Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fairly Well Balanced and Researched Book: Impressive
This is a well crafted and detailed story of J. Robert Oppenheimer, and in general it is an impressive effort by the authors - being almost 750 pages long. I guess in an era of sales hype I did find the book jacket inside notes a bit annoying in that the people marketing the book claim that this is the first comprehensive biography on Oppenheimer. Technically speaking one...
Published on 23 Jun 2005 by J. E. Robinson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was Oppenheimer a scientist?
This book is interesting, even essential, reading for anyone interested in Robert Oppenheimer, but deeply flawed because it more-or-less ignores his development as a scientist and emphasises his rise and fall as a political figure. Some authors have suggested that Oppenheimer's early work in quantum physics, particularly on stellar physics, was good enough to have...
Published on 15 Feb 2011 by DiveDoc


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fairly Well Balanced and Researched Book: Impressive, 23 Jun 2005
By 
This is a well crafted and detailed story of J. Robert Oppenheimer, and in general it is an impressive effort by the authors - being almost 750 pages long. I guess in an era of sales hype I did find the book jacket inside notes a bit annoying in that the people marketing the book claim that this is the first comprehensive biography on Oppenheimer. Technically speaking one can debate that fine point, and perhaps it is true in narrow terms, but a quick GOOGLE search will show that there are many books and articles on Oppenheimer going back at least 40 years. Plus there have been books and articles on the Oppenheimer-Lawrence relationship. I had already read at least two books including the 1968 book Lawrence and Oppenheimer by Nuel Pharr Davis, and I read it decades ago, plus there are many others, so long ago that I now forget which book I read and which I did not, but I did read the Davis book and it had a lot of similar information.
Now for the present book, it is definitely a well researched and it is a comprehensive book that covers the mostly complete story from his birth to the end and his throat cancer. There are many excellent photographs, lots of notes, and much documentation. It is well written and well crafted as a book and presents the human side of the man along with all the political pressures.
In an era of The Patriot Act, I thought that the book had a number of very important points and lessons for humanity, and also the price of dissent in our free society. Here we follow the story of Oppenheimer and how his worked and sweated under a lot of pressure to make the first few weapons, but having made them he realized the implications and their danger. He was strongly against the next step - that of making the hydrogen bomb and thought the plutonium nukes were themselves dangerous enough. As we already knew in general, but perhaps not in the detail presented here in this new book, that his opposition to mega-bomb cost him his security clearance and tarnished his reputation. Oppenheimer - according to the present book - thought the hydrogen bomb would never be used since it would cause too much devastation and was a waste of money. But it was too big a concept for the military to ignore and it went forward. In retrospect he has been correct, in fact since Japan in 1945, almost 60 years ago, no nuclear weapon of any type has been used.
Some of the facts reviewed in the book seem to back up Oppenheimer's concern that things might get out of control. We learn that the US produced 70,000 nuclear weapons, almost one bomb for every 2000 people in the USSR, and the total cost was 5.5 trillion dollars. It is no wonder the USSR went broke as they tried to keep up. Also, that sum is about equal, but slightly less than the total US government debt today, a staggering number. Now, as Oppenheimer had feared the technology is spreading.
This is an excellent book on Oppenheimer, but ignore the hype, it is not the only book.
5 stars - great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars weighty but rewarding, 12 Dec 2008
This review is from: American Prometheus: The Triumph and Tragedy of J. Robert Oppenheimer (Hardcover)
This is a hefty tome that grips in a way that few biographies do. A book of 3 acts, the first covers Oppenheimers early years and rise through academia as well as events on a personal level that shape his later life. The second act deals with Manhattan, Trinity and Hiroshima but it is arguably the 3rd act concentrating on Oppenheimers fall from political grace that is the most satisfying.
The true genius of this book is that it succeeds in placing the man in the broader political picture of the time and revealing a character that was as much ahead of his own time as he was misunderstood and perhaps naive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was Oppenheimer a scientist?, 15 Feb 2011
By 
This book is interesting, even essential, reading for anyone interested in Robert Oppenheimer, but deeply flawed because it more-or-less ignores his development as a scientist and emphasises his rise and fall as a political figure. Some authors have suggested that Oppenheimer's early work in quantum physics, particularly on stellar physics, was good enough to have justified a Nobel laureate; it is certain that his physics was respected by his peers and that Nobel laureates respected his judgement, a vital contribution to his leadership at Los Alamos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prometheus unbound?, 30 Jan 2012
I have read the other reviews and would just like to say that Oppenheimer is a subject that I have always found fascinating. It would take more than one one volume to assess and explain this very complex character. However, I now have a better understanding of the demons that both drove and plagued him.I must add that the way that the American Establishment comes across is that it was no better than that of nazi Germany and that back stabbing and unfounded gossip were the common points. The book is written in a style that I found rivetting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oppenheimer - a man of his times., 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not yet finished this (fat) book, but it is well written and provides a fascinating insight into one of the most interesting figures of the 20th century. Robert Oppenheimer's story has all the elements that tie him to the troubled history of his times - he was of German Jewish origin and yet his liberal upbringing and education somehow set him apart from his true cultural identity. Anti-semitism flourished in the United States of the time and his family's attempted assimilation, did not spare them from experiencing prejudice. His family was prosperous at a time when many were unemployed and hungry in both Germany & the US where he studied and lived. He was a protagonist in the drama of 20th century physics not simply because of the huge advances in knowledge made in that field, but also because science played an integral part in the moral collapse that occurred in the West. I have not got to the part where he was persecuted during the shameful period of American history - McCarthyism, but I am looking forward to it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dazzling portrait of a celebrity intellectual, doer, and political martyr, 14 April 2011
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
It is rare to read a biography that is so rich in detail, so clear in ideas, and so beautifully written that it can be counted as literature. For the past week, I have been deliciously absorbed in this book, feeling an alternation of awe and disgust. Oppenheimer is a unique figure in American history: starting as an academic, he became a master administrator for one of the most important technological breakthroughs in the history of mankind - harnessing the atom - and then a "wise man" insider in politics, only to be cast down and ruined in the McCarthy era because his views diverged from those of the powerful. It is an amazing journey.

Oppenheimer came from privilege: not only was he gifted with an absolutely first rate mind and great wealth, but he was in the right place at the right time, during a revolution in science and then in technology. He started out as a sheltered prodigy, a polymath in science and in literature, who wound up studying theoretical physics at the moment that quantum mechanics was in its final phase of development. His mentors were the discoverers themselves, and he studied alongside Heisenberg and virtually all of the greats in that field. He then went on to a professorship at Cal Tech and Berkeley, where he built the best department of physics in the US while in his 20s. Without exaggeration, I believe that this period will be regarded as profoundly influential as the Renaissance or Enlightenment.

However, as the authors relate, his ascent was not at all easy. Oppenheimer suffered from some form of mental illness, either a depression or worse. Given his loving childhood background, it is hard to know what really went wrong for him, but he contemplated suicide and even poisoned an apple that he left from one of his adversaries, which almost led to his dismissal from Cambridge. Perhaps what explains part of it was that Oppenheimer was of the types whose ambitions are so monstrously huge (and completely unfathomable) that he needed to operate at the highest pinnacle to feel whole within himself, that there was not much more to him than the kind of narcissism to seek perfection. In addition to his personal charm and intellectual charisma, he had many character flaws, which engendered great resentments and even bitter hatreds throughout his career.

In spite of the admiration of the authors, they are highly critical of Oppenheimer. He was too impatient to develop his ideas systematically - by means of the mathematical proofs required for a Nobel Prize in theoretical physics - so he merely contributed to the discoveries of others. In this way, he was not truly original as a scientist, but a "synthesizer". His attention was also overly divided as he learned languages, apparently including Sanskrit so that he could read the Bhagavagita in the original as he did Dante's Inferno in Italian and Les Fleurs du Mal in French, and during the Depression widened his concerns to politics, getting involved with communism as a possible remedy to the social ills he saw, the Spanish Revolution, and opposition to Nazism.

Because of his scientific breadth, he was chosen to head the Manhattan Project. Though many predicted his abrasive behavior and arrogance would doom his leadership effort, he astounded even his critics by becoming a master administrator, getting the right person for each job, inspiring them, and keeping everything - all the myriad issues that required resolution - in his head and moving forward just at the needed time. It was perhaps here, as an administrator, that his true genius flowered. When the bomb was finally exploded, he was barely 40 years old and, after Einstein, the most famous scientist in the world. Afterwards, he took over the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, NJ, transforming it into a focal point of intellectual endeavor in the US.

In the meantime, his enemies bided their time, compiling information about him via years of FBI surveillance and illegal wiretaps, waiting for the right moment to strike at him. Many of them bore him petty personal grudges, such as Lewis Strauss of the AEC (Atomic Energy Commission). They looked at his past communist associations, some bad judgment calls, and certain self destructive behaviors such as occasional lies as well as his marital infidelities and personality quirks. The case they built occupies an inordinate portion of the book, though it culminated in a Security Committee hearing of the AEC that stripped him of his security clearance, shutting him out of the upper circles of government and the establishment that he had come to love. The hearing was not a "trial" with due process or even constitutional guarantees, brought out nothing new that hadn't been known when he was first given the clearance by the Army in 1943, and he was not convicted of any crime - even his loyalty to the US went unchallenged, but he was instead branded a "security risk" in a kangaroo court. Beyond his personal enemies, his real offense was his opposition to the development of the hydrogen bomb that the politicians wanted. There were lots of "bad guys" here, including even Harry Truman and J. Edgar Hoover, which made the narrative a bit too black and white for my taste, however much I agree with their portrayal.

Oppenheimer emerged from this ordeal a broken man at 50, forever unable to operate at the level to which he was accustomed. The reader really gets a feel for the man, who was full of contradictions. He was a serious drinker though not as alcoholic as his troubled wife, Kitty, and was not a very good father, yet admired by millions for his wisdom and public charm. He had a knack for making powerful enemies in addition to lifelong friends and was arrogant beyond belief - I know the type from graduate school! You feel simultaneous sympathy and revulsion for him, or at least I did. It is an unusually nuanced and balanced portrait.

I do have criticisms of the book. The science is not well explained, so for anyone unfamiliar with it will find it hard going - I would have liked more nutshell explanations, but instead the authors just mention theories (e.g. "quantum electrodynamics") in passing. The management of the Manhattan Project is also glossed over, so the reader will have to go elsewhere for that. There is also far too much in the way of supporting quotes, particularly when it comes to their making a case that Oppenheimer was unfairly treated by the AEC committee but also for trivial details.

This is a great bio that all atom bomb buffs, history students, and those curious about the 20C should read. Recommended with the greatest enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well Researched but Poorly Delivered, 23 Sep 2010
By 
Stephen Andrew Keogh "bowsie" (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Informative and exhaustive account of the life of Oppenheimer. However I found the biographical narrative disorganised and disjointed. The best biographies carry several narrative threads of the subject's life and weave them through the text, whereas Oppenheimer's complex life is delivered haphazardly.

Of most annoyance was the fawning over Oppenheimer's intellect, charisma and prowess with the ladies, and his collection of admirers. Every negative facet of Oppenheimer's personality is excused or explained away. I felt no need for the 'sugercoating' of Oppenheimer's straight-forward narcissism. It got in the way of a fantastically researched book, and left me questioning the seriousness of this work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, truely a God, what a book. Brilliant., 11 Oct 2014
By 
stuart mcmillan (Clydebank, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Prometheus: The Triumph and Tragedy of J. Robert Oppenheimer (Hardcover)
Definatley a God amongst us mere mortals, percecuted for his brilliance, a brain that defined a generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely engrossing, 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second biography ive read of Robert opanheimer but by far the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars american prometheus Robert Oppenheimer, 9 May 2009
This review is from: American Prometheus: The Triumph and Tragedy of J. Robert Oppenheimer (Hardcover)
A well researched and evocative book. It has a cinematic narrative, a screenplay feel, which takes the reader back to those worrying yet exciting political times, not as a mere observer, but as an active player understanding both sides of the arguments raised for and against the consequences of developing the bomb. I'm left with a picture of Oppenheimer addressing the military; stood before a chalkboard covered in equations, he says. "Gentlemen, in language you'll understand, there will be one hell of a bang!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Prometheus: The Triumph and Tragedy of J. Robert Oppenheimer
American Prometheus: The Triumph and Tragedy of J. Robert Oppenheimer by Martin J. Sherwin (Hardcover - 1 Jan 2008)
Used & New from: £4.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews