Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner!
I read this book over the weekend - I couldn't put it down! I don't normally buy into conspiracy theories, but this book is not hyperbolic and presents a well balanced view of all the theories you've heard about. Shircore lets you make up your own mind but also manages to put his own voice forward. What's also really cool is that he's put in web links so you can look up...
Published on 26 Mar 2012 by SG

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
Puts two sides of each argument and leaves you to make up your own mind. Must say there were some facts included that I didn't know but still can't decide which to believe in some instances
Published 24 months ago by tinkerslots


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner!, 26 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
I read this book over the weekend - I couldn't put it down! I don't normally buy into conspiracy theories, but this book is not hyperbolic and presents a well balanced view of all the theories you've heard about. Shircore lets you make up your own mind but also manages to put his own voice forward. What's also really cool is that he's put in web links so you can look up certain bits and pieces yourself. It's an intelligent read but does not take itself too seriously. Definitely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye opener, 29 Mar 2012
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
I approached this with care since I am suspicious of most conspiracy theories, but I must say this book is a cracker. Well written and thoughtful it lays out the available information in clear and concise way and in so doing manages to be a compulsive page turner. I was always concerned about the events surrounding Kelly's death and now know I was right.Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe.
Clerkenwell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unspeakable acts revealed, 29 Mar 2012
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
Although inexplicably listed under Humour, this is a serious book. The style is light and engaging, as befits a hardened journalist now, to judge by the author's photograph, on to his second or even third green eyeshade, but the content is often a matter of life and death. Shircore's conclusions are sometimes surprising. David Kelly and Bob Woolmer were murdered, Woolmer undoubtedly. Diana, Princess of Wales, wasn't - and I stupidly thought that the Daily Express had nailed that one. There were two Yorkshire Rippers: fortunately the terms of reference don't allow him to review the candidates for the original Ripper.

Unlike some writers who speculate on these matters, Shircore has done his homework, and these days that means investigating the untold resources of the internet and in particular all the stuff coming out of Wikileaks. The truth is out there, sometimes; you just have to wade through a lot of garbage to find it. Fortunately he has done this for us.

Ultimately the great value of this book is the uncovering of some unspeakable things that our government and others have been prepared to do to us, and indeed have done, to further their nasty aims. I won't describe these; you'll have to read the book to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Bill Bryson on Conspiracies, 21 Feb 2012
By 
Mark Griffin (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
This isn't the book I was expecting - more like Bill Bryson on conspiracies and cover-ups than the usual shrill, paranoid fantasies.The writing's sharp, funny and enjoyable and there seems to be some new or unexpected angle on every story.

It's the perfect book for the tube into my work as I get through a new chapter each way.

Being serious about Dr David Kelly, 7/7 and the death of Princess Diana doesn't stop it having fun with Illuminati rappers, shape-shifting lizards and the Duke of Edinburgh. It's got a bit in there for everyone, go and grab a copy - it's perfect for the loo as well as the commute!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All those dirty little secrets, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
I love this book. I'm no conspiracy theorist, but the 50 stories here are really eye-opening. I had no idea there was any reason to think (see Wikileaks) that there was a fifth 9/11 hijack team - and that they were on a BA plane heading into London's Heathrow Airport. I'd heard people talk about the Second Yorkshire Ripper, but I didn't know the police had covered up the evidence for that, or even that Hitler had tried to blame Poland for starting WWII. Ian Shircore has a knack for picking out the one detail that will stop you in your tracks - Alexander Litvinenko's non-radioactive bus ticket from Muswell Hill, David Kelly's knife with no trace of fingerprints, or the comparison of the last two emails sent from Bob Woolmer's laptop. He sheds new light on old stories, from Marilyn Monroe's grisly death to the sudden passing of Pope John Paul I, and draws our attention in unexpected directions, to Google's links with the CIA and Lech Walesa's surprise confession that he spied for the Polish Communist regime. This is modern history rewritten and disguised as gossip - light, readable, but deep down very serious indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conspiracy theories, 29 Mar 2012
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
Loved this book. Compeilling read with interesting conspiracy theories. Gave good food for thought. Would recommend to others who are interested in such theories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from an author, 12 Mar 2012
By 
LMDANIEL "bookworm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
This is a great book, very engaging and well balanced as it does not declare for or against any of the theories but presents the pros and cons and let's the reader makeup their own mind. The ultimate conspiracy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spiffing Read!, 27 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
This book is a terrfic read. Many of the conspiracies are familiar, but Shircore usually succeeds in shining a bright light on new aspects. Some of the subjects are genuinely unfamiliar and fascinating insights are provided. A particularly valuable feature are the web references which allow you to visit a lot of the source material for yourself. This is a well written book and you don't need to be a conspiracy theorist to enjoy it. It will ensure that your train or plane journey will go by in a flash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and enlightening read!, 27 Feb 2012
This review is from: Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. (Paperback)
And I thought we were the good guys! After reading this fascinating and enlightening compilation of conspiracies, old and recent, I realise that I have had a sugar coated view of the `authorities' in the Western world. Of course the Eastern bloc were always covering up their dirty deeds, but surely NOT US! It's all there in the details, painstakingly researched and brought together by Ian Shircore to answer the questions that were on lots of tongues after many an `accidental' death. A good and easy, if slightly disturbing, read, and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Conspiracy books....., 29 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is intelligent writing on subjects that are often treated with great presumption. Really well researched. Very well argued. Some of the conspiracies are less well known which is very welcome indeed...plus of course all the ones you expect to see in a book like this. Thoroughly enjoyed it...highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe.
Conspiracy! 49 Reasons to Doubt, 50 Reasons to Believe. by Ian Shircore (Paperback - 5 Mar 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews