Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable and witty patterns for knitters aged 8 to 80
This is a charming little book which celebrates the wonderful diversity of dogs in a series of deft patterns which conjure up grumpy bulldogs, chic poodles and alert fox terriers from a few scraps of wool and some strategic stuffing. There are 25 breeds featured here, each of which will be instantly recognised by doting owners, and the funny and well researched text...
Published on 26 Sep 2010 by S. Lancaster

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fiddly and Frustrating
Have only tried a couple of the designs so far - the Dachshund was really fiddly to knit and the instructions for sewing the body pieces together I thought were poor - and I am not a novice knitter. Am going to give it another go using double knit and see how it turns out.

Will persevere with some more of the breeds, but maybe adapt them a bit and I do agree...
Published on 23 Feb 2011 by bookmad


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars knitted dogs ( no pooper-scooper required!), 29 Jun 2011
By 
S. WINTERS "exnurse" (Scotland,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to say that i havent knitted any of the dogs yet,but it's a lovely book,a great selection of breeds.an endless variety of woolly pets can be knitted by altering the yarn thickness or colours,and I see endless possibilities for knitted gifts!!definitely recommened!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walkies not needed, 31 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
This book was purchased for my wife who loves knitting, especially something different. The dog on the front cover of the book is almost identical to our real one, one of the reasons for the purchase. She is delighted with the book, so am I, at least (when knitted) it will not need feeding or "walkies".or kick in the bed (when not snoring) like our current young lady
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best in show a prize winner, 21 Dec 2010
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
A great gift for anyone who is into knitting and has a passion for dogs. Good images and true representation of the dogs featured in this fun little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly abyssmal! Completely amateurish, 24 Sep 2010
By 
Jayceeme "jayceeme" (YARM, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
I bought this because of the designers' reputation in knitwear, and the front cover photo looked ok?
Unfortunately, the other breed patterns are so shockingly amateurish, that I find it hard to believe a "top knitwear designer" created them???

Either the knitter/s of the models were rushed to meet the deadline, failed to understand the patterns, or, losing the will to live having to knit these nightmares, ended up just knitting what they "thought" they should look like?

The majority of breeds have legs that are stitched to the sides of the main body looking for all the world as an afterthought, and not incorporated in design.

ALL are so lacking in facial, body or even paw distinction that any basic pattern would suffice and just the yarn colour changed?

YES! I know these are Toy patterns, and they can never substitute for the gorgeous real thing

But Better TOY pooch or kitty patterns can be found in the Sirdar pattern catalogue,......I'm sending my copy of this shaggy dog story back!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in show knit your own dog, 30 Oct 2011
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
This book contains knitting patterns for 25 breeds of dogs, they are relatively easy to knit and would make good gifts for the dog lovers in your life. From hounds to utility there are cute cuddly canine examples. This book is very good value and beautifully presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book.., 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
Cannot wait to knit these fabulous little dogs. Congratulations to the designer of these adorable creatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars knitting know how, 8 July 2011
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
this knitting pattern book is full of novel and wierd knitting patterns of dogs
I would not recommend it for beginners to knitting as the patterns are rather complex and
use some terminology I have not heard of before even though I have been knitting for 30+ years
I enjoyed the challenge of knitting the border collie and was pleased with the result
A good book for serious knitters and dog loving knitters
I showed it to some friends and already have 3 orders for pet dog lookalikes.
I will order further issues by the same author and look forward to some more challenges
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Knit Your Own Dog!, 9 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
This looks like a great book and I have really enjoyed looking at it. It's nicely presented and the photos are good. I have to admit that I haven't actually started knitting any of the dogs yet so can't comment on how good the instructions are or how easy it is to make them, although I am planning on knitting a whippet for a friend for Christmas! It would make a brilliant Christmas present for someone who loves dogs and enjoys knitting (and doesn't mind being thought insane!)

Since writing this review, I have actually knitted a whippet and it was really difficult! The instructions were quite clear but it was a lot harder than I thought it would be ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best in Show
Best in Show by Sally Muir & Joanna Osborne (Hardcover - 6 Sep 2010)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews