Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for tennis fans and Federer fans
I'm new in tennis world. This book helped me have a better grasp of the sport itself and the YouTube clips of Roger Federer's matches. Love it!!
Published on 15 Jan 2012 by Maomee

versus
27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing but still worth a read if you are a die-hard Federer fan
Chris Bowers had covered Federer's career up to Wimbledon 2007 in his first book: Fantastic Federer. I was hoping that this book would focus more on Federer's career and the events after Wimbledon 2007. I was disappointed as Bowers does not do this enough. The earlier chapters are repetitive for someone who has already read Fantastic Federer.
Bowers' analysis lacks...
Published on 19 May 2010 by Sriram Sivasankaran


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing but still worth a read if you are a die-hard Federer fan, 19 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Chris Bowers had covered Federer's career up to Wimbledon 2007 in his first book: Fantastic Federer. I was hoping that this book would focus more on Federer's career and the events after Wimbledon 2007. I was disappointed as Bowers does not do this enough. The earlier chapters are repetitive for someone who has already read Fantastic Federer.
Bowers' analysis lacks depth on why Nadal has been such a nemesis to Federer. It does not go into what is it about Nadal's game and character that makes him have such an impressive record against Federer.
The book is sloppy, with the facts, in some places. It states that Federer beat Del Potro in the round robin stage of the 2009 ATP Masters in London. This is a mistake as the result was the other way round. It also mentions that Roddick did not come close to breaking Federer in the fifth set at Wimbledon 2009. This is a howler as Federer was down 15-40 when serving at 8-8 in the fifth set and saved the two break points with a wonderful serve and a superb drive volley under the most extreme pressure. This was one of the most important turning points in the match.
The book is worth reading if you are a die-hard Federer fan as it does cover some additional ground from his previous book. Hence the three star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!!!, 21 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roger Federer - the Greatest (Paperback)
This was an all round great read, a great account by Chris Bowers, with plenty of quotes from the great Roger himself, reccommend to anyone, I didnt read the others but thought this was a good 1, I read the reviews 1st and it seemed like the best book to buy, by a long shot!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for tennis fans and Federer fans, 15 Jan 2012
By 
Maomee (Suffolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roger Federer - the Greatest (Paperback)
I'm new in tennis world. This book helped me have a better grasp of the sport itself and the YouTube clips of Roger Federer's matches. Love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREATEST TENNIS BOOK YOULL EVER READ, 14 April 2014
By 
T. P. Ring - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
THE GREATEST TENNIS BOOK YOULL EVER READ, iv read many tennis books on many of the greats and for me this is the best read yet no other tennis book has gripped me like this one , and he really is the most talented player to ever play the game its effortless .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Roger Federer, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roger Federer - the Greatest (Paperback)
Yes, he is the greatest, but I was very disappointed with this book, I found it boring.
I love his tennis, his style is amazing, plus he is the real master, a gentleman of the tennis court.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did not realise on purchase of this problem that Roger Federer had no involvement in this book he simply said that he would not stop anyone writing about his career. The book is very dull I really would have like to have read about Roger from Roger. I stopped reading a third of the way into the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the greatest......book, 24 April 2013
By 
Andrew (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as I am a fan of Federer but I was disapointed as it is poorly written and edited More of an outsiders view with no real insight, most of the information could be found by spending some time at the library. Hopefully someone will be able to do this career justice in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good to hear about Federer's early days particularly. Very enjoyable read for a Federer fan. As an unofficial biography about as close as you could get to finding out more about Federer the man, as opposed to Federer the tennis player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too many figures, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At times the book is enjoyable - but there are too many facts and figures which may be interesting to tennis players, but more of his life would have been a better read for a non statistical reader.
I enjoyed the parts where the author talks about his life - that kept me reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not terribly exciting, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Factual but I found the writing style repetitive. A good book for getting to know all the facts and figures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roger Federer - the Greatest
Roger Federer - the Greatest by Chris Bowers (Paperback - 2 May 2011)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews