Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real 'great escape'
This is a simple but truly remarkable story of three Glasgow boys, signalmen in the British Army during World War II, who, after tiring of captivity at the hands of their German adversaries, simply walked out of the POW camp in which they had been held and wandered, unchallenged, to Sweden and a safe passage home, to families and to the army.
It is a swaggering and...
Published on 8 Oct 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, poorly written
This has the makings of a great story but the way it is written lets it down badly. The story unfolds as a matter of fact, with no sense of the drama and suspense, never mind fear, that the main characters must no doubt have felt. Easy to read but easy to forget, unfortunately.
Published 20 months ago by Paul Monks


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real 'great escape', 8 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Long Way Home (Paperback)
This is a simple but truly remarkable story of three Glasgow boys, signalmen in the British Army during World War II, who, after tiring of captivity at the hands of their German adversaries, simply walked out of the POW camp in which they had been held and wandered, unchallenged, to Sweden and a safe passage home, to families and to the army.
It is a swaggering and often amusing story of courage, adventure and love, lost and found, which should be required reading for the generation who will never see a war on the scale fought by these brave men and their comrades.
The Long Way Home is a brilliant story, well told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Moving Read, 5 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Long Way Home (Paperback)
I read a review for this book in my daily paper, and thought it sounded like an exceptional story. It is not my usual type of book purchase, but I found it truly moving - and an amazing story of bravery, sheer good luck and friendship. Well worth a read, even if the war is not your usual reading material!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Long Way Home John Mccallum, 13 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: The Long Way Home (Paperback)
Brilliant moving story wonderfully told. Im proud to belong to such a great tradition of bravery, self sacrifice and luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just my opinion, 1 Nov 2008
By 
Mrs. JOAN MCCALLUM (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Long Way Home (Paperback)
The Long Way Home: The Other Great Escape (Isis (Hardcover Large Print)) I will admit firstly to being biased with regard to John McCallum's book, as I am his sister-in-law. However I enjoyed it very much and have passed it to many friends (most of whom have served in the forces during the last war) and without exception they all found it to be a fascinating read. It has also been read by the "younger" generation who found it most enjoyable and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honest and gentle, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not your typical WW 2 escape story. Honest and charismatic in equal measure. Told truthfully and without embellishment, it bore me along with interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth is often stranger - and more exciting - than fiction...., 13 Mar 2013
By 
Alan Wingrove (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
A story, untold for years, that is so understated that the author's modesty and humility shines through.
It is easy to imagine an elderly gentleman telling his story, to the amazement of us all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Long Way Home by John McCallum, 19 Nov 2008
This review is from: The Long Way Home (Paperback)
A brilliant and evocative book by an inspiring gentleman. My Mum read it to my Dad not long before he died and it gave them both greast pleasure at a time when Dad could no longer read so much for himself - it was a hark back to his own war years as a veteran of D Day and one of the first to land on Sword Beach as part of an anti tank division.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The long away home, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this book from beginning to end. I loved all the twists and turns within the story and that it is true!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent true story, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
interesting and thought provoking.
recommended for anyone with an. interest in the real war and its effect on normal soldiers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a gripping read, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was recommended to me and I found it a really good,could not put it down, read it from cover to cover. It did not dwell on the hardship of being a POW more an account of the mindset of these men during a long period of captivity.Given the interest in the recent released "Railway Man" this would make a great candidate for the big screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Long Way Home
The Long Way Home by John McCallum (Paperback - 28 July 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews