Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars671
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2014
Every word in this book is true, has always been true, and will always be true.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
this is a very interesting book, well written, and deeply thought provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
Great service, super fast Postage. Highly recommended. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
Hitchens' unmistakable tone, wit and charm with which he writes is matched only by an extraordinary grasp of the English language. Style aside, his elegance in positioning his arguments firmly against all religion cannot be denied. Although fairly 'heavy', certainly his passages regarding political factions in the middle east, his thoughts are never disorganised. It's a book of which there are very few, one which challenges religious beliefs on both intellectual and moral levels. The only criticism you can make? It's a long time overdue.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
Clearly written. Gives a range of bad things it is better we know about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2016
Buy this and send it to a religious friend for Christmas if you dare!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
Fascinating stuff. Sums up what I have been thinking. Great insights.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
A good read and certainly a strong argument against organised religion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
Great book. Intelligent, witty and not as boring as the God Delusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2007
Dont agree with the Squirrel or Adrian B
Fantstic book - should be on every coffee table , the books stimulates ferverent healthy discussion.
True, Mr Hitchens approach is less scientific than Mr Dawkins et al
but they need only conclude 'Gods existence' (except inside one's own head) cannot proven or not proven scientifically - I agree .
Adrian B would do well to take in Mr Hitchens main points that man made Religions and a blind belief in God is ultimately harming our world and that pseudo Christian religions should be more worried about the rise of Islam (supposedly believing in the same God) than any atheistic disbelief in God .
Human gullability goes hand in hand with religious dogma -people want to believe in some thing or a god like being , that in itself is not a bad thing until one religion totally believes IT IS CORRECT and all others are wrong and should be removed .
I am an atheist like Dawkins (and even expect rebuttle for my thoughts).
The problem for me is that Christianity is failing its 'faithful' and is not attracting a new audience 'the Crusades are over' or replaced by the new crusade -the fastest growing religion - Islam . This does worry me immensely . Fundamentalist Islam is following in the footsteps of early Catholicism using force , terror and suppresion to get it's message across
to the fearful. Hitchens is poignantly correct -being religious doesnt make you a good person- its either cop out or you cant think for yourself!

HELP stabilise the world- Read these books and the Bible and Koran to stimulate thought& creative discussion - not provocation !!
Atheism does not have a 'Book'- so we need these authors to feed the academic debate which must continue for free thinkers with free speech
while such freedom prevails....before Religion of Islam wipes that out -
If you dont believe me come to Saudi Arabia where they took Hitchens book off me at the airport (Title) and I cannot even bring a Bible in here -- Food for thought !!
22 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.39

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)