Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fighting the fictionalisation of fact
Everyone always goes on about this and that being a 'necessary' book. It is rare to find one that really is necessary as well as being hugely entertaining and thought-provoking.
Thompson writes in clear, elegant prose which belies his deep research of the subject matter. The argument put forward is clear, ratonal and of interest to anyone who's dismayed by the...
Published on 5 Feb 2008 by Andy Cannon

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forceful yet lightweight
A good read but quite slight. Although I did agree with most of the author's arguments it was mostly because I was familiar with them already. I can't imagine that this would likely convince anyone who believes in 'alternative' notions of reality as it doesn't really examine them with any real rigour.

I'm still looking for the definitive book on all things...
Published on 13 Oct 2008 by Stucumber


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forceful yet lightweight, 13 Oct 2008
By 
Stucumber "Stucumber" (N. Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Counterknowledge: How We Surrendered to Conspiracy Theories, Quack Medicine, Bogus Science and Fake History (Paperback)
A good read but quite slight. Although I did agree with most of the author's arguments it was mostly because I was familiar with them already. I can't imagine that this would likely convince anyone who believes in 'alternative' notions of reality as it doesn't really examine them with any real rigour.

I'm still looking for the definitive book on all things 'woo' and though this is not it, it's still a decent primer into the world of 'Counter-Knowledge'.

Where the subject of this book -counter-knowledge- begins and ends I don't know and from the author's definition I'm still not entirely clear. Given the author's occupation as a writer for a christian publication, what defines orthodox knowledge for him may not chime with everyone else's definition.

Still, I believe at least he is nominally on the side of rationality and reason. Even if some of his personal beliefs, for me, make him a target of his own argument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superficial swipe at a serious issue, 7 July 2013
This review is from: Counterknowledge: How We Surrendered to Conspiracy Theories, Quack Medicine, Bogus Science and Fake History (Paperback)
While Thompson convinces that 'counter-knowledge', an odd conflation of "conspiracy theories, quack theories, quack medicine, bogus science and fake history" is a real issue he doesn't really get to the heart of "how we surrendered" to such daft ideas. The book feels superficial; trailing on the coattails of Francis 'Mumbo-Jumbo' Wheen and Ben 'Bad Science' Goldacre without adding much further analysis.

Why does 'counter-knowledge' gain traction? Can such a range of 'counter-knowledge' usefully be treated together? The profit drivers behind homeopathy and suchlike are obvious and Thompson is right to criticise the editorial sloppiness and greed that has allowed the more egregious examples of pseudo-history to be published. But to what extent, for example, is 'conspiracy' an understandable (if usually daft) response to the 'manufacture of consent' that all governments indulge in? The motivations of creationists were also under-analysed. Why do religious fundamentalists peddle such nonsense and what are the actual, as opposed to speculative, consequences on its believers for education and development.

The reading list at the end looks good though, maybe that is where to look for some of these answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fighting the fictionalisation of fact, 5 Feb 2008
By 
Everyone always goes on about this and that being a 'necessary' book. It is rare to find one that really is necessary as well as being hugely entertaining and thought-provoking.
Thompson writes in clear, elegant prose which belies his deep research of the subject matter. The argument put forward is clear, ratonal and of interest to anyone who's dismayed by the conspiracy theory and easy answer culture of our decade. Previous reviews have mentioned the author's (purported)Catholicism but these purely ad hominem attacks miss the point. Even if you don't agree with Thompson's targets (and with holocaust denial, homeoipathy and creatonism - you'd be remiss not to) then this book is still a valuable treasure trove of methodology. Thompson lays out a process by which all 'knowledge' can be emprically tested. This is so essential that it's a surprise no one teaches it to kids in school.
Oh, did I also mention that te book is funny? well, that it is; acerbic and witty in all the right places. In an age where believeing in UFOs and believing in DNA are accorded the same credibility by the masses, this is that rare thing, a truly necessary book whose lessons you can take with you and apply to anything. In the years to come, this will be seen as a ground-breaking text on destroying dogma and piffle....make sure you read it now and arm yourself against the exigencies of fiction masquerading as fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars debunking, 21 April 2014
This review is from: Counterknowledge: How We Surrendered to Conspiracy Theories, Quack Medicine, Bogus Science and Fake History (Paperback)
this book sets out to question and debunk. its quite wide ranging which can give it a bit of a sneering tone but its autopsy of the book 1421 was interesting,homeopathy and some of the conspiracy theories concerning 9/11 were worth reading it came across to me as positive debunking some of the aura counter knowledge has attained
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Void of science or thought, 14 April 2014
By 
Emir Allan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Counterknowledge: How We Surrendered to Conspiracy Theories, Quack Medicine, Bogus Science and Fake History (Paperback)
What I saw in this book was abject rejection of anything even slightly outside the strictly-established norm, without any actual delving into the supposed "facts" of each thing on an individual basis. Non'o'that "consideration" nonsense - just shoot down complex issues in a quickfire way with little to no critical analysis. Tackling heavily scientific subjects in a sensationalist non-scientific way. Spending pages upon pages refuting/ridiculing ONE book, and then quickly bundling completely unrelated subjects into the end as if discrediting one thing means discrediting everything.

As a rule of thumb - I avoid sources which place a blanket rejection over things which THEY label as "conspiracy" or "quackery". These are emotive terms used to manipulate people into knee-jerk reactions and are never used by serious thinkers. Most of the time they are speaking from emotion instead of the reason and rationality that they claim exclusive sovereignty over. Any source which relies on manipulative language, ridicule and any measure of verbal abuse to make its case is an entirely bankrupt source unworthy of even a second of time, in my opinion and experience. This book ticks all these boxes.

The message of this book is pretty much "Institutions and corporations know the facts and you don't, so stop trying to think for yourself and just accept what you're told". History proves with endless repetition that established fact is always changing and what is established fact in one decade can become absurdity in the next. This book is already scientifically obsolete in this decade, in another one or two it will be a rag.

We can credit it with poking holes in the most obvious and crudest of theories, which anyone can do. We then go on to liken the most absurd theories (i.e. flat earth theory) with the most sophisticated ones, in a tragically unscientific attempt to discredit EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE.

Make no mistake, there is no critical or original thought in this book... it is confirmation bias personified. An exemplary example of emotionally reacting to things first and then seeking out the means in which to discredit it second, and the means we see here is poor quality in any case. The only way someone could like this book is if you already agree with everything in it, but if you're looking for genuine thought-provocation then you'll find nothing here worth your time. Look elsewhere for a book that teaches you HOW to think rather than WHAT to think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 62 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hypocritical elements of truth, 25 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. R. A. Davies (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Firstly, the good points. This book points out many of the more dubious beliefs held by sections of society, and indeed justifiably, it seems, calls for people to open their eyes to many of the highly suspect techniques used by pioneers of 'counterknowledge' in the conveying of their work: 'Loose Change', for example, taking situations out of context and cropping photos to bias their account of events, thus encouraging sceptism of such notions as 9/11 conspiracy theories.

However, the book's downfall is ironically preset in its own approach to 'facts'. Unfortunately, Thompson's reasoning, scattered citations and poorly disguised subjectivity in his portrayal of counterknowledge ultimately mirrors his criticism of how counterknowledge is spread in the first place. For example, in the same paragraph of describing how the 'cultic milieu', in their stupidy, basically think everything is conspiratorial and unrealistic once they accept one conspiracy, he goes on to make the generalisation that since 9/11 is supposedly an unjustified conspiracy, so must be the case with ESP, UFOs, Bible Prophesy, near-death experiences, and so on. This sort of generalisation becomes ubiquitous as the book progresses; and thus Thompson forms his own 'cultic milieu', which should probably be renamed 'sceptic milieu' - as it seems just about as valid to presume that all conspiracies and unlikely events are false as it is to presume that all are true. I see this book as a piece of counterknowledge in itself by the way it arrogantly presents all its inferences and conclusions as fact, thus being as misleading to the weaker-minded reader as the likes of Dan Brown - only on the opposite end of the spectrum.

This said, 'Counterknowledge' does have SOME valid points and, albeit at the expense of its integrity, is an entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An antidote to garbage, 12 Jan 2008
If you feel nauseated by the avalanche of "facts" and bad history that pollutes the internet and now even newspapers and respectable publishing houses, then this book is a real antidote. A systematic demolition of one piece of phoney theory after another, it reasserts the objective value of scientific investigation. Thompson achieves this with humour, a punchy style and a rigorous application of reason. Counterknowledge is necessary but also thoroughly enjoyable to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last, the tool a true sceptic needs...., 28 Feb 2008
By 
J. DARBY (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If like me you are fed up with 'George Bush planned 9/11' or 'MI6 killed Diana' or even 'The Da Vinci Code has some thought provoking ideas' then this is the book for you. Thompson makes an impassioned cry for research and evidence based conclusions. For the reader, ammunition is provided to shoot down those who keep coming out with such witless and baseless statements. Quite what the authors association with the Catholic Herald has to do with the quality of this book I don't know, especialy as one of his main targets in the book are creationists. Thompson does not close his mind to new ideas or science only bad methodology passed off as science.
My only criticisms are that the author does not explore why people are prepared to fall for counterknowledge despite all the evidence to the contrary. I also would like the book to have had more content, ie: more de-bunking of all the quacks and conspiricists that plague modern life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterly, 14 Jan 2008
By 
H. Mount - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In an age when you're considered smug if you know something, all sorts of idiocy is allowed to flourish. In fact, the idiots somehow think they're wiser entirely because they don't know anything, or anything conventional at any rate. As a result they cling with great pleasure and doggedness to anything unconventional or contrary. Dr Thompson burns away the snake oil with scorching wit and red-hot prose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shooting fish in a barrel, 6 July 2008
This review is from: Counterknowledge: How We Surrendered to Conspiracy Theories, Quack Medicine, Bogus Science and Fake History (Paperback)
Generally I am with Mr R A Davies who gave the book two stars, but perhaps that is a little harsh.

Thompson is quite selective in his choice of targets, and treats them largely the same (despite his repeated points about what is and is not "counterknowledge"). That is, he attempts not only to oppose their arguments and their evidence but also to undermine their motives, and to treat them as charlatans. In most cases that may be legitimate, but not always.

The blurb says he has a PhD in the sociology of religion from LSE (presumably supervised by David Martin?). I would have expected that someone who had worked in that very nuanced area, which poses interesting questions about the validity of knowledge, to have been able to distinguish between positions better than he does. Take complementary medicine (CAM) as an example. He is very rude about it, relying heavily on one of its severest critics. That's fine (and I tend to agree with him).

However, he extends his condemnation beyond the science to the business, including pharmacists in Boots who refuse to assert that a product on sale is useless. This is not the same world. Placebo is a potent treatment, not entirely reliant on conscious belief but upheld by it (Evans D [2004] Placebo London; HarperCollins). The discourse has shifted, but Thompson has stuck with his positivism.

And it does not help that he castigates some proponents as "batty". Assertions like that are sloppy playground name-calling; they detract from his very sound analyses in many areas.

Pity; I heard him on "Start the Week". I was looking forward to reading the book, and to a sociologist's eye on these phenomena. All I found was some predictable debunking of fairly obvious targets.

Read Francis Wheen's "How Mumbo-Jumbo conquered the World" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf0b7c3c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews