Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars45
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2013
This was a well-written story written in a rather unusual way with a detailed back story being told after each murder. Gives a good insight to life in Berlin during the war and the immediate post-war period. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
I wasn't sure whether to rate it poor or low average - poor it is. Overly long, meandering, excessively verbose without creating the tension or character association that you would want. Wasted my time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
I am not sure what to make of this book. It felt as though it authentically 're-created the period but the storyline jumped around and it seemed as though the author did not know where to take it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
All too far fetched. Thought I would never get to the end of it which was the best bit. Poor
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
A truly gripping story of some German women and their variable wartime experiences and ultimate murders .
A real whodunit with evocative descriptions of post war Berlin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
A little to much flitting about and sometimes I lost the gist of the book, but on the whole a good enough read. The sexual brutality and eventual perpetrator held to the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
As a previous reviewer commented, the best parts are the descriptions of the lives of some of the characters. However, the plot is thin and the conclusion far-fetched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
In many ways upsetting and disturbing but still a most fantastic read. I real novel with real characters and a real story line. Didn't want it to end!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
An interesting look into pre war Berlin through the eyes of the victims. Gives the views of ordinary people across the social scale into natzism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
Gory but superb. Total page-turner. Leaves you wanting each chapter to go on and on.... Very evocative portrayal of post-war Berlin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.