Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping account of Atlantic rowing race
This is the autobiographical account of James Cracknell and Ben Fogle's crossing in the Atlantic Rowing Race 2005/06 from the Canary Islands to Antigua. Both of them alternate in telling the story and sometimes recount the same incidents from their own very different perspectives. They seemed to enter the race in a fit of absent mindedness and their preparations were...
Published on 14 Oct 2006 by wenallt1

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars boring
Did not finish it as they both made such a fuss of their inability to get their minds sorted out and get organised. It was such a drag.
Published 7 months ago by Chris


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't put this book down,such opposite characters give an excellent insight into the relentless physical and mental pressures such an event puts on its participants and, having Ben and James's thoughts on the situation directly after each other shows exactly how a simple comment or gesture can be seen in two entirely different ways ...and the results. Inspiring, thought provoking and emotional, Fantastic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crossing. Conquering the Atlantic in the World's Toughest Rowing Race (Paperback)
I am a bit of a rowing geek, and have read books on ocean rowing before, but this is the most gripping account I have read. The book is not all about the factual account, but more about the two personalities involved and that, for me is what made it captivating. I don't want to say too much about what they did and how they did it, as that is all part of what makes the book great, but it does make for an exciting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great read, have watched the tv documentary of the crossing which I enjoyed immensely but the book is something else, you get so caught up with the trials and tribulations of James and Ben it's like you're there with them!! Absolutely loved it, would recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Compelling read from start to finish.
The ending could have been expanded I think but still worth the read. How they remain friends after their time together beggars beyond belief. Awesome pair and proud to see the English at the forefront.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant, exciting and emotional read. Even though I knew what happened (broadly) I was gripped. Genuine page turner. Good effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well written, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gave the impression you were with them in that small boat
bravery and pure guts!
Also bought the dvd from amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing account particularly as regards the details of the lack of preparation and planning for such a dangerous expedition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Epic Adventure On The Atlantic and A Battle Of Mind And Matter, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly awe inspiring tale of two strangers with very different outlooks and their monumental struggle against Mother Nature. Ben Fogle with virtually no experience and Olympian James Cracknell are an unlikely pair who endeavour to beat their demons to row the Atlantic Ocean from The Canaries to Antigua.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Much better than I expected and the split dialogue made it more interesting and surprising what they thought when rowing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Crossing - fantastic oarsmanship, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crossing. Conquering the Atlantic in the World's Toughest Rowing Race (Paperback)
This is one of the most interesting books I have ever read and at the grand age of 65 I have read quite a few.
Totally recommend it to one and all, male or female, young(ish) or old. Felt like I was there with them without the pain and effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crossing. Conquering the Atlantic in the World's Toughest Rowing Race
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews