Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curry Aficiandos Need Look No Further For Great Food
This book is will be hated or adored because of its content structure. This is not the book to buy if you want to make and serve a curry within an hour of buying the book. The book, and any curries that are cooked from its recipies, benefit from an unhurried approach to making the first curry after purchase. A planning session is needed after a skim through the book to...
Published on 31 Oct. 2004 by V. Levy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Only useful as a spice encyclopedia, not as a cookbook
I've had this book for a few years now and tried some of the recipes.

Pat Chapman is extremely knowledgeable about spices. As an encyclopaedia this book is great, containing a lot of really useful information and inspiration, but as a cookbook it isn't very good. The spice mixes (masalas) are way too elaborate. You don't need 15 or 20 different spices to...
Published on 9 April 2013 by Stratt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good...just a quick warning though, 7 Feb. 2007
By 
This review is from: The New Curry Bible (Hardcover)
Although this book is very good, if you have the 'older' version, then don't buy this....they are both EXACTLY the same. My girlfriend bought me this thinking it was a different book, it's not. I'm gutted.

Anyway, the recipes are very good. No 'curry in a hurry' here which suits me fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Curry Book., 17 Jan. 2011
Well what can I say about this book? Well, it has seen me through tough tight money times and better ones and fed me well. It has inspired me as I continued to cook in my own way and always acted as a foundation and guide, whether the recipes and methods are committed to memory or not. It is also the ultimate coffee table book of usefulness, in a time in which the coffee table itself has no use. Pat Chapman has delivered in this book every single thing the UK consumer needs to know about their favourite curries. Every little thing the curry fan wanting to cook at home wants to know and none of those regional recipes that are of interest only.
There surely can never be a more full book about curry in it`s vocabulary and it`s brilliant colour photographs. An absolute must, even on your private desert island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the only Indian cook book you will ever need, 17 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Curry Bible (Hardcover)
If you want to make the curries you get at your local Indian Restaurant then this is the book for you. It's a comprehensive guide to all that is great about Asian cuisine in the UK. Recipes are easy to follow although you need to spend some time making up the various powders (masalas) and pastes set out at the beginning as they form the basis I of most of the recipes. There's lots of helpful information about all the spices you may use and the techniques are easy to follow.

If you're looking for more authentic Asian recipes the you will need to supplement your library with Nick Stein's India. If you've got both then send all your other curry books to the local charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My third purchase of this book, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Curry Bible (Hardcover)
I was introduced to this book about 4 years ago. I have since purchased 3 copies for friends as gifts. Invest a good day to prepare all the base material, invite your friends over, turn the music on and get cooking for an excellent fun social gathering in the kitchen. This excellent book is the perfect social centre piece in a kitchen of wine and music and good times with friends and family. Anyone into cooking and curry should have this book in their collection. The recipes are incredibly tasty and rewarding. You will never order a takeaway curry again; I haven't in four years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takeaway curries made @ home, 7 Mar. 2004
This review is from: The New Curry Bible (Hardcover)
This is really a lovely book clearly set out, stunning pictures, although in saying this you do have some page hopping for various gravies etc. Which can be a bit annoying when you are trying to assemble your shopping list! Also some of the ingredients may be hard to find.
But the information on herbs and spices is very good and its great to fun making takeaway style curries at home all the old favorites are here and its far more satisfying to make it yourself.
However I still have not managed to find a recipe for Prawn Puree that tastes like the takaway version. The hunt goes on.....
Definatly a book worth having :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for curry in a hurry!, 15 Feb. 2008
By 
A lovely book. However, not for those who want curry in a hurry. The best book so far by Pat Chapman is his restaurant curry book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HAPPY HUBBY, 9 July 2009
This review is from: The New Curry Bible (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husband who is a curry fanatic. He loves the book but does recommend that, where possible, use fresh ginger and garlic as opposed to dried. Other than that, the recipes are easy to follow and results just as he wanted them. He would certainly recommend purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cook book, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Curry Bible (Hardcover)
Good recipes. recommended by a friend.
fast delivery
Don't need any other indian curry cookbook.
No shortcuts - all masala spices need to be made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful "Cook Book", 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Curry Bible (Hardcover)
This is the second Curry Bible we have bought. Our friends were so impressed, we bought them one for his birthday. Of course, we are also very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Curry cooking, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Curry Bible (Hardcover)
Great cookery book for the curry lover. Fabulous pictures to help the process. A good starter book for the novice curry cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The New Curry Bible
The New Curry Bible by Pat Chapman (Hardcover - 31 Mar. 2004)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews