Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Croatia
This is a basic guide, but it served its purpose. We chose it after reading other reviews... very light on info regarding travelling with small children. But we muddled through. Tip - if you fly from Split airport, stay night in Trogir.. closer than Split to airport and very pretty.
Published on 24 Oct 2008 by Bridget Manton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Try the lonely planet instead if on a budget
I found the format of this rough guide quite hard-going, and am definitely more of a fan of the lonely planet guides, which seem to give more options of places to eat/stay on a tighter budget. Wouldn't get another rough guide having used this one.
Published on 1 Jan 2011 by Mrs. L. Lawson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Croatia, 24 Oct 2008
By 
Bridget Manton "poppyart" (hertfordshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Croatia (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
This is a basic guide, but it served its purpose. We chose it after reading other reviews... very light on info regarding travelling with small children. But we muddled through. Tip - if you fly from Split airport, stay night in Trogir.. closer than Split to airport and very pretty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide excellent as usual, 12 July 2010
This book was very useful when visiting Dubrovnik and some of the croatian islands this summer, great tips for hotels, resturants and transport, honest reviews of where to visit and more importantly where to avoid.
Good section on language, great insight into some of Croatia's history and provided excellent knowledge on the sights, museums, churches etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very smooth rough guide to Croatia, 24 July 2011
By 
Neal Stride (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We needed a concise, realistic guide, reliably covering the basics for a first-time visit to Croatia, not least an indication of where to eat and what to look for during a couple of weeks that we knew would fly by. My wife and I have just returned from one of our best holidays ever in the country, helped in no small way by Jonathan Bousfield's guide. We weren't alone! Fellow diners at a family run restaurant tucked away up a back alley in Hvar Town had also found the place using the guide. But this isn't merely a foodie book. There are brief sections describing Croatia from prehistory to the political present - which is a model of clarity - Croatian folk music, an interesting 'History of Croatia in ten albums'and a basic glossary with useful phrases. This isn't a phrase book and doesn't pretend to be, but unless you're a linguist you'll be happy with the usual courtesies which are listed.

The country is dealt with in six main regional blocks: Zagreb, Inland Croatia, Istria, The Kvarner Gulf, Dalmatia, and 'Dubrovnik and around'. Each has a descriptive section with additional notes on accommodation, travel, restaurants, cultural life, night life, shopping, etc. and useful maps. All good stuff. Recommended. And it won't take up too much precious space in a backpack or shoulder bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars useful travel book, 22 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The travel guide is well written and contains surprisingly high level of detailed information, not necessarily on the most famous places, but also on these less visited by must-to-see-crowds. Certainly, it was extremely helpful in Dalmatia. Only the very basic phrasebook could be expanded with some additional more often used phrases and words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference Guide, 4 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again, the Rough Guide has excelled itself. We just tourned Croatia for 2 weeks using this book as our guide. Everything about it is spot on and we used it for accommodation and restaurants as well as places to stop and visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and easy to use, 18 Sep 2010
Good guide although it would be useful to have access to individual guides e.g. Istrian penninsula. We stayed in Medulin, near Pula, which wasn't covered by the guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good guidebook, 23 Aug 2010
By 
Hex (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
Nothing spectacular in this guidebook but well serves its purpose. Fresh from spring 2010 so all the details were still valid. Recommended nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. J. Dunn (Norfolk, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hardly used at all, this will be my companion in seven weeks when I visit Croatia again.
Concise and clearly written, good maps and everything Rough Guides are rightly famous for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good for Zagreb excursion, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Croatia (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
I used this guide for 4 days in Zagreb. Worked quite well, content is extended, maybe more itineraries would help the sightseers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide, 20 April 2013
By 
Mrs. J. A. Thompson (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Croatia (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Haven't used it yet as we don't go on holioday till the summer. I'm sure it will come up to the standard of all the Rough Guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Croatia (Rough Guide Travel Guides)
The Rough Guide to Croatia (Rough Guide Travel Guides) by Jonathan Bousfield (Paperback - 31 May 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews