Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short on boredom, Longy on entertainment
Excellent read that will make all sports fans laugh - the rugby in almost incidental as Longy takes us through a life that most blokes could only dream of living. Hugely entertaining, you will not be disappointed!
Published on 7 Oct 2009 by Mark Richard Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars As expected...
Some entertaining stories and anecdotes from one of the rugby leagues controversial characters. Plenty of laugh out loud moments and Sean's perspective on the very public incidents that defined his career. Whilst not expecting a literary masterpiece, a did find the structure of the book distracting, with no chronological sequence to the chapters flitting backwards and...
Published 13 months ago by Richard Bacon


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short on boredom, Longy on entertainment, 7 Oct 2009
By 
Mark Richard Harris "markharris23" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent read that will make all sports fans laugh - the rugby in almost incidental as Longy takes us through a life that most blokes could only dream of living. Hugely entertaining, you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Funny, Emotional, 24 Nov 2010
This review is from: Longy: Booze, Brawls, Sex and Scandal - The Autobiography of the Wild Man of Rugby League (Paperback)
This has to be one of the best biographies I have read in years.

As a LRLFC (Rhinos) Fan I have enjoyed booing Sean Long whilst hes either tore us apart or we have managed to control him. I have enjoyed my Friday nights watching him do the magic on the pitch, its a love hate relationship that most rival fans have with him.

The book is funny,gripping and quite shocking, I would love to read the bits the lawers took out! Overall and most important, the book is very very honest, even if it does make the lad embarrassed.

The story does jump around a little, however its very well written and you can follow it with ease. He tells us about his difficult childhood, his time at school, discovering RL and then his career especially as with most RL players, his drinking career.

I would recommend this to any Rugby fan, League or Union. It was a great laugh and had me hooked, I read it in 1 day, it was such a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth reading, 15 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Certainly worth reading especially for Sean Long fans. Don't think you're getting vivid lusty stories 'cos they're not.Gives a good insight to behind the scenes of Rugby life and not any really derogatory remarks. Guess Sean's quite a nice kind of chap on and off the field.He's certainly settled down to married life. Yes glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny, 22 Nov 2010
the life n times of longy...funny stories and an insight to how the players are.Couldn,t put the book down, fab reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sean Long Autobiography, 8 Jan 2010
By 
I bought this as a Christmas present for my Husband & he absolutley loves it, I keep hearing him laughing to himself. Super quick delivery too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the easily offended, 4 Dec 2009
By 
A very entertaining book, you don't have to be a Saints, Wigan or Hull fan to enjoy it. Couldn't put it down. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars longy wildman of rugby league., 16 Oct 2009
great book some really funny stories it was that good I had read it in a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOT A FACE LIKED A DROPPED PIE !!!, 7 Oct 2009
By 
BOOZE,BRAWLS,SEX AND SCANDAL- THE TITLE SAYS IT ALL !!!

THIS IS A NO HOLDS BARRED AUTOBIOGRAPHY. SOME OF THE REVELATIONS ARE SHOCKING AND WILL NO DOUBT CAUSE A STIR AT RED HALL, WIGAN AND ST HELENS. I FOUND THE BOOK TO BE AT TIMES LAUGH OUT LOUD FUNNY. AT OTHER TIMES IT HAD ME SQUIRMING IN MY SEAT EMBARRASSED FOR ALL AND SUNDRY WHO HE HAS WRITTEN ABOUT. I CAN JUST IMAGINE LONGY RECALLING HIS WILD DAYS.I HOPE HIS FAMILY AND MATES ARE STILL TALKING TO HIM! I AM NOT A FAN OF ST HELENS OR INDEED SEAN LONG BUT I AM A RUGBY LEAGUE FAN AND FEEL THAT THIS BOOK IS A MUST FOR NOT ONLY THE OVAL BALL FOLLOWERS BUT SPORT FANS IN GENERAL. IT IS WRITTEN WITH HONESTY AND HUMOUR, HE DOES NOT BORE THE READER WITH LOADS OF STATS, FACTS AND FIGURES BUT AS THEY SAY IT DOES EXACTLY AS IT SAYS ON THE TIN !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 7 Feb 2013
This review is from: Longy: Booze, Brawls, Sex and Scandal - The Autobiography of the Wild Man of Rugby League (Paperback)
To those who didn't like this book get a grip. I'm a Wigan fan and could have much to dislike but this book was really entertaining. I didn't want to put it down. Yes Seans played hard but no one can doubt he worked hard so for those who rated 3 and below pick up that smile you lost from your life and start wearing it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Laugh, 22 May 2010
By 
A great read even if a little controversial, Mr Long comes across as a bit of a loose cannon but nevertheless the book conveys the normalities of the great people who play rugby league.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews