Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable
I have just returned from four days in Venice and this map was superb. It was folded and re-folded many times, soaked by rain and at times under my rucksack on the pavement and it is in perfect condition. Rough Guide recommendations for bars, restaurants and shops etc along with travel routes/information are marked on the map and it saves going out with a heavy and...
Published on 28 April 2009 by Fran

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't cover the whole city
I ordered this map for a long weekend in Venice - partly time off and partly work-related research so I needed plenty of detail. We've got the Rough Guide book so I thought it would be a useful accompaniment. I have just returned the map - it is nicely produced but useless for us as it only covers the most central part of the city. We are staying in Cannareggio. Our...
Published on 18 Mar 2010 by RBubb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, 28 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Rough Guide Map Venice (Edition 2) (Map)
I have just returned from four days in Venice and this map was superb. It was folded and re-folded many times, soaked by rain and at times under my rucksack on the pavement and it is in perfect condition. Rough Guide recommendations for bars, restaurants and shops etc along with travel routes/information are marked on the map and it saves going out with a heavy and cumbersome guidebook. Those of a certain age may need reading glasses to hand as the print is smallish but that is a minor complaint and far outweighed by the advantages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, 1 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Rough Guide Map Venice (Edition 2) (Map)
Very well illustrated map. My eyesight is struggling a bit but I can read the type clearly on this map and vaporetto stops, places of interest are clearly identified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, with drawbacks, 13 Aug 2008
By 
N. Barnett "stinkychemist" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide Map Venice (Edition 2) (Map)
A very, very good map of Venice, with lots on it. In fact, perhaps, too much. You have to read this map in advance of your trip - become adept at finding a grid reference for a restaurant, for example, or a "sight" if that's what you are on your way to see.
Good:
- the public transport routes are right, though not very obvious from the map, but there's an official "venice transport" map on the back.
- even the traghetto routes are right(a gondola ferry - E0.50 this year, 2008)
- "road" names are clear and easy to read, if you've got the right glasses on... you reach an age.....
- many reasonable restaurants/bars marked, but coded by cost, which means there are 20 or so entries marked as B on the map, the grid is crucial for this task
- the toilets are in the right places, or close enough that you can see signs on walls, or on the pavement in some cases, they will cost you E1.00 per person per visit unless you have the Venicecard ("Carta Venezia")
- it's "plasticy" - laminated, but not rigidly

Bad:
- the size is awkward (as with any sheet map) if it's breezy and you're trying to work out which of the waterbuses in front of you is the one to go on, however, there is no alternative to a flappy map. At least this one holds its folds, so it sort of goes back the way it was when you got it.
- you sometimes have to look at the back, then the front, then the back etc. - also unavoidable, really.
If you buy the Venicecard ("Carta Venezia"), it comes with a decent map, too. No bars or restaurants on that one, though, but its "B" side is a list of places you can get into free.

Overall, I was glad I had this map, Venice is difficult to navigate around, the only city in the world in which I have been lost, or at least, misplaced, because I was looking at the wrong part of the map, having gone in the wrong direction because there isn't always a way through, unless you can levitate over the canals!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for purpose, 1 Dec 2009
By 
Peter Jepson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide Map Venice (Edition 2) (Map)
Durable and foldable, clear, with useful inset maps (e.g. showing vaporetto routes and stops). Easy to carry around in a pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide map of Venice, 18 Nov 2009
By 
M. Loader - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide Map Venice (Edition 2) (Map)
Invaluable - not just a clear map, but a clear guide to all the best places to eat and drink, linked to prices. We tried a number of the highly recommended, moderately-priced restaurants and had some exceptional meals. These are places that Venetians queue to get in, even in the pouring rain.

The highly recommended coffee-shops and ice-cream parlours also led us to wonderful places off the tourist track where the Venetians choose to gather.

The guide to the vaporetti routes was clear, accurate and useful.

Basically, if you have this map to guide you, wellingtons to keep your feet dry and a fat wallet to pay the inflated prices of almost everything, you're sorted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars recommended...., 22 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide Map Venice (Edition 2) (Map)
This looks like a really good map. I will be using it later in the year but don't foresee a problem - would recommend to all.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faboulous map, 19 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide Map Venice (Edition 2) (Map)
This must be the ultimate map for Venice. It is just the right size to take around with you and is waterproof, which as we found out on our(rainy) trip to Venice is invaluable. It has a street index which is vital to not getting lost in Venice's narrow streets as well as detailed information on the Vaporetti water busses. An excellent map which contains enough information to leave the guide book at home (as I did). Don't go to Venice without it.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best map of Venice around, 4 May 2010
This review is from: The Rough Guide Map Venice (Edition 2) (Map)
Being a bit of a map junkie and very particular about map clarity and detail, I found this map ideal for 2 weeks of constant use. It survived being folded and unfolded every which way and is practically indestructible unlike many of the paper maps I saw people using. If you use the Rough Guide book to Venice and the Veneto you'll find the restaurants, bars and hotels it recommends clearly marked on the map. Even if you don't use it in conjunction with the Rough Guide book, the restaurants and bars are marked according to price bracket. In addition to the map of Venice it has: smaller maps of Murano, Burano and Torcello; the clearest waterbus route map I have seen; a clear street index; an index of sights which are marked on the map and a useful time map showing which months and days they are open. Buy it, you will not be disappointed. I'm so impressed I will use this series of maps for other travels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Map, 24 Mar 2010
By 
KA Z. Aviv - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide Map Venice (Edition 2) (Map)
We just came back from a weekend in Venice and would never have found our way around those little lanes and canals without this map.
It is made from a plastic type material, so never crumpled or ripped. Folded down easily.
It was also full of lots of other useful information.
Thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate, clear and waterproof, 1 Mar 2010
By 
Bookheaper (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide Map Venice (Edition 2) (Map)
The waterproof qualities of this map proved invaluable whilst making our way around Venice in the rain. It is detailed, clear and well worth investing in rather than the free maps from the tourist office. It gave us the confidence to go off the beaten track and see the hidden beauties of Venice.It is double sided and covers the lagoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide Map Venice (Edition 2)
The Rough Guide Map Venice (Edition 2) by Rough Guides (Map - 28 Jun 2007)
Used & New from: 27.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews