Customer Reviews
Dry


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Terrific Memoir
Augusten Burroughs' last book (RUNNING WITH SCISSORS) chronicled his bizarre childhood, including his dysfunctional family, the even more dysfunctional family he lived with when his mother had a series of nervous breakdowns, and his relationship with a pedophile. DRY: A MEMOIR picks up about 10 years later; Burroughs has a successful career in New York advertising and is...
Published on 10 Sep 2003 by Westley

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Black then Dry
After the deliciously black humor of "Running with Scissors" is not replicated in "Dry." It was a dark book, rather self indulgent and short on laughs. Clearly the author has been to the bottom and bounced back and for this he earns my respect and admiration. It was neither inspirational or funny however; every artist loses their way and his other books maybe be more in...
Published on 28 April 2010 by Mr. N. E. Brewer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Terrific Memoir, 10 Sep 2003
By 
Westley (Stuck in my head) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dry: A Memoir (Hardcover)
Augusten Burroughs' last book (RUNNING WITH SCISSORS) chronicled his bizarre childhood, including his dysfunctional family, the even more dysfunctional family he lived with when his mother had a series of nervous breakdowns, and his relationship with a pedophile. DRY: A MEMOIR picks up about 10 years later; Burroughs has a successful career in New York advertising and is a raging alcoholic. He's in deep denial about his problem, so he's surprised when his co-workers stage an intervention and even more surprised when he reluctantly agrees to a 30-day rehab stint. The book follows his attempts to remain sober, deal with his past, and cope with some harmful romantic relationships.
The book often skewers the mental health system, replete with therapy-speak, AA meetings, and self-help lingo, However, Burroughs adopts a fairly benign, almost affectionate, tone toward mental health workers. Ultimately, DRY is filled with the kind of wit and attitude you've come to expect from Burroughs. I laughed out loud quite a few times, and I felt some real suspense reading to see whether he'd relapse.
Burroughs is quickly establishing himself as a quirky and talented writer. Although he may be pegged by some as a "gay author," his work is pretty universal and likely to appeal to many different audiences. I most highly recommend this book, and I look forward to reading more of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Black then Dry, 28 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dry (Hardcover)
After the deliciously black humor of "Running with Scissors" is not replicated in "Dry." It was a dark book, rather self indulgent and short on laughs. Clearly the author has been to the bottom and bounced back and for this he earns my respect and admiration. It was neither inspirational or funny however; every artist loses their way and his other books maybe be more in keeping with his first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener from Burroughs, 24 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dry (Hardcover)
I read the this book in two sittings, the second through a blinding hangover sprawled across the floor of a devastated hotel suite in Austin, Texas. The tale, showcased by a light-footed and entertaining narrative, highlighted just how ignorant alcoholics are of their own condition, ignorant of the destruction heavy drinking can cause. When I finished the book I actually found myself looking through the yellow pages for an AA meeting in Austin that night. I didn't go - but my last drink was in that hotel suite and that was a month ago. I've never felt better and I owe Burroughs one for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent writer, 27 Jun 2005
This review is from: Dry (Paperback)
I read Burroughs 'Running with scissors' in the space of a day, and laughed/gasped all the way through it. Absolutely fantastic story, written beautifully by an extremely talented author. The sequel 'dry' did not disapoint, throwing the reader into Burroughs messy adult life, with more nihilistic, dark, dry humour interspersed with some sad/poignant sections. I recommend ANYONE read these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Martinis in Manhattan, 1 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dry (Paperback)
Dry is the second installment of the memoirs of Augusten Burroughs (he has written three, a lot for a man in his late thirties), and it picks up where Running With Scissors left off. Augusten is now 24, and he is a successful advertising executive living in Manhattan. He is the epitome of 1980s yuppy success, or should be, since he has everything he wants, and the money to get anything more he should want. The only problem is that Augusten is an alcoholic. Forced into attending rehab by his boss, the narrative follows Augusten's subsequent attempts at becoming "dry". What could have been, in a lesser writer's hands, a depressing and morose tale is instead a riotous romp through the ups and downs (and downs) on the road of a recovering alcoholic. With razor sharp wit, Burroughs highlights the absurd in the everyday, and the not so everyday events in his life. There are plenty of laughs in this book, and ultimately it is a life affirming testament to a man who has had it harder than most, and lived to tell the tale. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 9 Jun 2005
By 
J. Marshall (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dry (Paperback)
Firstly, despite all the blurb on the cover, this book really isn't "outrageously funny" or "hilarious" etc., etc.. In my opinion it's just moderately humorous - no more, no less. Still, it is a fairly gripping read, especially for any 12-steppers. What is perhaps not quite believable is that - despite being a raging drunk - he get's instantly sober with one visit to a clinic and remains like that for what seems to be months. That's a bit unusual and makes me think that perhaps he wasn't really at rock-bottom in the first place. And, as another reviewer remarked, a lot of the bits about AA Meetings and recovery etc. really do write themselves. Nevertheless, it's an entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little "dry" at times, 3 Feb 2006
This review is from: Dry (Paperback)
After i read runnning with scissors i had to read dry! it was good, and i did read it in a day, but i felt parts of it dragged on at times. It was funny and compelling but it could have beena lot shorter. Funny and entertaining i would recommend reading it if Burroughs has entertained you with the other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dry (Kindle Edition)
This was another fine memoir from Augusten Burroughs. With humour and self-deprecation we follow him through the lows of alcoholism, the battle of rehab and beyond. Will he make it all the way dry? Impossible to leave the book before knowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So entertaining, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dry (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. Superbly written. The author really brings his story to life. The story is witty and sad and funny and tragic its one of the best addiction memoirs Ive ever read (and Ive read a LOT). He reveals himself, warts and all, but is still strangely likable. I cant put my finger on what it was..but he just touched me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Running with alcohol, 3 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Dry (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book. Hard to believe its based on actual events. I loved Running with scissors but felt more engaged and swept up in the story here. Its not flip David Sedarkis type funny incidents but a sometimes bleak tale told with a wry eye for the absurdities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dry
Dry by Augusten Burroughs (Paperback - 10 Feb 2005)
6.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews