Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and Evocative
A complex and well crafted read that gave this reader an uncommon perspective on the road to and through wartime Germany, and its affect on the lives of individuals, some blameless, some not.It is also an excellent crime thriller. The foreign tone of the translation adds to the experience rather than detracting.
Published on 19 Aug 2007 by Serious Two

versus
23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less Than the Sum of Its Parts
I should state right up front that I'm not a fan of serial killer stories, I don't find them particularly interesting, and had I known that the framework for this book is the hunt for a serial killer, I may well not have picked it up. The reason I did pick it up is because the setting is one that interests me. From the brilliant film "The Third Man" to Nobel laureate...
Published on 21 Dec 2006 by A. Ross


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to follow, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlin, A Novel (Kindle Edition)
I hope I'm not thick! But couldn't follow what was going on. Goes off at all sorts of tangents and couldn't see where it was going. Couldn't hold me and gave up less than half way through. Not my cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 15 Jun 2014
By 
S. haynes "SBG" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlin, A Novel (Kindle Edition)
An interesting look into pre war Berlin through the eyes of the victims. Gives the views of ordinary people across the social scale into natzism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly wonderful, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlin, A Novel (Kindle Edition)
A book filled with three dimensional characters, clever plot twists and vivid historical details. Do yourself a favour and read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cruelty and kindness, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlin, A Novel (Kindle Edition)
A little to much flitting about and sometimes I lost the gist of the book, but on the whole a good enough read. The sexual brutality and eventual perpetrator held to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A story of survival and grit., 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlin, A Novel (Kindle Edition)
A great story with plenty of twists and turns. A real page turner once you get into it; not to say that it is a slow burn. Great characters and a real sense of what Germany must have been like for those living before, during and after the war.Vert threatening for all and this come out in the story. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlin, A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Gory but superb. Total page-turner. Leaves you wanting each chapter to go on and on.... Very evocative portrayal of post-war Berlin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best books I've read in years, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlin, A Novel (Kindle Edition)
In many ways upsetting and disturbing but still a most fantastic read. I real novel with real characters and a real story line. Didn't want it to end!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual novel., 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlin, A Novel (Kindle Edition)
This was a well-written story written in a rather unusual way with a detailed back story being told after each murder. Gives a good insight to life in Berlin during the war and the immediate post-war period. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly great thriller, 19 April 2013
By 
A. Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlin, A Novel (Kindle Edition)
The thriller part was great but I really enjoyed the way that Mr Frei went back over the lives of the victims. A very interesting insight into what Berliners suffered during WWII, if accurate. Let's hope that we never have to live through something like that again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlin, A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Good story,well written and interesting to read about Berlin. Sometimes the background stories went on too long but enjoyed the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Berlin: A Novel
Berlin: A Novel by Pierre Frei (Paperback - 13 July 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews