Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unauthorised but great
As a massive DT fan I loved this book - there is lots of stuff that you don't get in the other biographies as its mostly "unauthorised". A good read
Published 18 months ago by Mrs D Bridger

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Having read the biographies of William Hartnell, Jon Pertwee, Tom Baker, Billy Conolly, Tommy Cooper and others I was expecting a fascinating look at the Life of David Tennant thus far.
The book jumps about in Davids life timeline quite a bit, distracting from the topic at hand, and frequently goes off on tangents about topics barely related to Davids life, except by...
Published on 3 Jan 2011 by Mike C


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: David Tennant: A Life in Time and Space (Paperback)
Having read the biographies of William Hartnell, Jon Pertwee, Tom Baker, Billy Conolly, Tommy Cooper and others I was expecting a fascinating look at the Life of David Tennant thus far.
The book jumps about in Davids life timeline quite a bit, distracting from the topic at hand, and frequently goes off on tangents about topics barely related to Davids life, except by the most thinnest of attachments. For example Davids appearance in Harry Potter is the tiniest of roles in his career (in terms of screen time, only a couple of minutes in a two hour movie!)and yet we are treated to a four page precis of the entire movie storyline and bits and bobs of chat from other cast members etc. Much of the first chapter is the short version of the life and career of Kylie Minogue and many of the points noted in this chapter regarding Voyage of the Dammed get repeated or re-visited later in the book. Much of Davids life including his childhood and schooldays and early career are skipped over with such breifness and lack of depth, that I wondered if there was any point in calling the book a biography! A large chunk is of course focussed on Doctor Who and even here the author makes mistakes with some well known facts of Who history, a lenghty section about regeneration, states that the first time the process was seen was Jon Pertwee turning into Tom Baker! Wrong! It states Peter Davison was the Doctor for 2 years and Jon Pertwee for 5. Wrong! Also the page count is also misleading as the back quater of the book is a wholly unnessesary glossary of terms and a list of Doctor Who episodes. Altogether a poor story of what should have been such a good one to read. Not worth buying to be honest, until a better one is written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lazy and disappointing, 7 Feb 2012
By 
C. Wilson "Christine" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Tennant: A Life in Time and Space (Paperback)
I agree with what the previous reviewer says totally and I am also giving this two stars because although it is lazy writing and contains nothing much we didn't already know - I just feel one star is too mean. It's worth two stars for the photos alone.

If you are a David Tennant fan you are hopefully a reasonably intelligent person as Tennant seems to attract a more thinking type of fan for the roles he takes and this book is really made up of a mish mash of press cuttings and contains very little that isn't very superficial about David Tennant. I would guess that he is a private man and probably didn't want any more involvement than he gave - if he gave anything at all to the author by way of interview.

It is also very confusing - it refers to his flat sharing days where he was described as being very chaotic and untidy by Arabella Weir yet a later flatmate said his home was extremely tidy. Lots of little things like this that jarred.It relies on gossip and often goes off on a tangent including a whole chapter on the daleks which I skipped past in disgust having no real interest in them and wondering what they had to do with David Tennant - apart from a tenuous link.

This is OK for a long plane journey or when you are feeling unwell as it is a super easy book to read but if you really want to know more about David Tennant google him online and you will find everything there that is in this very light book. It can't have taken more than a few weeks to write. Lazy and disappointing.

* after an overnight think and because I hadn't quite finished reading this book I have decided to downgrade to a one star because it is just full of off-topic tittle tattle - like a long chunk about Sophia Myles and a short bit about Georgia Moffat saying she and David Tennant have 'nothing in common' - well, they have a baby and are married now so clearly this just shows the rubbish that is in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a bit disappointed, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Tennant: A Life in Time and Space (Paperback)
First of all, sorry for my english.
As a foreigner admirer of David Tennant works, it was quite naturally for me to buy a biography of him in order to learn more about him and his backgrounds. I already got some very interesting bios of John Lennon, Charlie Chaplin (btw, his own autobiograph) and Dustin Hoffman.
I was quite disappointed this time. Some chapters seems actually minibiographs of other people (pages on Kylie Minogue for exemple), making everything a little too messy, plus sometimes you seem to read a DM gossip article ( quite funny the part where they suggest the relationship betweeen David and Georgia Moffett will not go anywhere 'cause have nothing in common...)at least the writer frankly admits at the beginning that he never meets or interviews David,note of appreciation for the sincerity. Beautiful pictures inside (too many with former love Sophia Miles, think the writer who also spends lots of pages on her is in love with the girl)..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unauthorised but great, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Tennant: A Life in Time and Space (Paperback)
As a massive DT fan I loved this book - there is lots of stuff that you don't get in the other biographies as its mostly "unauthorised". A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pressie, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Tennant: A Life in Time and Space (Paperback)
This was a pressie for a complete Tennant nut,so I suppose it must be ok,cos'she hasn't got it but told me it's a really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Tennant: A Life in Time and Space
David Tennant: A Life in Time and Space by Nigel Goodall (Paperback - 6 Sep 2010)
Used & New from: 26.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews