Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable and witty patterns for knitters aged 8 to 80
This is a charming little book which celebrates the wonderful diversity of dogs in a series of deft patterns which conjure up grumpy bulldogs, chic poodles and alert fox terriers from a few scraps of wool and some strategic stuffing. There are 25 breeds featured here, each of which will be instantly recognised by doting owners, and the funny and well researched text...
Published on 26 Sep 2010 by S. Lancaster

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fiddly and Frustrating
Have only tried a couple of the designs so far - the Dachshund was really fiddly to knit and the instructions for sewing the body pieces together I thought were poor - and I am not a novice knitter. Am going to give it another go using double knit and see how it turns out.

Will persevere with some more of the breeds, but maybe adapt them a bit and I do agree...
Published on 23 Feb 2011 by bookmad


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful book - even if you cant knit!, 16 Feb 2011
By 
G. Evans "flynn's mum" (suffolk england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
would you believe this? i have been given this book twice & also bought my own copy! people know i knit & they also know i like dogs. its a really nice book to own if you also like the same. great photos. nice piece on each dogs background to start each pattern and good clear relatively easy instructions. maybe not for the complete beginner. but even so the possible 'tricky' bits are well explained. sadly my fave breed of dog wasn't covered in the first book. but i did 'improvise' to knit him. i 'adapted' the westie pattern to my dog's colouring (he's a cairn) the shape is similar enough.
ive pre-ordered the second book by the same authors & as ive a BIG birthday coming up my guess is i will get 2 more copies. oh well at least they know me & what i like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stitch a bitch !, 15 Jan 2011
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
Had great fun with this in my daughter's xmas stocking. Too tricky for a beginner knitter alone but with help worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in Show, 13 Oct 2010
By 
Ann Capon (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
I bought this for my grandchildren and now all their friends are clamouring for their own copy. What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dogs, 2 Nov 2010
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
Have made seven so far.Instructions clear and easy to follow.Finished product looks good - can't wait to do the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mixed feelings, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
I bought this book as I knitted up the Jack Russell pattern which was a freebie in the Guardian newspaper. It looked great and I was really pleased with the result. However a lot of the patterns in the book have legs which are made up separately and stitched on afterwards.....frankly it looks ridiculous and I won't be making these. It's a shame, because the others are brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in Show, 1 Dec 2010
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
Best in Show is a well written, and beautifully illustrated book on hand knitted animals. The patterns are easy to follow and can be knitted not only by adults but by children as well as the illustrations are so clear. Being hard bound, this book will withstand a great deal of handling, without pages becoming dog eared. The price for such a book is equally such good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book!, 8 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
Lovely illustrations and easy to follow instructions. For it's type, it's the best I've seen. Bought it for my sis as a Christmas present but don't think it's going to reach her as the pictures of these little dogs have made me get a bit carried away creatively speaking... want to make them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful dogs, 14 Oct 2010
By 
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
The Knitted Dogs are not for the faint hearted. You need to be quite a good knitter with a degree of concentration. However, the finished article is absolutely lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You cannot get hold of this book too quickly, 16 Sep 2010
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
Order this book now and pay the express delivery charge. You cannot add this to your collection of knitting books too quickly. An absolute joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knitted dogs, 29 Oct 2011
By 
WAJ 969 (Lancashire England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best in Show (Hardcover)
The Best in Show Book is brilliant, if you like knitting animals - especially dogs then this is the book for you -easy to follow patterns which give excellent results.

I have made quite a few of the dogs already - The Jack russell is my favourite. I use most of mine as ornaments they look so good, but children love these knitted pets too.

I would reccommend this book to anyone who has a reasonable knitting skill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaef45954)

This product

Best in Show
Best in Show by Sally Muir & Joanna Osborne (Hardcover - 6 Sep 2010)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews