Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best Swedish writers
It's quite funny that Söderberg is best known around the world for this novel - in Sweden he is most known for his short stories, which are seen as the finest examples of the form written in that language. But he uses the same style in all his fiction - very controlled, no unnecessary words. And he writes very gently about the ironies of life, and gives some of the...
Published on 22 July 2007 by Ann-Sophie Eriksson

versus
0 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unengaging
Summary sounded interesting, but the book itself was written in an unengaging way. True literature is often like that, though. (DNF)
Published on 24 Sep 2004 by Ez


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best Swedish writers, 22 July 2007
This review is from: Doctor Glas (Hardcover)
It's quite funny that Söderberg is best known around the world for this novel - in Sweden he is most known for his short stories, which are seen as the finest examples of the form written in that language. But he uses the same style in all his fiction - very controlled, no unnecessary words. And he writes very gently about the ironies of life, and gives some of the best descriptions of Stockholm to be found anywhere in fiction. Anything he wrote is well worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 25 Dec 2008
This review is from: Doctor Glas (Hardcover)
This is a superb book. Captivating, thought provoking, and unlike many novels from yesteryear, still very relevant today. I cannot understand the reviewer who found in "unengaging". The liberal ideologies it proposes are extreme even by todays standards and it is little wonder that this book was banned in its day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A discovery., 22 Jan 2003
By 
This review is from: Doctor Glas (Hardcover)
A Swedish friend of mine recommended Söderberg to me, as the best Swedish writer of the fin-de-siecle. I have just finished reading it, I would enhance his opinion by saying Söderberg is one of the best fin-de-siecle writers, period. I will not go into depths here, I will only say that this short novel is written in diary form, and that the author displays an amazing control of form and style. It is exquisitely written. I was reading it at the same time as I was reading Kafka's "The Trial", and Kafka did not benefit from comparison.
Enter the dangerously rational mind of Doctor Glas.
*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A psychodrama to be remembered, 2 Sep 2011
By 
Melmoth (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr Glas (Paperback)
I wish I had read Doctor Glas when I was younger. I think nineteen would have been a good age. I remember I took advantage of a rather content-light summer term syllabus to catch up with a lot of books I ought to have read - The Glass Bead Game, The Trial, all the usual studenty things, even Jude the Obscure. All the books I read that term formed an indelible impression, each leaving me changed as I brought the covers together for the last time (although, admittedly, the change wrought by Jude the Obscure was to make me someone who never, ever wanted to read a single line of Thomas Hardy again). I wonder if Doctor Glas would have had a similar effect on me had I read it then. All I can be sure of is that books affect one very differently in one's forties as opposed to one's late teens, that the worlds they open up can never seem as bright and strange and new to a slightly jaded middle-aged mind as they do to a bright and strange and new teenaged one.

Whatever the case may be, Doctor Glas is certainly an intriguing book. First published in 1905 it is nonetheless strikingly modern in many ways. Using the diary form it succeeds in giving a remarkably full portrait of the eponymous doctor's mind - both skimming its surface and plumbing its depths - as he in turn examines his growing obsession with the local priest and his wife. His loathing of the former and unspoken love for the latter is played out across the diary's pages in the middle of digressions on the weather, recollections of dreams, carefully-phrased contemplations and hasty midnight scribblings. The result is a book which feels both utterly true to life and daringly experimental for its time, giving a convincing portrait of a man grappling with a morality of whose force he is unsure. All this leads me to suspect that it would have left my teenage self with the same uncertain, slightly dazed feeling or enlightening unfamiliarity that The Castle or The Manuscript Found in Saragossa or even The Magus did. As it is, reading it now, I can't claim that I found the book life-changing but it is nonetheless bracing, absorbing and unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic period piece, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr Glas (Paperback)
Fine writing here, a bleak and challenging story. A novel many years ahead of its time and well worth reading if you enjoy following the development of the novel over the past 100 years. I read "gregorious" first, the sequel written many years later by another author, but it all made perfect sense reading them in the wrong order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Surprise - Alienation and Self-esteem "Issues" for a 19th century MAN, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Glas (Hardcover)
Anyone believing women had the monopoly on misery and disenchantment in the literature of the Nineteenth Century should think again and read "Dr Glas" . The eponymous male protagonist is every bit as unfulfilled and alienated as Emma Bovary, Edna Pontellier and Hedda Gabbler. And just as fascinatingly evoked by a perceptive author writing long before Freud and all his works...

This is a short novel; brief but illuminating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting background of Krister Henriksson's performance, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr Glas (Paperback)
This book was staged as a highly successful 85 min monologue by the Wallander actor and refines further his nuanced performance. I can see why it is a Swedish classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Glas (Kindle Edition)
A beautiful, sad book full of irony and unresolved passion. Not a book that I had heard of before and would really recommend this for its sparse prose and general loveliness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Glas, 27 Nov 2010
This review is from: Doctor Glas (Hardcover)
I ordered this book late on the 25th of October and on the 27th it arrived in the post! Great turn around time and the item itself while second hand was in great condition. Being the second item I ordered from here and arriving so quickly reinforced my choice to do it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unengaging, 24 Sep 2004
By 
Ez (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Glas (Hardcover)
Summary sounded interesting, but the book itself was written in an unengaging way. True literature is often like that, though. (DNF)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Glas
Doctor Glas by Hjalmar Soderberg (Hardcover - 7 Nov 2002)
Used & New from: £23.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews