Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars13
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2009
Hitchen's writes in his usual loquacious and elegant way on a topic he claims to be of his utmost interest. The book is an easy read, well structured but somehow lacking in the depth that we can observe in his other works. In his attempt to avoid a partisan or bias view point Hitchen's leaves his opinions behind and expresses very little of that verve we have grown use to. The book is too short.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
This is the first time I've read any of Hitchen's books but I'm already looking for more.
Radical, lucid in his arguments, pacy and succinct; what a writer!
Hitchens demonstrates the enormous debt owed to Tom Paine by America in particular - a debt still acknowledged in muted tones at best in that country.
This is an absolutely 'must read' book for anyone having even a remote interest in politics.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
Who better than the acerbic Christopher Hitchens to write this account? Memories of his heated debates, his frequently coming across as over-opinionated and arrogant, but often right, bring life to a subject in a way that few others could achieve. This short book has a formidable cast of characters, notably names such as Burke, Franklin, Jefferson, Lafayette, Napoleon, Robespierre, Washington, and Wordsworth. As a prime example, Paine’s position is made clearer by comparing it with Burke. An inspiring read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
Typical Hitch, plenty of assuming the reader has solid knowledge of peripheral matters, eg the French revolution, Jacobins etc. That of course is part of the appeal in a way, you go along for the ride..you have to try and keep up.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
This small book offers great insight to the author of the Rights of Man and he cultural environment of the times
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
Will read over Christmas, but bok in great condition. Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
Am halfway through - it gets better in the middle - at least for me. Raises some of the most relevant & serious issues concerning all societies - of humans. Need to finish it to give a thorough review. Ask me in a few weeks time, I need to re read it, its a dense and demanding subject, & has prompted me to read books by both Paine & Burke ....& Christopher.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
its hitchens 5 star obviously
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
Christopher Hitchen as always informative and a joy to read. Have been inspired and am looking forward to reading "Rights of Man" by Thomas Paine.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
A must read book, life is just too short to waste time on fiction! There is a wealth of historical fact within the pages of this book.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)