Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gulag Archipelago [Abridged] (Harvill Press Editions) (Paperback)
Excellent book. After reading this, you have a clear overview of what happened there and how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gulag Archipelago [Abridged] (Harvill Press Editions) (Paperback)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Gulag Archpelago, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a good book, the writing is brilliant. I read it many years ago and wanted to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be read, 8 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: The Gulag Archipelago [Abridged] (Harvill Press Editions) (Paperback)
Solzhenitsyn tells of arbitrary unjustified arrests, interrogations, extractions of "confessions" under duress, imprisonments, life in labour camps, forced labour, the terrorising of entire populations by the risk of arrest; exiles of people to barren places likely to cause death, mass-displacements of people, shootings of the population, loss of family and property, general oppression, and so on. What an evil State can do to you when you have no rights. (It makes for depressing reading.)

The style is rambling and long-winded, even in the abridged version. The author apologises for this and explains at the end: he had great difficulty writing it within Russia.

This is better than a history book, since it is the view from the inside of how things were for people. People without rights. Rights are important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A warning for us, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book shows the human condition when men have no regard for God and hence nothing to restrain their inhumanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great books, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gulag Archipelago [Abridged] (Harvill Press Editions) (Paperback)
This is not a dry and depressing chronicle of suffering in prison camps. Solzhenitsyn certainly conveys very well the appalling inhumanity of the Soviet penal system, but this book is so much more than that. Written around a loose semi-autobiographical structure, this is really a series of essays about different aspects of Solzhenitsyn's own experiences, the history of the Soviet prison camp system, and life in the Soviet Union. It may well be one of the great works of its kind.

The writing comprises vivid descriptions, passionately-held views, forceful arguments, irresistable logic, compassion, honesty, insight and humour. Yes, humour - Solzhenitsyn tells several funny stories, notably the story of the provincial party meeting where the assembly stood to drink a toast to Stalin, and no-one dared to be the first to stop clapping.

I found the book truly inspirational, and I only wish I had read it many years ago. The abridgers of this extraordinary book have done the world a great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars savage and haunting - a reminder of the murderous cruelty of the USSR, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the books that you simply must read to understand what happened so close to the borders of free Europe in the 20th century
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good for present, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gulag Archipelago [Abridged] (Harvill Press Editions) (Paperback)
I read this book first time at school, then as an adult bought it for my husband as a present. He loved it and after a few years found it helpful while going himself through very difficult times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To keep Alexander Solzhenitsyn's spirit alive! And free press "presentation" of English speaking world., 11 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Gulag Archipelago [Abridged] (Harvill Press Editions) (Paperback)
Away from commissars in the candle's light we read samizdats pages of this Great Humanist writer with hope to get into hands few more typewriten following pages (in 1960's) and now.......few decades later, few time zones west we are back to candle's light in regard of Solzhenitsyn's work.
This is mine inquiry to the book distributors and medium: Dear friends!
I am very thankful for your's services, which I appreciate, it is completely new age of access to information, communication ....& You are part of this corporate chain.
I would like to ask You about corporate abuse, conspiracy, censorship (Thought Police) in regard of Alexander Solzhenitsyn's books "Two hundred years together" still not published in English (lingua franca) after more then 10 years. Solzhenitsyn and his books including "200 years together" should be part of educational curriculum pointing to man who stand-up to the evils of totalitarian oppression,.....and opening window to those events.
Commissars of Thought Police in the forefather's footsteps as in early years of last century Great Russia regions are mostly giving literary reviews to the contemporary goyims, as the historians, professors in higher learning. With Solzhenitsyn's publication it is in conflict with there's interpretation of some events, as documented in Wikipedia. Behind accusation of "anti semitism" they are imposing their supreme judge newspeak correctness via ownership of media. Solzhenitsyn's "200 years together" is not on book shells of "free press" distributors. Alexander Solzhenitsyn wrote not because of Nobel Price, but as human being who stand-up to the evils of totalitarian oppression with their Gulags and Thought Police.These western commissars at the time of Cold War priced Solzhenitsyn's bravery, admired underground samizdats of forbidden literature and smuggling Bibles and other books into USSR.
But now, because of Solzhenitnyn's "200 years together" they missed to burn him as Jan Hus was in 1415; maybe they will unearth his bones and burn as heretic,with ashes into Jordan river-Death Sea(thoughts), it was done with John Wycliffe's bones in 1428;...... or just burn books as the 7th Century BC when Jehoiakim, King of Judah, burned part of the prophet Jeremiah's scroll, (Jeremiah 36). To the present day, the burning of books has a long history as a tool wielded by authorities in efforts to suppress dissenting or heretical views that are perceived as posing a threat tothe prevailing commissars of Thought Police.
But better ways is even not to allow to be this heretical book published...plebeians don't deserve it. As was done in Chinese and Moslem world for several centuries without Gutenberg's modern printing press.No press,no heretical prints to censor.
Zealous "Newspeak" tribe gained English publishing rights for the purpose to actually
completely block globally printing of Solzhenitsyn's books.
Maybe we should ask Mr.Putin to samizdat Alexander Solzhenitsyn's "200 years together" in English and underground smuggling into "free press" our world.This is "free press" witch is lecturing others all over the world. In these case, will You provide space on book shells for these smuggled Mr.Putins English samizdats? Please I would like to have one.
You know,....... there should be room for two more books on the shells of "free press" distributors, when You offering selection of thousands, or are we really free from this new correctness, or in Dark Age under totalitarian Thought Police?
Because You are part of this information chain (corporation), are You involve in this conspiracy ?
I hope, You are not hiding behind the screens of new correctness as "human rights, women rights, gay rights, anti-semitism,....." with black list, white list of forbidden literature, which can corrupt plebeian's mind.
We, as human being are different, we have different opinions, different goals,....just look at election of any developed country. I believe there are people who don't like interpretation of contents in Alexander Solzhenitsyn's "200 years together" books, I would not argue, but facts are facts in some events.
Taboo discourse addressed by Solzhenitsyn's books was well documented in the writings of 1920's, 30's,....(as Winston Churchill)..but it was pronounced as anti-semite, lunatic and sealed in "Taboo box" by these historians, professors of higher learning commissars, it did not fit in theirs interpretation of "Official History".Now, we entered with English non publication of Solzhenitsyn's books into another stage of "Pandora Taboo Box" to be kept closed.
P.S. I red 50-70% of this book in Czech PDF ,but I would like have English edition of books. Czech books are not available and reediting got into International Tribe of Thought Police death hole. What coincidence ?
I admire Alexander Solzhenitsyn for his bravery,spirit,..to stand for free thought.

Thank You. To keep Alexander Solzhenitsyn's spirit alive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good. But there is room for better, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gulag Archipelago [Abridged] (Harvill Press Editions) (Paperback)
I bought this book as a present for someone dear who enjoys this kind of reading.

I was happy to find the book at a reasonable price.
However, having read the complete and original book (n Russian) I was a little disappointed with the fact that the offer was only for an Abridged version of the novel.

Nevertheless I am happy to recommend amazon to friends and family in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gulag Archipelago [Abridged] (Harvill Press Editions)
The Gulag Archipelago [Abridged] (Harvill Press Editions) by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn (Paperback - 30 Jan 2003)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews