feb 2012
By the time I met Bill Nicholson, he was reaching the end of his managerial career at Spurs, and I just wish I'd known him in the glory days. Brian Scovell, the author of this lovely book, did, and his knowledge of the man and the era just shines out. There have been plenty of words expended on Bill, but what lifts this book out of the ordinary are the small, incidental anecdotes. Brian Scovell has also assembled a great cast of voices, including those of Bill's family, to speak up for Bill and the result is a charming and moving record of Bill's magnificent life which had me shedding a surreptitious tear at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What a Shame, 27 Nov 2011
This book did not do great service to one of the best managers in the game. Try reading Hunter Davies The Glory Game, old now that is a good read. He followed the Spurs team in a season during the 70's. Brilliant book, managers wouldn't let authors so close nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Billy Nic, the Legend, 20 Nov 2011
I have always admired the way Bill Nicholson created a brilliant football Team from little resoures & very little money compared to todays Football clubs.
He was a Legend in his own right, his aspirations were realy remarkable to achieve what he did during those years at White Hart Lane, to be able to read this book was Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 6 Nov 2010
I purchased this for my Husband who is not a great reader but is and has been a Tottenham fan for many years. I was so surprised - he has read it from cover to cover and really enjoyed it. He says its very well written and a down to earth story. Good job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bill Nicholson - Football's Perfectionist
Bill Nicholson - Football's Perfectionist by Brian Scovell (Paperback - 11 May 2011)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews