Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential companion
I opted for the Rough Guide after reading the negative reviews of the Lonely Planet, and was not disappointed. There is a wealth of historical and cultural information as well as the usual accommodation, restaurant and sights. All the info was well presented and structured and easy to read considering the sheer amount.

I was travelling with 2 Poles as well as...
Published on 26 Sept. 2006 by Kate

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent guidebook, though it could be improved
Quite a useful guidebook, certainly comprehensive and containing plenty of information about places. I didn't like the layout, with the practical information in the front and the hstory in the back, and would have preferred more integration of the practical information with the place descriptions, especially when covering such a large country as Poland. It was also...
Published on 5 Jan. 2007 by BookWorm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential companion, 26 Sept. 2006
By 
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Poland - 6th Edition (Paperback)
I opted for the Rough Guide after reading the negative reviews of the Lonely Planet, and was not disappointed. There is a wealth of historical and cultural information as well as the usual accommodation, restaurant and sights. All the info was well presented and structured and easy to read considering the sheer amount.

I was travelling with 2 Poles as well as other Brits and they were impressed with the accuracy of the guide, even learning something themselves! We tried several of the recommended restaurants in Krakow and found all the descriptions to be accurate, and also some fantastic nightspots that we would never have found otherwise. The guide even told us how many trains a day ran, which was handy when half the party missed the train back to Warsaw.

A great guide, the only downside being that my travelling companions got mildly annoyed by my constant 'interesting' titbits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Very Good Company, 10 Jan. 2007
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Poland - 6th Edition (Paperback)
Bousfield's and Salter's "Poland" is a very good travel companion to everyone around in Poland; the book is full of practical and historical information (which is very accurate, as far as I could ascertain) and written with a good dose of wit.

And mind, I am saying this as a German and can tell you that the English-speaking world should be proud of guides like this one. German travel guides come, in most cases, with many high-res photos but with only very superficial practical information and with much condensed information on people, places and monuments. So the near-absence of photos and plates in the Rough Guide to Poland is to be welcomed because the visitor needs to get to know a place by being said something about it; there is actually little need for visual presentation in a travel guide (if you want to get to know Poland via colour plates, buy yourself an illustrated book and stay at home...). To sum up: A very good travel companion and enjoyable to read. - And yet another advantage of being German and having a British travel guide at hand in Poland: The dreadful episodes of WW II and the countless Nazi crimes are presented and commented upon in Bousfield's guide in a very objective and straightforward manner, quite different from the self-abasing (yet ultimately slightly hypocritical) manner to be found in many German guides to Poland. There is, therefore, much painful objectivity in Bousfield's book, yet lacking the appaling effect of the German "Schuldkomplex" - and this is much to the credit of his guide as well. So, in case you are German (or Austrian or Swiss for that matter) and reading this, get yourself this guide rather than any of "our" travel handbooks and find about about Poland!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent guidebook, though it could be improved, 5 Jan. 2007
By 
BookWorm "BookWorm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Poland - 6th Edition (Paperback)
Quite a useful guidebook, certainly comprehensive and containing plenty of information about places. I didn't like the layout, with the practical information in the front and the hstory in the back, and would have preferred more integration of the practical information with the place descriptions, especially when covering such a large country as Poland. It was also quite hard to locate things quickly, which can be a hassle when standing outside a sight trying to find out some information fast. The photographs are black and white and not great, and the subject matter is sometimes poorly chosen.

But it did cover everywhere I wanted to go, even the very remote places, and contain a reasonable amount of information about the country and the sights. The writing style is accessible and easy to read. The maps aren't bad and can be followed, though some of them lack detail and are a bit small. The front introductory and highlights section is a good feature, especially if you're still at the planning stage of your trip. I found all of the information to be accurate and most of the descriptions so as well. The history section is very imformative.

On the whole, it was a usable and helpful guidebook, even though some things could be improved, and it would be worth taking with you on a trip to Poland. However, if you're only visiting a single city (e.g. Krakow), you might be better off with a city guide that will be lighter to carry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential before you go and while your there, 11 Mar. 2008
By 
T. Hill "Tim Hill" (Lublin, Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Poland - 6th Edition (Paperback)
Poland is a huge country and extremely diverse but this guide helps capture almost all of it. With the English language only really spoken in the main cities it is well worth reading this before you step on the plane and keeping it by your side during your travels.

It is fairly up to date but there are new hotels and hostels opening all the time so don't expect the accommodation section to be completely up to date - there are plenty of good places that aren't listed but will probably be included in future editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poland, Travel guide, 28 Aug. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Poland - 6th Edition (Paperback)
Well up to the Rough Guide high standard. Packed with facts plus useful town maps etc. Great for planning as well as when there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Poland - 6th Edition
The Rough Guide to Poland - 6th Edition by Mark Salter (Paperback - 28 July 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews