Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to read
I found this book very easy to read compared to the basic A to Z. It was exactly as I'd hoped.
Published on 9 July 2009 by A. P. Reed

versus
82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good as far as it goes
This product is great as far as it goes - the spiral binding allows it to lay flat and the scale is large enough to glance at while driving (which is what I bought it for), however it doesn't quite go all the way out to the M25 ring which may be a pain if you live near the edge of the zone covered as I do. I run out of map to the northwest beyond my homepage and...
Published on 21 Nov 2008 by Grace Swan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good as far as it goes, 21 Nov 2008
By 
Grace Swan (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big London Street Atlas (London Street Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
This product is great as far as it goes - the spiral binding allows it to lay flat and the scale is large enough to glance at while driving (which is what I bought it for), however it doesn't quite go all the way out to the M25 ring which may be a pain if you live near the edge of the zone covered as I do. I run out of map to the northwest beyond my homepage and sincerely wish it covered Uxbridge, Northwood, Watford, Bushey and Borehamwood - but it doesn't, and its similarly curtailed all around London; Chingford is in but Loughton is out, Dagenham is in but Romford and Hornchurch are out, Bexley is in but Dartford is out, Chislehurst and Farnborough are half in and Orpington is out, Croydon is mostly in but Purley is out, Carshalton is in, Sutton is cut in half and Ewell is out, Surbiton is in but Esher, Walton on Thames, Weybridge and Chertsey are all out, Ashford is in but Staines is out. You'll know whether these limits are sufficient for your purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to read, 9 July 2009
By 
A. P. Reed - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big London Street Atlas (London Street Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
I found this book very easy to read compared to the basic A to Z. It was exactly as I'd hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A downward spiral, 6 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big London Street Atlas (London Street Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
Big London Street Atlas (London Street Atlases)
This is probably the fourth or fifth copy that I have bought so, overall, I am obviously very pleased with it. The positives..... easy to see the street names (I wear spectacles all the time - my son kindly says this is due to my age!), the spiral binding allows you to turn the pages back on themselves and lay the book flat so it stays open at your selected page, clear use of colours doesn't make the wealth of information too confusing, the key is straight-forward. The negatives....... I wish they would extend the maps slightly further of the M25 (I live in Abbey Wood, SE2 and as a supply teacher I need an atlas that also shows areas east of my home, and this facility is very restricted); the spiral binding wire easily tears the pages as they are not strengthened in any way. This lack of re-enforcement of the page edges is the reason why I am now on my fourth or fifth copy; pages become loose and they end up lost, which is exactly what would happen to me if I needed to use that particular page! Another slight gripe is the flimsy outside cover; I store my A-Z in the pocket on the back of the front passenger seat; this means the cover of the atlas can get slightly bent, or catch and rip, edges begin to curl up, and the spiral-bound edges tear from the repeated insertion and removal via the seat storage pocket. Suggested improvements..... 1) re-enforced edges where the pages are spiral bound, 2) extend the map coverage slightly outside of the M25, 3) have a slightly firmer/stronger outside cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BOOK TO HAVE AROUND, 19 Oct 2009
This review is from: Big London Street Atlas (London Street Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
a very very good map every thing is clear would not be without it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big London AtoZ, 28 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big London Street Atlas (London Street Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
Delighted with my AtoZ. Used to have one for many years and decided to update a few years ago. Unfortunately I did not buy the official version but some hybrid, which I hated as many of the roads etc were missed off.

Great to have this version once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Capitals alone less easy to read, 30 Mar 2010
By 
Sisal (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big London Street Atlas (London Street Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
The use of upper case alone provides less visual information than a mixture of lower and upper case. Motorway signs, for instance, use the latter format as do Amazon reviews, novels, etc. SO WHY ARE MOST ROAD AND STREET NAMES IN CAPITALS? The index, utilising an eye-dazzling font, is particularly difficult to read. I still have the earlier -- deleted -- large format A-Z which has a more reader-friendly index font, so why change it? All this is particularly irksome for those with failing eyesight or a reading problem, and common knowledge to those who teach special needs, a knowledge supported by substantial psychological research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big London AZ Atlas, 17 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big London Street Atlas (London Street Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
Very usefull and easy to read but the paper is very thin and if you are just a tiny bit too rough it will tear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big London Street Atlas Spiral-bound, 2 Mar 2013
This review is from: Big London Street Atlas (London Street Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
Good atlas full of detail, nicely presented, spiral binding effective, but print is too small to read on-the-go without a magnifying glass. Discovered after the event a large print edition exists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Design, 2 July 2011
This review is from: Big London Street Atlas (London Street Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
The design of this street directory is poor when compared with similar directories, such as Melway (Melbourne, Australia). Many streets are depicted so small due to the scale of the maps that they are represented wider than they are long to get the name in. This makes for very cluttered reading. Likewise there seems to be some degree of product placement, whereby some businesses are named on the maps (eg Gyms) and yet churches and some significant landmarks are not named.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Maps, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big London Street Atlas (London Street Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
Been around for years and probably the best London Atlas. Arrived quickly. Easy to read. Wont fit in your pocket but you can always print out a page or two before you leave home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big London Street Atlas (London Street Atlases)
Big London Street Atlas (London Street Atlases) by Geographers A-Z Map Company (Spiral-bound - 15 Nov 2010)
£6.97
Usually dispatched within 10 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews