Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping account of Atlantic rowing race
This is the autobiographical account of James Cracknell and Ben Fogle's crossing in the Atlantic Rowing Race 2005/06 from the Canary Islands to Antigua. Both of them alternate in telling the story and sometimes recount the same incidents from their own very different perspectives. They seemed to enter the race in a fit of absent mindedness and their preparations were...
Published on 14 Oct. 2006 by wenallt1

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars boring
Did not finish it as they both made such a fuss of their inability to get their minds sorted out and get organised. It was such a drag.
Published 13 months ago by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 412 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 5 Dec. 2009
By 
D. MELLING - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crossing. Conquering the Atlantic in the World's Toughest Rowing Race (Paperback)
The Crossing is an excellent read from start to finish. James and Ben are completely different characters but thats what makes them work. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not so much the sea... more a battle of personalities..., 12 April 2009
By 
A. Rowan "bookwormer" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crossing. Conquering the Atlantic in the World's Toughest Rowing Race (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book from the point of view of reading about the differences between Ben Fogle and James Cracknell and how they managed to remain on the same boat throughout all the difficulties they experienced, given their contrasting personalities! It also showed how very ill prepared they were to take on such a mammoth task - they are lucky to have come out of it alive... I felt worn out by their hard work rowing just reading this book and can recommend it to anyone who complains after ten minutes (like I do) on the rowing machine at the gym!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars personality clash, 11 Jan. 2011
By 
A. R. Fish "afishy" (kessingland. g.b.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crossing. Conquering the Atlantic in the World's Toughest Rowing Race (Paperback)
Absolutely superb book. A story of 2 families , 2 adventurers and the different thought processes which enable them to complete a monumental journey. The tale is conveyed through a series of alternating narratives. You can sense the tensions the participants are experiencing.
Read the polar crossing book: similar but not as good.. Can,t wait for next adventure but how can they top this..Go to gym and try rowing for a hour or more and see a tiny bit of the challenge they faced..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crossing. Conquering the Atlantic in the World's Toughest Rowing Race (Paperback)
I am a bit of a rowing geek, and have read books on ocean rowing before, but this is the most gripping account I have read. The book is not all about the factual account, but more about the two personalities involved and that, for me is what made it captivating. I don't want to say too much about what they did and how they did it, as that is all part of what makes the book great, but it does make for an exciting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic journey, 17 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable and consuming read on how the project grew for Ben and James to complete in an extremely difficult and demanding race, possible one of the last great adventures. Many threads of how you should plan and train properly but then how enthusiasm and hard work can overcome. Many thanks to both authors for sharing their experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational writing, 21 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The Crossing. Conquering the Atlantic in the World's Toughest Rowing Race (Paperback)
I decided to read this book at the same time that two friends of mine were rowing in the 2009 Atlantic rowing race. This is a truly incredible & inspiring read, I couldnt put it down & was disappointed when I finished it. I also shed a tear at the ending. Stories like this dont come along often, read it while you can, its fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Crossing, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Completely absorbed in a book I was initially doubting would hold my interest!!! WOW!!!! Emotions, energy, humour, danger, desperation and finally elation!! Enjoyed every page and my admiration for Ben and James has rocketed from "great, they won the race" to "how did they do that and survive?". Fantastic read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating insight into what crossing the Atlantic would be like. Very honest and open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 412 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crossing. Conquering the Atlantic in the World's Toughest Rowing Race
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews