Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, what a character!
A brilliant read, I bought it as a Hibs supporter, one of the (many!) teams Budgie played for. The man is one sandwich short of a picnic but the stories in it are great. He is one of the big characters of football, when I was growing up I remember him sitting on his crossbar during games at Palace and playing in goal wearing his superman outfit at Wolves. Eccentric...
Published on 26 April 2011 by Stephenrooney

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Never let the facts get in the way of a good story
Okay book, a little bit like Harry Rednapp, he never seems to let the facts get in the way of a good story. Dates and times seem to merge and as pointed out in earlier reviews, incidents could not have taken place as players were not at the clubs. He did some things in his career that I would consider disgusting and then expects sympathy from the reader when it comes...
Published 18 months ago by Ben Clark


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, what a character!, 26 April 2011
This review is from: Budgie (Hardcover)
A brilliant read, I bought it as a Hibs supporter, one of the (many!) teams Budgie played for. The man is one sandwich short of a picnic but the stories in it are great. He is one of the big characters of football, when I was growing up I remember him sitting on his crossbar during games at Palace and playing in goal wearing his superman outfit at Wolves. Eccentric doesn't come close, I have to say I suspect he wouldn't last 5 minutes in the modern game but its a shame, he understood that fans paid to be entertained. I like sports biographies but often you find they struggle for material, this one is overflowing with great stories. 5 star. Budgie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Never let the facts get in the way of a good story, 22 Nov. 2013
By 
Ben Clark (Sevenoaks, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay book, a little bit like Harry Rednapp, he never seems to let the facts get in the way of a good story. Dates and times seem to merge and as pointed out in earlier reviews, incidents could not have taken place as players were not at the clubs. He did some things in his career that I would consider disgusting and then expects sympathy from the reader when it comes back to haunt him later in his career. It seems to gloss over a lot of things and periods of time such as 5 years seem to go by in about 2 pages. The editing is average two as on the first pages it said he was born in 1961 and then the following one talking about ending his career in at 47, which would have been 2008. Overall, it was entertaining enough but because of the amount of mistakes it is almost a work of fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and well written, 20 Oct. 2012
By 
L. Nolan (Gr.Manchester, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this book very much. Well written, informative and John Burridge's story was told very well. I would recommend this book to any football fan, particularly anyone who has seen him play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read about a great character, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Budgie (Hardcover)
I grew up watching mid to late 90's Premiership Football in New Zealand so obviously I had no clue who Budgie was. I was surprised that I had never heard of him because I've read numerous football biographies of 'cult footballers'. After reading a few reviews I invested a hard-earned 1 pound and 52 p for a second copy of this book (postage here was about 10 times the amount that the book cost). To cut a long story short, the book has some great yarns and reminds me of the good old days when footballers were down to earth characters that you could relate to. The book doesn't seem to have gone to paperback yet which is a shame because it deserves more exposure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Crosses the footballing generations, 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly enjoyable book from a pro who played at the highest levels for 20 years and in some ways represents a history of the game leading into the modern premiership era.

One thing that stands out is that Budgie somewhat wasted his peak years in struggling teams like Wolves & Palace, in dispute at QPR or outside the top flight. His best years were at a time when England had a host of high quality keepers and it is a shame he didn't get a regular place at a top club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Keeper Mr dedication, 12 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a Newcastle fan and remember Budgie getting up to all sorts at the Toon. He was loved and obviously loved his time with us. Its clear he is obsessed with the game and in particular being a Goalie, plenty ups and downs in a long long career. A really good read and the Character comes off the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book on 80's 90's era, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Budgie has a unique way in life and this comes across in the book. Fans of clubs he played for will remember his antics fondly. The strength of the book is his candid views on the clubs he played for and to remember the players he played with and the managers of his clubs. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars He's a plonker, 4 Feb. 2014
By 
P. Hargreaves (Crewe, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The bit where he describes pouring a bucket of water on a bride and groom was the point I stopped reading this book. He is a complete imbecile. Simple as that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars crazy, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great read ,what a nutter in the nicest way,got to read it keeps you amused with what he gets up to next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Budgie is a legend!, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read, I forgot what a lunatic he was! But also a keeper ahead of his time. Highly Recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Budgie
Budgie by John Burridge (Hardcover - 4 April 2011)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews