Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner!
I read this book over the weekend - I couldn't put it down! I don't normally buy into conspiracy theories, but this book is not hyperbolic and presents a well balanced view of all the theories you've heard about. Shircore lets you make up your own mind but also manages to put his own voice forward. What's also really cool is that he's put in web links so you can look up...
Published on 26 Mar. 2012 by SG

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
Puts two sides of each argument and leaves you to make up your own mind. Must say there were some facts included that I didn't know but still can't decide which to believe in some instances
Published on 24 Dec. 2012 by tinkerslots


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Conspiracy books....., 29 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is intelligent writing on subjects that are often treated with great presumption. Really well researched. Very well argued. Some of the conspiracies are less well known which is very welcome indeed...plus of course all the ones you expect to see in a book like this. Thoroughly enjoyed it...highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thought he was joking!, 29 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
I have no truck with conspiracy theorists so when a friend recommended this book I thought he was joking. But he knew me and my love of cricket, "Just read the chapter on Bob Woolmer" he said.

Ian Shircore gives a balanced account of the events but he obviously agrees with me that Bob Woolmer was murdered. Shircore is clearly one of the good guys and far from being a conspiracy nutter. I am hooked.

It's a thoroughly interesting read and I recommend it for your travel bag. It won't get you looking under your bed but you will trust "the powers that be" even less.

Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a good read!, 11 April 2014
By 
Mr. M. Evans "mattyboy2" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
I got this book as Christmas present and it is hands down the best gift of the lot! It's really well written and incredibly easy to read, but also obviously well researched with sources provided for all the information, which in a book about conspiracy theories is wonderful to see. The wide range of content covered is tackled in a humourous yet respectful way, and at no point did I feel any of the cases were presented with any sort of bias, both sides of the story are discussed in fair and balanced manner. Another great thing about this book is the cases are divided up into short, bite-sized chunks, making it perfect to read when you only have 10 minutes to kill or are on a short train journey or something. I would recommend this book to absolutely everyone, whether they enjoy conspiracy theories or not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doubt Not, Good Book, Believe, 17 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. It flows, so it kept me engrossed, and throughout gives a balanced and reasonable view of the evidence available. The writer's perceptive comments show how well he has researched his subject seeing right to the heart of these situations (as best one can). Occasional `off-hand' comments reveal a sense of humour that carries the book forward. How refreshing to read a book on Conspiracies that is well balanced and doesn't pander to bonkers-extremists no matter which political wing (or perhaps pair of wings) they attach themselves to. I learned a lot without ever feeling that I had been conned into joining the Loony Brigade.

Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's hear it for the whistleblowers and leakers., 29 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
This book is a really great read. I had intended to dip in and out but, once started, was hooked. Yes.. 'more information must be good' but I was relieved to discover Ian Shircore took an open-minded, balanced approach to the new material in this extremely readable and highly fascinating book. Personally delighted to read another take on Jim Morrison's death. I loved it and have bought several copies to give to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing!, 19 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just finished 'Conspiracy! 49 reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe' on my Kindle. I found it to be well constructed and well written with, in the main, just the right amount of detail. It is a wide ranging book with many subjects of conspiracy of which I knew nothing before and I now want to find out even more about some of them.

Chapter after chapter is probably not the best way to approach it as,in my case at least,facts and suppositions from one conspiracy tended to merge with another; this is obviously not a fault of the book itself. I would think it would have been better to read it in short bursts, one conspiracy at a time. I liked the links to original and other background information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 2 May 2012
By 
GSM (Lymington, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
Ian Shircore has covered a vast amount of ground in his different chapters - all very interesting. An excellent read in its own right but spot on for a holiday journey where one may only want to read a few pages at a time. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindbites, 1 May 2012
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
A brilliant book. Beautifully written, in attention-span-sized chunks, to give you more information and insight than you realise, with no effort (a real skill). Enough info to be insightful, sufficient balance so you can make up your own mind and covers a broad spectrum of 'things you didn't know you ought to know'. I 'trust' this writer, who has no axe to grind but just seems an intelligent, humorous and clever bloke you'd have a good conversation with without getting too heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read, 29 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
Well,I can but echo many of the other reviews. A book that you can not put down,and written in handy chapters covering the various topics that enables you to select your own topic to read about. The chapter is complete in itself which makes it an ideal reference book and not a cheapie paperback to leave on the train !
Well done Mr Shircore..heck of a lot of work, impeccably referenced and researched..and well written.
A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary stuff but a great read, 30 Mar. 2012
By 
John Dawson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
I loved this book. A bit like reading Popbitch every day but with better writing!

It certainly a cracking read and there's some very scary stuff in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe.
Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. by Ian Shircore (Paperback - 5 Mar. 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews