Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curry Aficiandos Need Look No Further For Great Food
This book is will be hated or adored because of its content structure. This is not the book to buy if you want to make and serve a curry within an hour of buying the book. The book, and any curries that are cooked from its recipies, benefit from an unhurried approach to making the first curry after purchase. A planning session is needed after a skim through the book to...
Published on 31 Oct 2004 by V. Levy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for curry in a hurry!
A lovely book. However, not for those who want curry in a hurry. The best book so far by Pat Chapman is his restaurant curry book.
Published on 15 Feb 2008 by Ms. S. Mclaren


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curry Aficiandos Need Look No Further For Great Food, 31 Oct 2004
By 
V. Levy "Vernon Levy" (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Curry Bible (Hardcover)
This book is will be hated or adored because of its content structure. This is not the book to buy if you want to make and serve a curry within an hour of buying the book. The book, and any curries that are cooked from its recipies, benefit from an unhurried approach to making the first curry after purchase. A planning session is needed after a skim through the book to get an insight into how the curries are sometimes dependant on sauces and spice blends that are described elsewhere in the book.
I have 'a feel' for cook books and knew, tempered by previous ownership of one of Pat Chapmand's other Curry Club books, that this book would deliver high quality meals from its recipes. I have yet to be disappointed by the results. Yes, one does need an extensive collection of spices if one wants to cook every dish in the book but it's still possible to make many of the recipes using just a handful of different spices and/or herbs.
Some folk will resent having to flick backwards and forwards to gather the components of a meal together but this resentment can be overcome by deciding to set aside some time to plan the sequence of the cooking of the dishes.
I've been using Pat Chapmand recipes for nigh on 20 years and can recommend their ability to deliver high quality, full flavoured curries without reservation. Your future guests will thank you for the purchase of this book unless, of course, you pass off the dishes as being your own creations :-)
A secondary purpose of the book is education. Many of the dishes, herbs and spices have detailed descriptions of their histories and usa in curries. The histories of the use of the herbs and spices make fascinating reading. Buy the book, learn about, and cook great meals. You'll not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars curry heaven, 30 Aug 2006
By 
Alan (Staffs UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Curry Bible (Hardcover)
Having made curries for several years now i can honestly say this is the best book by a long way, i have 1 of Pat's other cook books that i thought was good but this is way better. Yes there is a lot of preparation to start with, but thats the same whichever book you look at and some spices may be hard to find but any good local asian grocer will stock them, ive used the book 3 times to do sheek kebab, chicken tikka, prawn pathia and a dhansak and all turned out lovely. I buy most of my spices whole and then roast and grind them myself - last longer and smell lovely, and yes it can be a pain having to roast and grind them but you get out of these recipies what you put in. In short if you want a quick meal have a stir fry, if you want a nice curry then be prepared to put a couple of hours aside and then enjoy the results of your labour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 13 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Curry Bible (Hardcover)
I'm just amazed someone gave this book a paltry one star! I've had the book for a few weeks now and I'm delighted with the results. But i'll be honest with you, I've only made one curry from the book. I keep going back to it because it's so GOOD! (It's a madras by the way).
As another reviewer here describes, there is quite a lot of preparation involved. If you're looking for an meal prepared in in 30 minutes, don't go for this book, or indian food in general. Go and stir-fry something!
You must spend quite a bit of money on spices. You mix various combinations of these spices into a masala. From the masala you can make a number of masala gravys which act as "base" sauces for your curries. Then you just add various ingredients depending on your curry recipe. I normally make a huge batch of curry masala gravy and freeze it in 1lb. tubs. Very handy.
I did a lot of research on curry books before plumping for this one. I'm very happy with it and looking forward to creating more dishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but maybe not for beginners, 4 July 2005
By 
This review is from: The New Curry Bible (Hardcover)
I'm somewhat surprised that one of the previous reviewers gave this book a 1 star rating. I have just finished cooking my first recipe and thought it was absolutely sensational. My girlfriend of 3 years said it was one of the best dinners I have ever made.
The book is beautifully packaged and has some wonderful stories and explanations, as well as recipes. There is one caveat; this book isn't for absolute beginners. And it definitely isn't for people that want a quick fix. Before you can cook your first recipe, you are going to need to do some planning. There are three basic mixtures, which you need to prepare:
1. Garam Masala
2. Curry Masala
3. Tandoori Masala
To prepare these you will need approximately 20 different spices. Some of these like bay leaves, black pepper and cloves you probably will already have. The rest you are going to have to hunt down, these include mango powder, asafoetida powder and annatto seeds. Depending on where you live some of these might be quite hard to get hold of. I went out for the afternoon and after scouring a specialist shop and an Indian shop I managed to get hold of 19 out 20 of these. I couldn't get beetroot powder, but I juiced some beetroot and boiled this down and used it as a substitute.
Once you have acquired all of this, it will take you an hour or two to weigh them out and mix them together. Now you have your basic pastes. And this is when the magic starts. Armed with this, nearly all of the recipes can be prepared in less than 30 minutes, some of them closer to 20 minutes. And if my first recipe is anything to go by, they are delicious. And having all of these spices handy, means that you have everything ready for any of the other recipes.
So inclusion this book isn't for absolute beginners and it takes some initial investment in time and resources. But the recipes are clear and are easy to follow step by step; it is not rocket science. And once you make this initial investment it seems so worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for 'quick-fix' curry paste fans - good!, 2 Dec 2006
By 
J. Wilkinson "juleshudd" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In our house we both love cooking all kinds of Asian food. Pat's books have been a favourite of ours for many years and yet we have learned new tips and blends of ingredients from this new book.

So many cookery books are published to sit elegantly on some coffee-table, destined never to become dog-eared from frequent thumbing, especially in the UK where we seem to have an obsession with reading about cookery but never doing it ourselves!

Assembling the ingredients is NOT a chore if, as with the spices, you ensure they're always in stock. What are spice drawers for if not for spices? Car keys/elastic bands/spare nails? This book will certainly encourage everyone to have a kitchen that has great smells wafting round the room every time you open different drawers (better and healthier than any artifical air freshener!).

Make time to (re-)discover the joy of making your dinners from scratch - this book positively demands it. The results are rewarding, believe me.

Go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book., 12 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. Lee R. Bale (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent book - for anyone who wants to create an authentic Indian takeaway curry at home. It has all the curries I can think of and tells you how to build the base sauce for all restaurant curries and even gives different versions of most (for example a traditional recipe as opposed to the restaurant variety).

I really like this book! My only gripe, is that it gives an extremely heavily spiced base sauce and I found the base sauce or 'curry gravy' too crowded with spicy flavours. I made the Jalfrezi from this book and used the 'curry gravy' recipe from Kris Dhillon's book the curry secret - the result was phenomenal.

My advice: if you want one book on restaurant curry - buy this one; however if you'd prefer a broader outlook buy alongside Kris Dhillon book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not a Bible, 17 Feb 2012
By 
C. Porter "Roxethboy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Curry Bible (Hardcover)
This book is subtitled 'The Ultimate Modern Curry House Recipe Book' and provided that prospective purchasers realise that the recipes are intended to reproduce British restaurant/take-away type meals then this book is fine. If you want authentic Indian regional cuisine then you are probably better off looking elsewhere.
The information on spices and their uses, the various types of restaurant curries etc. is excellent and the sections on preparing a basic curry masala, garam masala etc. are very useful, although there are are other books on these subjects. My own experience with the recipes is that they are good but not necessarily outstanding.
So, in summary I would say this book is probably useful more for it's background information rather than it's recipes, but then I do have I have a dozen other Indian recipe books on my shelves so this assessment may not not be fair. If you love Indian food do not be put off from buying this book; it will give you a good introduction, but the word Bible is probably an over-statement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coffee Grinder Required!, 23 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. A. J. Smith (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Curry Bible (Hardcover)
Superb book giving authentic results. Do not be put off by the preparation work required. Make the massala, gravy, ghee and stock in bulk and then the recipes are very simple. Try not to buy your spices from very expensive mainstream supermarkets, the little boxes will disappear in seconds. Find yourself a good local asian supermarket and save a fortune.

Beware - following these recipes will result in friends queuing outside your door on curry night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, I can cook a curry!, 16 April 2009
In the past I'd tried curry recipes from a handful of other books but never managed to get a result I was happy with. So far, I haven't had a dud using Pat Chapman's recipes (even though I have sometimes cheated and used commercial Masala mixes instead of making the Masala as he recommends). The only downsides are that you need an extensive collection of spices and a fair amount of time.

I have also really appreciated the different variations he gives for each type of curry, and his explanations of how curry is made in restaurants. This has given me a better understanding of the techniques and given me the confidence to start experimenting a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for curry in a hurry!, 15 Feb 2008
By 
A lovely book. However, not for those who want curry in a hurry. The best book so far by Pat Chapman is his restaurant curry book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x113b8f0c)

This product

The New Curry Bible
The New Curry Bible by Pat Chapman (Hardcover - 31 Mar 2004)
13.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews