Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide for beginners
I think the other review is a little mean-spirited!
This is a very good book to get you started on how to solve the Guardian crossword; it explains things clearly and in nicely paced stages, ratcheting up the difficulty in such a way that you feel that you're making progress without getting left behind.
So, all in all, it does exactly what its sub-heading sets...
Published on 9 Sep 2007 by Emil 22

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not of the slightest help to me, too much , too fast
I'm afraid I found this book of little use. It roared along making a lot of assumptions right from the start. I'm no idiot but find it difficult to see these sorts of puzzles whereas I very quick on lateral thinking. I just felt even in the early examples it rattled on far too fast. It is also not honest to imply anyone can do these crosswords. There are a large...
Published 18 months ago by mcah


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide for beginners, 9 Sep 2007
This review is from: Secrets of the Setters: How to Solve the "Guardian" Crossword (Paperback)
I think the other review is a little mean-spirited!
This is a very good book to get you started on how to solve the Guardian crossword; it explains things clearly and in nicely paced stages, ratcheting up the difficulty in such a way that you feel that you're making progress without getting left behind.
So, all in all, it does exactly what its sub-heading sets out to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good help for beginners, 3 July 2008
By 
Peter Biddlecombe "peterbiddlecombe" (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Secrets of the Setters: How to Solve the "Guardian" Crossword (Paperback)
This book is written by the Guardian's Crossword Editor, who is not a crossword compiler, so sees things more from the solver's point of view. It's written in a more entertaining style than some 'how to solve' books, and has helpful guidance for beginners, both clue analysis and tips about solving techniques, and does well at showing that the knowledge you need is "wide but shallow". It slips up on one or two technicalities such as the meaning of "&lit" - as used in this book, this includes true &lits and another clue-type, normally called "cryptic definition". The text includes groups of practice clues, and at the end of the book there are 14 sample puzzles with some letters in the grid to start you off, and (equally important) explanations of the answers as well as the solutions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good entry level book, 29 May 2010
By 
David Travis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Secrets of the Setters: How to Solve the "Guardian" Crossword (Paperback)
This book is a good general introduction to cryptic crosswords. As well as describing the main types of clue and how to solve them, the book also includes some (partially completed) Guardian crosswords to help you practice. Although I'd recommend this book, since buying it I've read Tim Moorey's book How to Master The Times Crossword, which I think is a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not of the slightest help to me, too much , too fast, 16 Jun 2013
This review is from: Secrets of the Setters: How to Solve the "Guardian" Crossword (Paperback)
I'm afraid I found this book of little use. It roared along making a lot of assumptions right from the start. I'm no idiot but find it difficult to see these sorts of puzzles whereas I very quick on lateral thinking. I just felt even in the early examples it rattled on far too fast. It is also not honest to imply anyone can do these crosswords. There are a large number of historical, classical and cultural clues which require a pretty in depth education.
The author may not be a setter but he is clearly an accomplished cryptic crossword worker who has forgotten (if he ever knew) the blindness beginners have to these type of clues. There's an implication that it's all so obvious.
As for the lists and lists of what certain phrasing styles could possibly mean in a clue, I'm not sure how one is supposed to memorise that lot.
It would be more helpful to be introduced to a certain type of clue one at a time and then to be given a crossword to practice that before moving on.
This book probably reads well to those who already undertand what's involved. But then they are not the target audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like cryptic crosswords and want to know how they are constructed - get this book !, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Setters: How to Solve the "Guardian" Crossword (Paperback)
Having been a fan of cryptic cross-words for many years, but finding them a bit inpenetrable, this book has come to my rescue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secrets of the Setters: How to Solve the "Guardian" Crossword
Secrets of the Setters: How to Solve the "Guardian" Crossword by Hugh Stephenson (Paperback - 10 May 2007)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews