Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It actually hurts to read this book
Cynical, unreconstructed, venomous and decidedly un-PC. And that's just me. Having endured years of, admittedly enjoyable, Lonely Planet and Rough Guide- guided travel, the jetlag series has come at exactly the right time for me and anyone else vaguely embarassed about how seriously they take Tony Wheeler and his imitators.
Whilst other forthcoming books in the...
Published on 5 April 2004

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2 cheers for Molvania
As a parody of a travel book, it works very well, although the joke tends to wear a bit thin the further you get into the book. It would have had a stronger foundation and been funnier if the authors had concentrated more on the oddities of a life in post-communist Eastern Europe. As it was, some of the inconsistencies and inaccuracies to do with the real world were...
Published on 20 Sep 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Molvania - A land untouched by modern dentistry, 7 Jan 2005
This review is from: Molvania: A Land Untouched by Modern Dentistry (Jetlag Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Fantastic - funny to extremes. This book kept me laughing from start to finish, mostly out loud - but who cares, the book is great and I can't wait for the next one. Buy it now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly inspired, 24 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Molvania: A Land Untouched by Modern Dentistry (Jetlag Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This is truly one of the funniest books I've ever read, and gave mehorrible flashbacks to a school trip to Yugoslavia (as it then was) in the70s. The book is completely deadpan which makes it all the funnier, andthe photographs of the various grim hotels, concrete factories, quarriesand poisoned lakes (ideal for fishing!) are brilliantly chosen. This is abook to read in private unless you want people frowning at your hystericallaughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't go there!, 2 Dec 2004
By 
P. J. A. Jennings "pja_jennings" (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Molvania: A Land Untouched by Modern Dentistry (Jetlag Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This book will definitely make you smile. Based on variations of a limited set of jokes it is, however, all very cleverly done and is a convincing spoof of a typical modern travel guide. From the vegetarian dishes that contain only 32% pork to the town plans that all share a number of common features, Molvania is a country to avoid like (or should that be because of) the plague. But buy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the funniest spoof I have read in years, 4 May 2005
By 
D. Kahn (Salzburg, Salzburg Austria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Molvania: A Land Untouched by Modern Dentistry (Jetlag Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This is a brilliant piece of humor writing; I am getting copies for my Christmas list. It should sell forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll never read Lonely Planet without a grin again (I mean, if you ever did), 17 July 2010
By 
This is the first of Jetlag parody travel guides. It's set in a fictious country in Eastern Europe - the obvious prototype is Hungary, but it contains numerous reminiscences of other countries in that region. The authors imitate perfectly the style of regular travel guides, except that they twist things to make the reader roll on the floor with laughter. Add funny place names, funny words in the native language, amazing (fake) contributors, and you'll get "Molvania" which, without the slightest exaggeration, is one of the funniest books I've ever read in my life.

By the way, I have realised by now that this one is much better than the follow-up "Phaic Tan".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mock-Travel Guide, 22 Sep 2004
By 
Ez (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Molvania: A Land Untouched by Modern Dentistry (Jetlag Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This mock-travel guide has a lot of information and photos of Molvanīa, a fictional Eastern European country. Plenty of wit to go around. (A)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea, just not that funny, 24 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Molvania: A Land Untouched by Modern Dentistry (Jetlag Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This is a great concept but the content doesn't really do it justice. Thebook looks the ticket and obviously a lot of thought has gone into tickingthe boxes of what goes in these guides, but the joke wears thin veryquickly and a lot of the entries are bland and repetitive. It's a shame asthis could have been brilliant but they'll need to draft in some differentwriters to make it work as a series. The Onion Abroad it ain't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why Bother?, 27 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Molvania: A Land Untouched by Modern Dentistry (Jetlag Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I'm afraid that I found this book a bit of a non event. The idea was excellent - a parody of the travel guide. Some of the content is worth a wry grin or small smile and to be fair the authors have made quite an effort to wring humour from all aspects of the book - from the 'writers' on the team - to the cover. However, all in all, if someone lent me the book, I might have a quick read at it - and then hand it back fairly rapidly. There are lots of other books out there, both humourous and not - which you would be better spending your money on; for me, it just didn't work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Molvania: A Land Untouched by Modern Dentistry (Jetlag Travel Guide)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews