Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Slice of Post-Soviet Life, 28 Aug 2003
By 
A. Ross (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stories I Stole: A Journey to Georgia (Hardcover)
Former Time magazine writer Steavenson hits upon a nice variation to the armchair travel genre with this wonderful little book on the former Soviet Republic of Georgia. Rather than trying to systematically detail the small country's tangled web of ethnicities and chaotic recent history, she recounts her time there through twenty chapters/stories. These loosely connected and loosely chronological stories provide a remarkably nuanced portrait of a country where nothing works, government seems largely irrelevant, and the people are remarkable. Weaving in many of her own friendships and a relationship with a photojournalist, she covers rigged elections, ethnic tensions, the nearby war in Chechnya, and mainly daily life with remarkable sensitivity. The nice thing is that she doesn't do so with the usual world-weariness of the foreign corespondent, but with a depth of feeling that never falls into sentimentalism or condescension It's a curiously individual work in that there's no real reason for her to be there, there is no larger theme she hangs her stories on, and no gimmicks. Just honest stories about a country where a strange civil war and two secessionist wars over the last decade have utterly destroyed the economy and left the country with little hope. A definite must read for anyone interested in the Caucuses or the fate of post-Soviet republics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Playing the Georgians at Russian roulette?, 1 Aug 2002
This review is from: Stories I Stole: A Journey to Georgia (Hardcover)
I read "Stories I Stole" last weekend and haven't enjoyed a book so much since Tony Hawkes' "Playing The Moldovans At Tennis". But, while Hawkes used a silly drunken bet as the supposed premise of his comically contrived mission (you don't have to be much of a cynic to guess that his real reason for travelling to Moldova to write a best-seller), Steavenson seems to have had only a sense of world-weariness as her reason for choosing to go and live in Georgia.
"Bored young woman visits obscure country" may not be the most promising scenario for any book, but SIS somehow avoids the sentimentality or condescension of much travel writing. It's also a step or two removed from the travelogue/humour genre: for the most part, Georgians come across not as "funny foreigners" so much as friends and neighbours who are getting on with their lives, often in circumstances that happen to be highly bizarre.
Georgia being the enigma that it is, there was no shortage of good stories for Steavenson to tell about it. She recounts them well - observing one, taking note and then moving on to the next. The effect's highly satisfying, and she artfully wraps up the book by drawing as inconclusive a conclusion as the subject deserves. My one little complaint about the book is that I think she might've got more mileage out of the "thousand red roses" episode. Mind you, she would have had to try really, really hard...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book rocks..., 3 Dec 2003
By A Customer
I've been living in Georgia for most of the last year and, well, these stories tell what it's like living here, both the good bits and the bad bits. The book is very well written and really captures the spirit of the place, partly because the author doesn't bother trying to impose a structure on a country that doesn't have one.
If you want a comprehensive history or academic analysis of Georgian politics, turn elsewhere. But if you enjoy a fantastic read full of good stories about a crazy place, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passion in the Caucasus, 18 July 2002
This review is from: Stories I Stole: A Journey to Georgia (Hardcover)
In Stories I Stole, Ms. Steavenson captures the heart and vitality of a nation riding the highs and lows of life to its fullest.
The Caucasus has for many years been obscured by Russia, its larger neighbor to the North and has been virtually ignored in a global sense since the breakup of the former USSR.
In the dawning of an era, Ms. Steavenson captures the livelihood of a people living and loving life to its fullest under conditions which denote centuries past. Camping in Tbilisi without electricity, Ms. Steavenson captures the passions of a people who so warmly embraced and shared with her their worlds.
Ms. Steavenson concludes with a Cliff-Note text on the various ethnicities and countries composing the Caucasus, providing the reader a very concise, but adequate knowledge of the region.
Each of the twenty chapters provides sufficient character development to provide the basis for a book of its own. Although a bit curt in structure, readers will find this an easy read and one that they can't put down!
A vivid and true portrait of the everyday ups and downs riding a roller coaster ride in a nearly forgotten world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Stories I Stole: A Journey to Georgia (Hardcover)
An excellent book, the ultimate introduction to
the Caucasus, written in laughter and pain. Ms Steavensons personal involvment makes the stolen stories her own. Looking forward to more stories to come. "A thousand roses, a thousand stories".
Tbilissi, Georgia, 31.1.2002 Giorgi Shamilov
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich, compelling, human., 1 Oct 2003
‘Stories I Stole’ is a wonderfully, rich, human account of Wendell Steavenson’s experiences of life in the former Soviet state of Georgia. In contrast to many travelogues in which the author will pass through their chosen lands and cast only the traveller’s eye over their experiences and those they meet, Steavenson’s story is of one who lived, suffered, enjoyed and embraced the time she spent amongst Georgia’s varied peoples.
Travelling to Georgia on a whim born of a “reservoir sunk deep out of explanation”, Steavenson soon establishes herself among a Tbilisi community struggling with the legacy of communism and the broken dreams of the new capitalist order, in which such basic blessings as a few hours’ electricity supply are rarities to be treasured. The contemporary regional political context in which Steavenson tells engaging tales of lavish hospitality, duels between friends and Chechen and Abkhaz rebellion is explored in satisfying depth, the author painting a clear picture (or as clear a picture as can be painted) of the current status of Georgian, Armenian, Azeri and Chechen politics. Extensive travelling around the Caucasus and Georgia’s varied regions, along with a concise (if occasionally rather subjective) ‘Ethnic Glossary’ illustrate the diverse and rich ethnic mix which has bred much of the political instability so tragically prevalent in the region.
Whilst Georgian history in its pre- and post-Soviet guises is outlined in the appropriate detail, Steavenson does somewhat neglect the Soviet period, barely mentioning Georgia’s most infamous son (Stalin) beyond a brief appearance in an anecdotal prologue. The opportunity to convey the Georgian view of this most contentious of historical figures is thus largely missed.
‘Stories I Stole’ is a warm, honest and compelling account of life in a state whose existence is barely acknowledged by those beyond her own region, and should prove immensely enjoyable not just to those with an interest in the Caucasus but indeed to those with an interest in human nature itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stories I stole, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this in anticipation of a trip to Georgia. Couldn't really get into it until I was in the country & then was engrossed. Fascinating book, I like her style of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kidnap Victim reviews, 13 May 2006
By 
Peter Shaw (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I spent six years working in Georgia as a banking expert on behalf of the European Commission. In June 2002 I was kidnapped and held for five months in difficult circumstances - four months in a small underground cell with no light, chained and padlocked and unable to move. I was rescued and returned home to the UK in November 2002. The time spent by Wendell Steavenson in Georgia overlapped woth my time there and her description of the people and their attitudes and mentality, the environment in which we both lived and worked and the overwhelming stench of corruption and cronyism in which the Government of Georgia thrived pressed many of my buttons. I would dearly wish to contact Wendell (I believe I met her briefly in Georgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great., 15 Aug 2002
This review is from: Stories I Stole: A Journey to Georgia (Hardcover)
Exciting for me to discover a book that is so direct, honest and brilliantly observed. If you have ever travelled, you'll appreciate it's style, which manages to convey what it is really like to visit a place, both the exciting and the banal. And anyone with an interest in the trans-Caucasus, or in the death-throws of the Soviet Union, will be gripped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Dec 2014
By 
R. Healey (Guildford, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and highly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stories I Stole: A Journey to Georgia
Stories I Stole: A Journey to Georgia by Wendell Steavenson (Hardcover - 9 July 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews