Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive review
I was very happy to find this book. There are many different ways to help the planet and its people, but in the mean time this is difficult to find a compact, comprehensive and well documented review about all of it. This book does it.

They tell about many different subjects (carbon offsets, organic products, efficiency of boycotts, GM food, origins of carbon...
Published on 2 Jan 2007 by MayIGiveAnOpinion

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
I do not remember ordering this
Published 4 months ago by buccinator


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive review, 2 Jan 2007
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Ethical Living (Paperback)
I was very happy to find this book. There are many different ways to help the planet and its people, but in the mean time this is difficult to find a compact, comprehensive and well documented review about all of it. This book does it.

They tell about many different subjects (carbon offsets, organic products, efficiency of boycotts, GM food, origins of carbon emissions, different types of home energy, ethical trade, etc...), try to stay objective in the pros and cons, and provide pertinent figures.

As there isn't enough room in one book for everything, they also point to websites for further documentation.

For many years I have been reading about "ethical behaviour", but I learnt a lot from this book.

And right now, I will start by changing my bank...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful overview, 10 Aug 2007
By 
W. J. Miller (West Bromwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Ethical Living (Paperback)
This is an easy to read and very practical introduction to issues around ethical consumerism and developing a greener, less exploitative lifestyle. It is an expanded edition of an earlier book, 'The Rough Guide to Ethical Shopping', covering a wider range of topics.

While the book clearly advocates lifestyle changes which would benefit the overall welfare of the Earth and its inhabitants, it avoids being overbearingly moralistic. Instead it provides information to help readers make their own decisions. For example, it discusses the pros and cons of boycotting products from certain companies or countries. At another point, it shows how improving the insulation in your home can often help reduce carbon emissions far more significantly than other more expensive measures like installing wind turbines or solar panels.

Overall the book aims to be helpful rather than merely 'right on' or politically correct. As another reviewer has indicated, one of the book's strengths is that it points to a whole host of websites where particular topics can be explored in more detail. It is a really useful introduction to a wide range of related subjects. I don't know of another introductory book of similar scope.

Highly recommended reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, a shame one of the companies selling it doesn't take a more ethical outlook, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Ethical Living (Paperback)
Good book. Good overview of consuming ethically. It's a strange irony that it is sold on Amazon, a company that fails to pay it's fair share of taxes to governments around the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and objective book, 24 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Ethical Living (Paperback)
This is simply an excellent book on the subject.

As others have noted, it avoids the usual tendency (in my experience) of ethical publications of being over-bearing, dictating and moralistic. Instead it presents the facts, both in favour and against the various issues and lets the reader decide. I loved the way it presented both sides of the argument without being sensational and didn't try to make the reader feel guilty for only making certain ethical choices and not others.

Well written and easy to read from cover to cover, as well as dip into and out of, and was as up to date as expected for the date of publication.

Many aspects of ethical living are covered, and covered in depth, with good pointers to other sites and information if you want to go further.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and enjoyable, 18 Nov 2013
By 
Gary G (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Ethical Living (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book. It opened my eyes to a number of issues and as such has led to me changing my behaviour and shopping habits in a number of ways. As the title says, it is a rough guide but it generally presents an objective view of issues and makes clear that a lot of things aren't so clearly black and white. It presents both sides of arguments even if it sometimes feels to be playing devils advocate.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this great book!!, 18 Feb 2008
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Ethical Living (Paperback)
Don't buy this great book!!

It has been superseeded by The Rough Guide to shopping with a Conscience on the 25th of Jan 2007. This topic always evolving so it's worth buy the most up to date version.

Don't make the same mistake I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Ethical Living (Paperback)
I do not remember ordering this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Ethical Living
The Rough Guide to Ethical Living by Duncan Clark (Paperback - 2 Nov 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews