Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


143 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something to annoy just about everyone
Christopher Hitchens is one of those writers whose prodigious output of letters, essays, and commentaries on the life, the universe, and everything is so pointed and provocative that he is capable of irritating anyone, sometimes repeatedly so, familiar enough with his work to have read more than just one of his essays. This should not be construed as a negative. In fact,...
Published on 26 April 2005 by Leonard Fleisig

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the font size
Provoking thoughts well expressed and it is good to discover new words. However the print size is the smallest i've encountered making reading tiring.
Published on 20 Feb. 2012 by D. Martin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written essays and articles, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the Hitchens you know. Beautifully written essays and articles. Was a pleasant surprise - I thought he was just an 'angry atheist'. Glad I was told to look into his earlier stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well worth reading, 3 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great writing but infuriating views!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very informative and brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitchins at his best, 18 Oct. 2007
By 
J. K. Dowd (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love, Poverty and War: Journeys and Essays (Paperback)
fascinating and ranging subject matter, thought provoking and wonderfully written... all we have come to expect from Hitchins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Russell de nos jours, 17 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love, Poverty and War: Journeys and Essays (Paperback)
To call this man Britain's answer to Gore Vidal (what was the question, exactly?) is to do him a disservice. GV is consumed with loathing for all mankind, not least himself; Hitch merely regrets we are not as intelligent. Much is skippable in this potpourri, detritus of a reviewer's life - Kipling's tawdry histrionics don't need another apologist, for instance, and indeed in Hitchens don't get one, but then what new is there to say about the 5'3" imperialist*? - but when Hitch grabs your lapel you listen. There's clever and then there's wise - whoever said you had to be cuddly as well?

*not that I'm agin Empire as such - I'm sure parts of it were excellent - but I'm agin Kipling as topic; he's a brilliant craftsman but no thinker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
B. Stocken - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A superb read, 15 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love, Poverty and War: Journeys and Essays (Paperback)
A superb collection of writings. Having also read Hitch-22, I'd highly recommend this book as you see the eloquence and lucidity of Hitchens, who may have found more success with "God is not Great", but deserved more success with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love, Poverty and War: Journeys and Essays (Paperback)
This book will keep you entertained and will give you a new perspective on literature and political analysis. Well worth sitting down with on a rainy day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hitchens at his best, 22 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love, Poverty and War: Journeys and Essays (Paperback)
Great book, as expected. One star knocked off for small print! But at least this means that large volume of words can be packed into manageable sized book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the font size, 20 Feb. 2012
By 
D. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love, Poverty and War: Journeys and Essays (Paperback)
Provoking thoughts well expressed and it is good to discover new words. However the print size is the smallest i've encountered making reading tiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love, Poverty and War: Journeys and Essays
Love, Poverty and War: Journeys and Essays by Christopher Hitchens (Paperback - 10 Aug. 2006)
£9.88
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews