Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational and fail-safe patterns
I bought this book many years ago and have knitted almost every adult pattern from it. The techniques are very clearly explained, even for the more advanced styles such as working in the round and using steeks. A lot of the yarns specified (from Rowan) are no longer available but it's not difficult to find newer Rowan yarns that will work well. The charts are easy to...
Published on 11 Oct. 2008 by Lesley Darcy

versus
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge a book by it's cover - nowhere near as useful as it looks!
I bought this on the basis of having seen "Aran knitting" in a bookshop by the same author, and hoped it would be to the same standard (eg a lengthy description of the history of fisherman's sweaters, lots of interesting designs, and so on).

I doubt I'll be making many (or any of) these designs. Why?
1) most patterns - with the exception of the one shown...
Published on 25 Nov. 2011 by Dianne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much emphasis on the photography, 21 Oct. 2011
By 
This review is from: Fishermen's Sweaters (Paperback)
The patterns are ok but the focus seems to be on photography (scenery is beautiful) Unfortunately the detail of the pattern is completely lost. Should have more focus on the garment. Would not have bought this book if I had seen it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seriously Bad Photography, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fishermen's Sweaters (Paperback)
I bought this book because I was seduced by the photo on the front cover. I love textured patterns and watching the designs unfold as I knit. However the photography leaves an awful lot to be desired. If you want a book of photos of rugged coast lines and rugged scenery then this may be the book for you. If you want a book that shows detailed photos of the designs then this might not the book for you. I've no doubt that the designs are quite lovely, if they could be seen properly. At my knitting club most of the knitters complain about 'fashion shots' they want to see the garment not lots of hair or silly poses. Why is there a photo of a the two models wrapped in a blanket and all I can see is the neck of the garment? In others arms are folded across the body and/or hair conceals the neckline. Yet another one sports a shawl partially wrapped around the body. In some of the photos the model is too far away (lovely scenery though) and the garment is an unidentifiable blob. In others the colour is too dark to make out the pattern. Some of the photographs do show the design, however I feel a great chance was missed to show of what could be potentially lovely designs. If other books can have great photos that show the designs well without being boring then so could this one. Although there is a design I might knit, I certainly would not have bought this book if I had seen it in a book shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious but Stunning Knitting!, 19 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fishermen's Sweaters (Paperback)
I bought this book for my sister in law who is a dab hand at knitting. I also bought one for myself. We are both very pleased. The patterns are inspiring but are not for the faint hearted - this book is for those willing to go the 'extra mile' on circular needles for the sake of a finished masterpiece. You need lots of time for these patterns but the end results are worth it! Jennie B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bit old-fashioned..., 30 Sept. 2014
By 
J. Farrer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fishermen's Sweaters (Paperback)
Nice patterns, but this book must be older than I expected, as the sweaters are a little dated in shape. However, if you like aran knitting, you'll love the cabled patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fishermen's Sweaters (Paperback)
Absolutely fabulous and easy to follow, loads of patterns with good instuctions to follow. Fabulous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 9 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Fishermen's Sweaters (Paperback)
Was hoping for more men's sweaters so a bit disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fishermen's Sweaters (Paperback)
Excellent interesting book with varied patterns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fishermen's Sweaters (Paperback)
Great designs - wish I could knit quicker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I bought this book for the picture on the front and was not disappointed., 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fishermen's Sweaters (Paperback)
However, as some of the sweaters featured are knitted in dark wool the photography does not do them justice. It is difficult to see them clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fishermen's Sweaters (Paperback)
Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fishermen's Sweaters
Fishermen's Sweaters by Alice Starmore (Paperback - 4 Oct. 2010)
£14.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews