Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars14
3.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2010
Chris Bowers had covered Federer's career up to Wimbledon 2007 in his first book: Fantastic Federer. I was hoping that this book would focus more on Federer's career and the events after Wimbledon 2007. I was disappointed as Bowers does not do this enough. The earlier chapters are repetitive for someone who has already read Fantastic Federer.
Bowers' analysis lacks depth on why Nadal has been such a nemesis to Federer. It does not go into what is it about Nadal's game and character that makes him have such an impressive record against Federer.
The book is sloppy, with the facts, in some places. It states that Federer beat Del Potro in the round robin stage of the 2009 ATP Masters in London. This is a mistake as the result was the other way round. It also mentions that Roddick did not come close to breaking Federer in the fifth set at Wimbledon 2009. This is a howler as Federer was down 15-40 when serving at 8-8 in the fifth set and saved the two break points with a wonderful serve and a superb drive volley under the most extreme pressure. This was one of the most important turning points in the match.
The book is worth reading if you are a die-hard Federer fan as it does cover some additional ground from his previous book. Hence the three star rating.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
I did not realise on purchase of this problem that Roger Federer had no involvement in this book he simply said that he would not stop anyone writing about his career. The book is very dull I really would have like to have read about Roger from Roger. I stopped reading a third of the way into the book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
I bought this book as I am a fan of Federer but I was disapointed as it is poorly written and edited More of an outsiders view with no real insight, most of the information could be found by spending some time at the library. Hopefully someone will be able to do this career justice in the future!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
This was an all round great read, a great account by Chris Bowers, with plenty of quotes from the great Roger himself, reccommend to anyone, I didnt read the others but thought this was a good 1, I read the reviews 1st and it seemed like the best book to buy, by a long shot!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
THE GREATEST TENNIS BOOK YOULL EVER READ, iv read many tennis books on many of the greats and for me this is the best read yet no other tennis book has gripped me like this one , and he really is the most talented player to ever play the game its effortless .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2012
I'm new in tennis world. This book helped me have a better grasp of the sport itself and the YouTube clips of Roger Federer's matches. Love it!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
At times the book is enjoyable - but there are too many facts and figures which may be interesting to tennis players, but more of his life would have been a better read for a non statistical reader.
I enjoyed the parts where the author talks about his life - that kept me reading!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
Good to hear about Federer's early days particularly. Very enjoyable read for a Federer fan. As an unofficial biography about as close as you could get to finding out more about Federer the man, as opposed to Federer the tennis player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
Yes, he is the greatest, but I was very disappointed with this book, I found it boring.
I love his tennis, his style is amazing, plus he is the real master, a gentleman of the tennis court.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
This book combines all the facts about Federer's matches with anecdotes from his life. It is a bit hard to put all the results into perspective, but the personal information is interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)